See other Los Angeles properties

Banana Bungalow Hollywood

5920 Hollywood Boulevard, Hollywood, Los Angeles, USA, Distance from city centre: 8.9km

Rating: 80% from 44 reviews

  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 79%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This would probably be the best hostel I have ever stayed in. The staff are accomodating and the facilities were clean.
  • 80%
  • 12 Apr 2016 Jalisa New Zealand
  • A drunken guy in our room pissed on another guest and got into another girl's bed. The staff did little to help; it was up to me to call the police (4 times, and took 2 hs to arrive), which ended up tasing the guy. I wasn't able to sleep because of this situation; no apologies, refund or discount were offered. On the contrary, the front desk woman was incredibly rude. Not coming back, a pity since I actually did really like the place.
  • 66%
  • 31 Mar 2016 Isaias Argentina
  • Totally worth the money, don't expect it to be a hotel. Breakfast was nice, so was internet and pretty much everything else
  • 80%
  • 24 Dec 2015 Aniket India
  • We had the most amazing time the staff where amazing always happy to help! Free parties all week and great dinners for reasonable prices! Couldnt have wished to stay at a better place! It was that good we booked to stay again!
  • 94%
  • 20 Dec 2015 Isabelle
  • If you are a party animal, put this hostel on top of your list. If you are a traveler trying to catch up some sleep after a long-haul flight or a day's hike, think twice as the party will go on till midnight and music is so loud that it is nearly impossible to fall asleep.
  • 63%
  • 18 Dec 2015 Anonymous China
  • A social environment as there were events and activites planned every day. We didnt expect breakfast to be included which was a bonus. The backside patio was very cosy. The room was smelling like sweat and it was freezing cold the first night. Clean bathrooms and private kitchen.
  • 69%
  • 18 Dec 2015 Maria Sweden
  • awesome place to stay and affordable
  • 91%
  • 04 Dec 2015 Anonymous USA
  • This hostel is definitely for the young party animals. I got to sleep after midnight because that's when the guys finally stopped playing basketball outside my room. The staff were very nice, friendly, and helpful, There are lots of social activities to choose from. The hostel is beautifully decorated. Natalie, a staff member, was very helpful. She helped me get to the downtown LA bus station quickly by downloading a Uber coupon to my account.
  • 71%
  • 02 Dec 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I couldn't coumplain about anything, really nice service, really nice place with great people working.
  • 89%
  • 19 Nov 2015 Luis Spain
  • Breakfast was served every day, the beds were very clean, the sheets were included in the price, Wi-Fi was available, there was plenty of hot water for showering, there were a reasonable number of beds in each room (6-8 on average), and there was car parking on-site. Really, this is one of the best hostels I've stayed at. Right up there with The Flying Pig in Amsterdam. I highly recommend this place!!
  • 100%
  • 20 Oct 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

During the summer the city of Dublin becomes a different place. Gone are the endless days of wind and rain as the warm weather brings picnics in the park, drinks by the canal, b...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »