See other Madrid properties

Barbieri Sol Hostel

Victoria 6 piso 2 Madrid, Madrid, Spain, Distance from city centre: 0.3km

Rating: 85% from 27 reviews

  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I really enjoyed staying at Barbieri Sol Hostel. It is right next to Puerta del Sol, where you can take a train that will connect you to any place in the city. If you are all about being on foot, there is so much space to walk and enjoy around Barbieri. The bathrooms are real clean and the set up facilitates for one to shower in the same room while the sinks outside can be used by many. The place was very clean and I really enjoyed my stay.
  • 100%
  • 20 Nov 2014 Samuel
  • The staff was very friendly and helpful, and breakfast in the morning was a standard cereal, toast, and juice situation (there is a fridge if you want to have your own food). In terms of location, you could throw a stone to Puerta del Sol, so you are minutes from shopping, restaurants, and parks. There are three keys to get into the hostel so it is secure. As for cleanliness you get what you pay for. The toilets in the rooms don't flush but the common toilets were fine.
  • 86%
  • 19 Aug 2014 Ann USA
  • Had a really nice time there, location is absolutely perfect and stuff were very nice and helpful. Rooms a bit small but clean and comfy beds.
  • 91%
  • 12 Jul 2014 Daniel Israel
  • The place is great n the staff is super friendly! The location is city center so bring earplugs to sleep cuz Madrid night life doesn't stop n it get WAY to loud at night (not hostel fault) bad thing is the bathroom in some shared rooms! they r inside the room n they have a see tru door and you can see the other pple sitting in the toilet! Lol besides that everything is great specially cuz they clean rooms daily n make ur bed! ;)
  • 100%
  • 05 Jun 2014 Eric USA
  • Great location and terrace area! I enjoyed my stay here and met some cool people. The shower was very small and it was the type of shower where you have to hold the shower head the whole time because it wasn't attached to the wall. But seriously, the location is amazing!
  • 86%
  • 17 May 2014 Susie USA
  • Great hostel. Would recommend to anyone staying in Madrid. Great location as well!
  • 94%
  • 10 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The location is amazing! Right in the heart of the city. The rooms are small, but comfortable. We did have a problem with the night receptionist not knowing English, but that's something to overlook.
  • 86%
  • 02 May 2014 Anonymous India
  • Wish I could have gotten into the kitchen a little earlier since I tend to wake up early. Also, really was a problem to have 3 beds in the room but only one plug to charge our phones. Would be better if you had WiFi in the rooms, not just the common area.
  • 89%
  • 18 Apr 2014 Barbara
  • I am so thankful that I stayed at this hostel during my time in Madrid. The staff was very kind, and incredibly helpful. The owner helped me immensely with locating money after I was robbed at a nearby cafe; the premises are kept very clean; and the other lodgers were all very pleasant people. There's also an expansive and quiet balcony where one can enjoy reading or sipping a nice cocktail. I would highly recommend Hostel Sol Barbieri!
  • 100%
  • 07 Apr 2014 Kathryn USA
  • Great location, good kitchen, decent breakfast. And the guy at the front desk was so nice! We had some issues with our inconsiderate dormmates and he moved us to another room right away, also made sure our laundry came back on time. Thank you!
  • 97%
  • 10 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Some people can take a two week holiday and spend every day relaxing at the beach. Some prefer the beach to do activities, take a jog first thing in the morning, party at night...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »