See other Interlaken properties

Balmers Herberge

Hauptstrasse 23-25, 3800 Interlaken, Interlaken, Switzerland, Distance from city centre: 1.1km

Rating: 84% from 18 reviews

  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • V good location!!
  • 86%
  • 06 Jul 2014 Mattias Singapore
  • The two hostels we stayed in Switzerland are great, comfortable, clean and nice breakfast, the only thing is the socket in our dorm doesn't work very well, it cannot grasp my adaptor and plug, sometimes the shower room is a little not enough.
  • 80%
  • 13 Jun 2014 Anonymous China
  • Balmers was wonderful! The staff was super helpful and I loved having breakfast at the hostel. Definitely will be back to Balmers in the future!
  • 94%
  • 03 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Really nice and pretty hostel with good breakfast and staff!
  • 83%
  • 13 Apr 2014 Anonymous Singapore
  • The hostel was clean and in a good location but the staff was somewhat disorganized. We booked paragliding through Balmers and it was very chaotic trying to fit everyone in my group in. There just needed to be better communication between the staff. The breakfast WAS free. The Luggage storage WAS NOT. There are lockers that you have to pay to keep your luggage in. Night Sledding was a BLAST! Definitely do it!
  • 77%
  • 14 Mar 2014 Suzette USA
  • Living in Balmers is a unique experience for us. I would say it will be a great place for young people who like to make friends or enjoy parties.Since I slept early and the room was not soundproof, it was too noisy for me. They don't have elevators like many European hotels, so carrying a heavy luggage through the narrow stairs can be very painful. Good things: It's close to the bus stop and I really like the milk and cereal offered in breakfast!
  • 94%
  • 03 Jan 2014 Anonymous China
  • Balmers was a really cool place to stay. I didn't know what to expect staying in my First Hostel. It was a bit hard to find but when I got there the staff were really friendly and helpful. There was some added adventure to my stay trying to find the room, it was like a maze. Great place great fun and the wifi was great to.
  • 94%
  • 03 Sep 2013 Anonymous Australia
  • Liked this place and the stay there very good. Missed on their late night parties in their basement night club.
  • 94%
  • 19 Aug 2013 Anonymous India
  • There is a bar and a club downstairs....which suits party lovers. Everything is just fine.
  • 89%
  • 16 Aug 2013 Anonymous China
  • A very nice and cosy hostel with beautiful surroundings. Great opportunities to do a lot of different activities in the neighborhood. Breakfast was ok. Balmers had several rooms and areas where all guests were allowed to be, for instance a relaxing room, which was great!
  • 89%
  • 14 Aug 2013 Jenny Sweden
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »