See other Madrid properties

Barbieri Sol Hostel

Victoria 6 piso 2 Madrid, Madrid, Spain, Distance from city centre: 0.3km

Rating: 86% from 29 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I liked the hostel. The staff was nice and the facilities were great! They even let us borrow converters :) It was a very nice experience. Except don't forget ear plugs... It's on a street with a lot of bars. So: Madrid at 7 o'clock in the morning: means lots of noise!!
  • 97%
  • 24 Jan 2015 Sophie USA
  • Pros: Great location. Steps away from puerta del Sol Good value for money. Good wifi internet connection in the rooms as well. Okay breakfast. Helpful frontdesk. Cons: Very small in-room bathrooms with little ventilation The bed was a bit dirty, but they provided linens/sheets/blankets. Once you put them on, wont notice it much.
  • 86%
  • 04 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I really enjoyed staying at Barbieri Sol Hostel. It is right next to Puerta del Sol, where you can take a train that will connect you to any place in the city. If you are all about being on foot, there is so much space to walk and enjoy around Barbieri. The bathrooms are real clean and the set up facilitates for one to shower in the same room while the sinks outside can be used by many. The place was very clean and I really enjoyed my stay.
  • 100%
  • 20 Nov 2014 Samuel
  • The staff was very friendly and helpful, and breakfast in the morning was a standard cereal, toast, and juice situation (there is a fridge if you want to have your own food). In terms of location, you could throw a stone to Puerta del Sol, so you are minutes from shopping, restaurants, and parks. There are three keys to get into the hostel so it is secure. As for cleanliness you get what you pay for. The toilets in the rooms don't flush but the common toilets were fine.
  • 86%
  • 19 Aug 2014 Ann USA
  • Had a really nice time there, location is absolutely perfect and stuff were very nice and helpful. Rooms a bit small but clean and comfy beds.
  • 91%
  • 12 Jul 2014 Daniel Israel
  • The place is great n the staff is super friendly! The location is city center so bring earplugs to sleep cuz Madrid night life doesn't stop n it get WAY to loud at night (not hostel fault) bad thing is the bathroom in some shared rooms! they r inside the room n they have a see tru door and you can see the other pple sitting in the toilet! Lol besides that everything is great specially cuz they clean rooms daily n make ur bed! ;)
  • 100%
  • 05 Jun 2014 Eric USA
  • Great location and terrace area! I enjoyed my stay here and met some cool people. The shower was very small and it was the type of shower where you have to hold the shower head the whole time because it wasn't attached to the wall. But seriously, the location is amazing!
  • 86%
  • 17 May 2014 Susie USA
  • Great hostel. Would recommend to anyone staying in Madrid. Great location as well!
  • 94%
  • 10 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The location is amazing! Right in the heart of the city. The rooms are small, but comfortable. We did have a problem with the night receptionist not knowing English, but that's something to overlook.
  • 86%
  • 02 May 2014 Anonymous India
  • Wish I could have gotten into the kitchen a little earlier since I tend to wake up early. Also, really was a problem to have 3 beds in the room but only one plug to charge our phones. Would be better if you had WiFi in the rooms, not just the common area.
  • 89%
  • 18 Apr 2014 Barbara
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »