See other Maui properties

Banana Bungalow Maui Hostel

310 N. Market St., Wailuku, Maui, Maui, USA, Distance from city centre: 23.5km

Rating: 79% from 15 reviews

  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 74%Security
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 70%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 77%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Banana bungalow was great! The staff, the tours, the parties made my stay there truly memorable. It's so easy to fall in love with Maui and the hostel just made it easier.
  • 89%
  • 24 Aug 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Would feel much more Comfortable with LOCKERS in the Room and not an envelope in a Safe that half the Hostel knows the Combination to and having to Flag Down and Wait for someone to Access their Safe and get Attitude from some of them does not work for me, Could also use a Plummer to replace half the Faucets that are Broken in the 1st Floor bathroom and haul the Broken Refrigerator to the TRASH and open the Kitchen prior too 8am when the tours start at 8:30, Day tours were their Biggest Asset.
  • 49%
  • 23 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • staff and people are awesome. Very helpful and friendly. Only downside is the bedrooms are cramped and the downstairs bathrooms are really bad and need renovating.
  • 80%
  • 13 May 2014 Briana Australia
  • I enjoyed it so much I decided to stay an extra 2 nights. Thank you for making my stay so welcoming. I loved the tours and the social atmosphere. Definitely one of my top hostels I've stayed in. :)
  • 91%
  • 17 Mar 2014 Leslie Canada
  • The staff are welcoming, friendly and knowledgeable. The tours are awesome, just make sure you know what you're getting into because some are pretty physically demanding.
  • 89%
  • 14 Feb 2014 Gabrielle USA
  • First impression was like "what the hell is this?" After looking around with an open mind it was really a nice place with nice people from various backgrounds. I would really stay at this place a second time if I was going to visit Maui ever again. Both the toilets and showers were also very clean. Beds clean and pretty comfortable. Most nights they hostel offered a free keg of beer to the habitants to help liven up the parties (never lasted late or loud) and promote socializing with others.
  • 86%
  • 22 Jan 2014 Jason USA
  • The Hostel was soooo good. I love it! Every day is a tour and you see a lot from the island. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hostel is not close to de ocean which I thought was a great pity. But my stay there was good and I got to know many great people. It's very good when you travel alone.
  • 74%
  • 03 Jan 2014 Ronja Switzerland
  • Bad location but excellent service and tour. It is easy to find all amazing people here. I think if I come back to Maui, I will definitely come back here.
  • 86%
  • 25 Dec 2013 Anonymous China
  • One of the best hostels I stayed at. Great people, great tours.
  • 97%
  • 20 Dec 2013 Anonymous Germany
  • Good fun atmosphere and the free tours were great. Lockers in the rooms would be nice. Location isn't good unless you have a car, and then parking is inconvenient.
  • 83%
  • 13 Oct 2013 Rebecca
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »