See other Belfast properties

Belfast International Youth Hostel

22-32 Donegal Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland, Distance from city centre: 1km

Rating: 79% from 41 reviews

  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 79%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 75%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Extremely noisy. We could hear a nightclub from our rooms and the piping is bad and all night we could hear a drilling and banging noise from them so we got absolutely no sleep because of this. The room is very basic and there's no small table in it for putting things on. The bed was comfortable enough and the room was warm. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
  • 51%
  • 13 Dec 2014 Brenda Ireland
  • I've been here before and I would choose it again for my stay in Belfast. Conveniently located close to bus and train stations, within walking distance to the city centre. Cozy cafe with yummy food at decent prices.
  • 77%
  • 05 Dec 2014 Anonymous Italy
  • All in all it is was you accept. Not very clean, not very cozy, wifi only available in the lobby. One staff member was so rude, he asked me to leave the hostel, because i "broke" a rule. After asking him where this rule is written he couldn't show me, because it neither says in Terms and Conditions nor in the booklet of rules. Anyways i apologized for my behavior nescience but it didn't change anything. He called the police and let me, as a girl, spent the night in Belfast on the streets!
  • 46%
  • 13 Nov 2014 Catharina Germany
  • There was a guy, Phil at the desk. He was soo soo helpful and accommodating. I must say it was a great experience. I was pleasantly surprised at how facilitating the place was and how warm the atmosphere was. Great spot and will be returning
  • 94%
  • 27 Sep 2014 Paul Ireland
  • Nice hostel with delicious breakfast options for a little extra money. Close to the train station, as well. Would recommend it.
  • 77%
  • 07 Sep 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • The lift is too old, For safety, why not change it to a new one? Come on, it worth that money!
    Owner Comment

    Hello. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We have 2 lifts in our building, one older in the original hostel building and another in the newer part of the hostel. Unfortunately the newer lift is currently out of service as we await a repair. Hopefully it will be back in operation again soon - we are in the hands of the experts! Belfast IYH

  • 77%
  • 04 Sep 2014 Anonymous China
  • room was ok, the staff were very helpful, it was a very quiet environment but didn't have wifi in the rooms, only on the lobby... :( the coffee shop have great breakfast!
  • 86%
  • 30 Aug 2014 Roxana Croatia
  • Bien située, propre et staff globalement sympa. Seul - : un employé a frappé et est entré directement dans notre chambre à 10h40 pour nous rappeler le chek out à 11 heures alors que nous finissions de nous vêtir!! A well located hostel, clean room and mostly friendly staff. The only big problem we encountered was that an employee came to our room at 10:40 am to remind us that check out is at 11. He knocked and walked in while we were in the middle of getting ready and had only just got dressed!!
  • 74%
  • 16 Aug 2014 Dounia France
  • Rooms were smaller than I expected, but suited us well for a one night stay. Staff was amazing! And I really appreciated the location and security at night. Breakfast in the cafe was good value and great food; egg soda breakfast sandwiches were outstanding.
  • 94%
  • 13 Aug 2014 Amy Canada
  • In general the Hostel was okey but when we arrived the staff put me in a different room, and then we had a problem with the car and we asked to the staff but they didn´t give us any solution only a spanish boy that was working in the caffee shop wanted to help us, but nobody of hostel´s staff
  • 71%
  • 09 Aug 2014 Ariadna Spain
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Some people can take a two week holiday and spend every day relaxing at the beach. Some prefer the beach to do activities, take a jog first thing in the morning, party at night...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »