See other Dublin properties

Barnacles Temple Bar House

19 Temple Lane, Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 89% from 24 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 94%Staff
  • 93%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 98%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 79%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Barnacles was a great hostel, small rooms but awesome pun crawl. A little loud in therooms at night, can hear people walking around upstairs so bring ear plugs! Amazing location, definitely recommended
  • 91%
  • 29 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • So much fun to stay in this hostel! Right in the middle of the nightlife action meant not too far of a walk home from the bars and the pubcrawls were a blast. Not to mention the staff was super helpful.
  • 94%
  • 28 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The hostel is right above the temple bar, so it's pretty noisy at night- we had to close our windows at night to be able to sleep, which turned our room into a sauna. The rooms are small, there's not really any extra room, but there are lockers under the bed to store luggage. The beds were clean and comfortable.
  • 89%
  • 03 Jul 2014 Evguenia USA
  • The electricity and shower in the room was broken. The staff was unable to fix it nut were very helpful in finding us another room that worked. The location was amazing and the staff was superhelpful...best pub crawl out of any hostel
  • 89%
  • 10 Jun 2014 Sean USA
  • This hostel was awesome! Very close to everything you need to see in the city! It has lockers for your belongings, however, we felt so safe in Dublin that we did not feel the need to lock anything up. We stayed in an 11 bed mixed dorm- the only bad thing was that we had to share one shower, toilet, and sink between 11 people. The atmosphere is awesome and they supply breakfast!
  • 97%
  • 02 Jun 2014 Laura USA
  • This hostel is in the perfect location, right next to the Temple Bar and all the sights you need to see. The staff were very nice and helpful, and the rooms were very well equipped with own outlet for each be, light, and other amenities. It can be a little noisy at night simply because it is so close to the bar, but didn't find it to be much of a problem. Perfect if you're looking to meet some cool people and enjoy many pubs nearby. Would definitely recommend.
  • 83%
  • 26 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The staff is super helpful, great experience overall
  • 100%
  • 07 May 2014 dusty USA
  • This Hostel has an awesome location. It's located in the heart of the Temple bar. But what was really impressing was how helpful and friendly the staff were. There were a couple of occasions where they went out of their way to help me out with something. I would recommend stayig at this hostel and will be staying here again on my next visit to Dublin.
  • 89%
  • 01 Apr 2014 Jordan Canada
  • Staff was extremely helpful and welcoming. I couldn't have asked for a better experience.
  • 97%
  • 21 Mar 2014 Ryan USA
  • You can't find a better hostel in Dublin. Great staff. Right next to the most iconic pubs.
  • 94%
  • 19 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

While most party-hard backpackers in Europe stick to the big cities like Paris, London and Barcelona, you might end up cutting your nights (or even your trip) short. These cities come at a cost and just one cocktail can run upwards of $15. Luckily there are so many other beautiful cities around Europe which offer an exciting nightlife at half or even a third of the cost.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »