See other Banff properties

Banff Y Mountain Lodge

PO Box 520, 102 Spray Ave., Banff, Canada, Distance from city centre: 0.6km

Rating: 81% from 11 reviews

  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 78%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Nice and helpfull staff. Seams more like a hotel then a hostel. Perfectly located.
  • 91%
  • 01 Sep 2014 Melanie Switzerland
  • The staff of this hostel was really friendly and helpful. The ground floor was all clear and clean. The dorms downstairs felt a little depressing to me and the shower wasn't clean. The lights were like hospital lights and there was a strange atmosphere among the guests. But there were little libraries everywhere and a big kitchen.
  • 71%
  • 31 Aug 2014 Sarie Belgium
  • freezing cold during our sleeping
  • 74%
  • 25 Aug 2014 Anonymous Taiwan
  • Very friendly and welcoming hostel. I would recommend it to anyone who is coming to Banff and travelling on a budget.
  • 86%
  • 25 Apr 2014 Karin Germany
  • I was in a tiny dorm in the basement. It was very hot, there was no window, and we were not able to use their air conditioning. There were 3 bunk beds in the room and 5 girls in it, so it was incredibly cramped. Having our own bathroom was nice and it was pretty clean. There were no lockers available which was a huge downside, you have to trust reception to keep your valuables safe. The restaurant was awesome and had good prices. Really nice and helpful staff.
  • 71%
  • 23 Apr 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Hostel itself was fine. The problem we had was in the booking agent itself (Hostels.com). We are a scout group looking for accomodation in Banff, and identified ourselves as scouts. When we checked into the hostel, we discovered the hostel could not allow anyone under age of 18 to stay there. I had booked over $900 worth of accomodations, only to find out we couldn't legally stay because of our age. The hostel said they could not refund the deposit I had already put on my credit card.
  • 69%
  • 23 Jan 2014 Dave
  • I really enjoyed my stay. The staff is very friendly, and the amenities were great for what we needed. The location was also great. Close to all the shops and bus stops. I had seen some bad reviews about cleanliness before coming and was a bit worried. However, it wasn't outrageous at all. Most people clean up after themselves in the kitchen, and the rooms were kept well. I would definitely suggest others stay here.
  • 89%
  • 28 Dec 2013 Maegan Canada
  • Hostel was OK, rooms were clean and not too big mut not too small. Although with skiing gear extra space won't do any harm...Breakfast was very basic, cereal, tee/coffee +1 toast per person, but you could upgrade it to a warm breakfast with 5$ (several choices, like omelettes and pancakes). Upgraded breakfast was huge...
  • 71%
  • 25 Dec 2013 Niina Finland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

No need to wait until the summer to take a holiday. Avoid the crowds and sweltering temperatures by choosing a trip in the winter months. Although you might have to pack some warmer clothes, there's a handful of benefits for traveling at this time: you'll either be rewarded with lower prices, clearer skies or festive entertainment.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »