See other Galway properties

Barnacles Quay Street Galway City

10 Quay Street, Galway, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 0.4km

Rating: 93% from 14 reviews

  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 95%Staff
  • 94%Security
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 100%Location
  • 91%Value for money
  • 92%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great hostel, clean welcoming and comfortable. Great showers and nice free breakfasts. Just as good as its twin in Dublin!
  • 94%
  • 03 Aug 2015 Joni Netherlands
  • A very well decorated and colorful place, the floor is almost always carpet. Staff were friendly and helpful most of the time. Location is very good and there is a lot of bars around. Delicious breakfast. I just did not like the bathroon: there was one for one bedroom with 8 people, so far ok. But they never cleaned it while I was there and it started to look disgusting.
  • 86%
  • 12 May 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • Excellent hostel.Would go back.Generally good atmosphere.
  • 80%
  • 04 May 2015 Neil England
  • Great hostel, Location is absolutely fab. If you want a early night the noise from the across the street bar can be a bit annoying, however pop into that bar. Live music and nice Guinness. The hostel is one of the freshes I've stayed. Seems however like people actually live there. Staff are cool and helpful! Only big minus is the wifi!!! Totally useless.
  • 91%
  • 01 Apr 2015 Anna Sweden
  • My amend was at first to stay only for three nights, i left finally after 8. I felt absolutely comfortable, and treated in Barnacles. The staff is extremely helpfull, the kitchen is very nice, breakfast is really good and for free, and the athmosphere is incredibly positive. I had a flabbergasting time! Thank you, Barnacles
  • 100%
  • 11 Mar 2015 Friederike
  • Really liked this hostel. In a wonderful location! Super cheap and my friend and I stayed in December and were able to have our own 4 person room. Very clean, carpet could be updated, and breakfast was basic but still great for the price!
  • 97%
  • 04 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Really enjoyed the stay even though it takes a minute and a map to get to room 116. Front desk personnel were friendly and very helpful.
  • 100%
  • 05 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great hostel :)
  • 94%
  • 17 Sep 2014 Michael Felix Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »