See other Dublin properties

Barnacles Temple Bar House

19 Temple Lane, Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Dublin, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 0.7km

Rating: 90% from 29 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 91%Security
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 91%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This place was great! 21 year old female college student traveling alone, so safety is important to me. I always felt very safe at the hostel. I stayed in the 8 bed mixed room and all the people I met were really nice. the hostel has very nice and helpful staff and also has free tours and a really fun pub crawl every day/night. I was only in Dublin for two days but I had such a blast because of all the people I met at Barnacles and on the pub crawl. Comfy beds and everything was clean.
  • 100%
  • 02 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The atmosphere was really great! Even in my short (1 night) stay I met a lot of wonderful people, who made me wish I didn't have to catch a flight home the next day. The staff was also superb!!!! From helping with how and when to get to the airport, to repeating directions on how to get to must see sights, to just being a smiling faces! When I left they were even trying to come up with a fun holiday celebration for everyone staying through Christmas! Overall it was a terrific place!
  • 100%
  • 21 Dec 2014 Jennifer USA
  • Great location..clean room..nice staff..reasonable price..wi-fi in the bed room..and if I could have better coffee for breakfast, it would be perfect..
  • 86%
  • 26 Nov 2014 Dony Abdul Indonesia
  • Best location in town! The staff was really nice and helpful with everything.
  • 89%
  • 11 Oct 2014 Andree-Anne Canada
  • Noisy - even mid week, the noise from the street came up through the windows. Great proximity to bars and clubs, but lots of coming in and out. The staff was very friendly and helpful. This spot is probably a little more suited to groups than solo travellers.
  • 77%
  • 02 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Barnacles was a great hostel, small rooms but awesome pun crawl. A little loud in therooms at night, can hear people walking around upstairs so bring ear plugs! Amazing location, definitely recommended
  • 91%
  • 29 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • So much fun to stay in this hostel! Right in the middle of the nightlife action meant not too far of a walk home from the bars and the pubcrawls were a blast. Not to mention the staff was super helpful.
  • 94%
  • 28 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The hostel is right above the temple bar, so it's pretty noisy at night- we had to close our windows at night to be able to sleep, which turned our room into a sauna. The rooms are small, there's not really any extra room, but there are lockers under the bed to store luggage. The beds were clean and comfortable.
  • 89%
  • 03 Jul 2014 Evguenia USA
  • The electricity and shower in the room was broken. The staff was unable to fix it nut were very helpful in finding us another room that worked. The location was amazing and the staff was superhelpful...best pub crawl out of any hostel
  • 89%
  • 10 Jun 2014 Sean USA
  • This hostel was awesome! Very close to everything you need to see in the city! It has lockers for your belongings, however, we felt so safe in Dublin that we did not feel the need to lock anything up. We stayed in an 11 bed mixed dorm- the only bad thing was that we had to share one shower, toilet, and sink between 11 people. The atmosphere is awesome and they supply breakfast!
  • 97%
  • 02 Jun 2014 Laura USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »