See other Los Angeles properties

Banana Bungalow Hollywood

5920 Hollywood Boulevard, Hollywood, Los Angeles, USA, Distance from city centre: 8.9km

Rating: 82% from 47 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Really good location for party people.
  • 86%
  • 15 Sep 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • Good hostel. Many activities, great atmosphere, at least not horribly unclean. However they do have a problem with bed and wall bugs!!
  • 74%
  • 12 Aug 2014 Sofie Sweden
  • It's located in quite nice place and very clean. You can have breakfast for free I recommend you to stay here. But, you may have trouble sleeping at night because it's noisy.
  • 86%
  • 12 Aug 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • We stayed here for two nights and what an amazing two nights we had. The atmosphere, facilities and events planned by the hostel we're amazing. The staff we're extremely helpful and friendly, especially JP Payne who hosted the amazing Karaoke and brought us to a bar nearby afterwards and ensured everyone in the group stuck together and mingled with everyone. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend this hostel to anyone travelling to Los Angeles/
  • 91%
  • 05 Aug 2014 Aaron Ireland
  • Good value for money place, good location, nice environment. However, staff seemed a bit distant,they didn't have the natural friendliness of the best hostels. Not sure what the deal was with breakfast -- maybe I missed it from sleeping in. Could do with more thorough information/instructions on arrival. Free Wifi was good. Wasn't incredibly clean; e.g. sticky stuff next to my bed, bathroom was a bit gross, etc. Could do with some larger lockers e.g. for storing laptop.
  • 71%
  • 02 Aug 2014 Anonymous New Zealand
  • It was very clean, the staff was nice, flexible, and totally welcoming. There were real fun activities throughout the week that were enjoyable, well-planned, and nicely displayed on a board outside office. I heard about parking problems, drove a car, and couldn't be more satisfied. I was able to park my car right in the secure compound.
  • 100%
  • 29 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Cold shower only in floors! Only 1 floor had hot shower for 4 floors people! Very hot in rooms ! No air conditioning Almoast nothing organized from staff to go out Very quite atmosphere
  • 49%
  • 27 Jul 2014 Joao Portugal
  • Muito bom o ambiente, os quartos e banheiros! Tem refeições a noite a preços bem baratinhos e até de graça! Amamos!
  • 97%
  • 01 Jul 2014 Mariana Brazil
  • I thought Banana Bungalow was ace. I didn't like Hollywood much, but really enjoyed sitting in the garden and chilling out in the hostel.
  • 94%
  • 16 May 2014 Philippa England
  • We loved our stay, we felt so welcome! Thanks for having us!
  • 94%
  • 06 May 2014 Anonymous Scotland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Christmas doesn't get much better than wandering around a snow-coated market with a hot mulled wine in hand. The smell of roasted chestnuts and the twinkling lights will put even a Grinch into the Christmas spirit.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »