See other Auckland properties

Bamber House

22 View Road, Mt Eden, Auckland, New Zealand, Distance from city centre: 3km

Rating: 86% from 17 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Quiet area to relax in Auckland. Beautiful old building. Multicultural diversity a plus. Close to Mt. Eden park.
  • 83%
  • 15 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • All in all its a nice places to stay. Clean, room are well maintain. Plus its in a gorgeous area of the city.
  • 77%
  • 19 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Kitchen is ridiculously small! Has a very class-instituted, labor system. Workers are fantastic but the management seems to hold a sense of unnecessary superiority. They visit rooms without permission & are pompous & unhelpful; seem to dislike Americans. I experienced cultural discrimination! When I asked where to put my dishes, manager Maximilian Pinkwart suggested I "just throw them away and buy more at WalMart.." Oppressive, power-hungry managers; unhelpful and blatantly discriminatory.
  • 54%
  • 29 Jan 2014 Jameson USA
  • GREAT PLACE TO STAY AND VERY HELPFUL STAFF ~ HIGHLY RECOMMEND ! REAL FAMILY TYPE ATMOSPHERE THERE !
  • 86%
  • 25 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Very nice quiet hostel within easy reach of the city. The hostel is not too big so it's easy to get to know people.
  • 97%
  • 04 Jan 2014 Aimee England
  • Best hostel I've ever stayed at.
  • 100%
  • 05 Dec 2013 Paula USA
  • The kitchen gets very busy during mealtimes with only one stove, and the double bed I shared with a friend wasn't that firm at all.
  • 74%
  • 19 Nov 2013 Dorothy Australia
  • Friendly staff and a well equipped and clean hostel. Good atmosphere! 200mb of free wifi was a plus!
  • 86%
  • 09 Nov 2013 Anonymous England
  • This hostel is quiet in a beautiful location away from busy traffic but just across the road from a main bus stop that will take you sraight in to town for under $2. The staff were very helpful and went out of their way to have my room ready when I arrived as i had just flown in from a longhaul flight from London and needed to sleep. The router on the internet seemed to stop working some nights - leaving me without an internet connection - but that is my only minor criticism.
  • 94%
  • 05 Nov 2013 Liam Scotland
  • Loved this hostel, staff was super friendly and helpful, I actually switched from a different hostel to this one. Great vibes, great people, great atmoshphere. They have a nice big common room with a fireplace to watch movies, and a huge deck with a BBQ outside for social food and beers. I stayed in a dorm and also one of the little cabins and both were great! Thanks for the great stay!
  • 100%
  • 07 Oct 2013 Anonymous Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »