See other Brisbane properties

Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)

462 George Street, Brisbane, Australia, Distance from city centre: 0.8km

Rating: 71% from 7 reviews

  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 74%Security
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 71%Value for money
  • 57%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The staff were very kind and friendly, and I actually received a free upgrade on my room, which was awesome! It was as clean as could be expected for a hostel that receives a lot of volume. Wi-fi about $4 for 24 hours, which isn't too terrible, but you can't get service in a lot of places which sucks. You can rent kitchen ware (plate, bowl, cutlery) for $10 which is returned to you. Most hostels give these things for free, so a bit of a surprise that you have to "rent" the things. Good overal
  • 74%
  • 14 Apr 2014 Tiffany Canada
  • Didn' really enjoy my stay. It was alright for me since i was only at the hostel at night to sleep. But our carpet was soaking wet, rooms pretty dirty and fellow backpackers were not considering other people in terms of nightly waterfights in the room, etc. Apart from that i cannot comment on the hostel's kitchen and common rooms since (as stated above) i've only been there for the nights
    Owner Comment

    Hey there, Thank you for leaving your feedback. We really appreciate it when guests take their time to let us know what they thought. I'm so sorry you encountered some disrespectful guests, we would have happily moved you rooms so you wouldn't have to deal with people like that. Our housekeepers do their very best to keep the rooms as clean as possible but unfortunately we must have let you down this time. Thank you and safe travels, Sabina at Base Brisbane Uptown :-)

  • 43%
  • 27 Jan 2014 Katrin Germany
  • The staff was very unfriendly and not really helpful, what creates a impersonal atmosphere.The lockers located in the third floor are not really safe, I tried to store my belongings and the automat opened a locker, which is was still filled with valuables of other people. The 6 bed room was very small and has no window to open. There is not even a place where you can put your luggage.
    Owner Comment

    Hey there, Thank you for your comments we appreciate any feedback whether it's negative or positive. I'm very sorry you didn't find the staff friendly we pride ourselves on having the best staff in Brisbane! Unfortunately the windows are sealed shut which is a decision that was made when the building was built to reduce the noise from the street outside. That is why we have AC in every room & extractor fans on every level. Thank you again :-)

  • 31%
  • 05 Dec 2013 Sebastian Germany
  • If you want a smaller backpacker vibe, this place is NOT for you. Rooms are crowded and loud at night (bar downstairs), and it's a bit annoying to have to rent your plate, bowl, and silverware from the front desk. Bought WIFI, but it never worked in my room on the 2nd floor. Kitchen was a bit dirty and this place lacked character. It just felt like a steel box to sleep to me. But, cheap and well placed.
    Owner Comment

    Hey there, Thank for you taking the time to leave us your comments. I'm sorry that you didn't have a great experience at our hostel. We ask guests to rent the cutlery boxes just so that everyone actually has cutlery to use because a lot of guests like to take kitchen goods with them and then there's none of anyone else :-( We have recently upgraded our wifi routers so that every room can receive the signal now which is great news. Thank you and safe travels :-)

  • 69%
  • 27 Nov 2013 Katrina USA
  • Hostels's Air Conditioning was not working in Room No 25 & Water from AC was leaking.Luggage Storage Room is Small.No more free Pasta as they advertised.There is no internet in a Hostel.
    Owner Comment

    Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I'm very sorry that the AC was leaking and not working. We have a great maintenance team and hopefully they were there straight away to rectify this issue. We do have wifi in the hostel and we have routers on every level so there is access in every room of the hostel. We try and always have free pasta and rice but unfortunately sometimes we do run out. Thank you again for your comments, Safe Travels :-)

  • 91%
  • 08 Nov 2013 Rajinder England
  • i was one of the best hostels we have stayed on our world trip !!
    Owner Comment

    Hey there, Thank you for your lovely feedback, we absolutely love it when people enjoy their stay. Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Safe travels, The Crew at Base Brisbane Uptown :-)

  • 94%
  • 11 Sep 2013 Anonymous Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »