See other Belfast properties

Belfast International Youth Hostel

22-32 Donegal Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland, Distance from city centre: 1km

Rating: 77% from 29 reviews

  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 82%Location
  • 77%Value for money
  • 68%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The hostel is close from the city centre, 10 minutes by walk. The rooms are very clean and confortable. The staff the first day was very rude with us.
  • 69%
  • 24 Oct 2015 Estibaliz Spain
  • For the price and location it is a really good hostel, the cleanliness was totally ok, just there was a slug in the toilet at the time we arrived...
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and particularly for the 100% score for our hardworking staff. I am not sure about the slug though ... can you please make contact and tell me more? Many thanks. David

  • 80%
  • 26 Sep 2015 Madlen Germany
  • The hostel in all was o.k but the kitchen for communal use was very dirty, and I found that the staff were not at all kind nor helpfull, unlike all the other hostels where I stayed.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for your comments and your great scores for our security, location, value for money and facilities - all very important. Our staff is usually rated very hightly online: the response from guests is usually very enthusiastic in fact and I am sorry that this was not your exeperince. Our kitchen is thoroughly cleaned every morning but you will often find it as other guests have left it during the day: part of the hostelling experience perhaps. I hope you enjoyed Northern Ireland. David

  • 71%
  • 31 Aug 2015 Anonymous Argentina
  • Had a great stay here! Lovely, welcoming staff and very clean rooms that were nice and spacious. Only downside was minor but would have loved more plug sockets so that I could've charged my phone (they were all in use), and there were no soap dispensers in the bathroom!
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, and such a good one too. Our staff, both on reception and in housekeeping, works very hard to give everyone a warm welcome and to keep things clean and in good shape: not always easy with so many people coming and going. I guess part of the hostel experience is sharing, rooms and facilities, and that should spread to the limited electrical sockets too. I hope you will come back and see us again. David

  • 97%
  • 01 Aug 2015 Avril
  • My husband and I stayed here during our budget honeymoon. The staff were very helpful, and we definitely recommend the attached Causeway Cafe for breakfast! The room was pretty good for a private hostel stay, but we didn't like the open shower style of the bathroom that left the whole bathroom perpetually wet. Otherwise, it's a good location for walking to most places - enough out of the way to be mostly quiet but not inconvenient. It wasn't our favorite place to stay, but it wasn't at all bad!
  • 89%
  • 30 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • It was a surprisingly pleasant first experience! I felt it was wrong to instinctively keep away from the label 'HOSTEL' in favour of 'HOTEL' This hostel was far superior to many hotels I have lived in - not just by value-for-money but by itself.
  • 83%
  • 26 Jun 2015 Anonymous India
  • Very, very small narrow rooms. The only thing in the room was a bunk bed and a "little" sink. Our room had a window which was nice, it took away some of the "claustrophobic" feel.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for taking time to leave a review. We have a very wide range of rooms at the hostel in Belfast, so something to suit all budgets. Some rooms offer a bit more space, some are smaller but private, some have private showers/toilets, all have a washbasin (and window). I hope you had a good holiday in Ireland. David

  • 77%
  • 25 Jun 2015 silvia USA
  • It is awkward having the only sink and mirror in the dorm room. This means waking everyone up to wash, brush teeth, do make up and hair. Also only 2 plugs. That said it is an excellent hostel and would recommend it.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for your comments after your recent stay with us in Belfast. It's great to read that you are going to recommend us! Happy travels! David

  • 97%
  • 19 May 2015 phyllis USA
  • Nice hostel in a very good place - calm and safe area - just 15 mins to the Belfast city center. Many shops, cafe and restaurants located close or in walking distance. Building is modern enough. Many common places - spacious hall & dining room. Fully equipped kitchen. Elevator. Very friendly and helpful stuff. 6-dorm-room was not very spacious but enough for habitation without any problems. Shared bathroom was clean. WiFi in common areas worked fine. A very good set! ... Some problem with e-lock
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for your very positive review: it's always good to know when guests have enjoyed their stay. I don't think I can add anything at all as you have summed everything up perfectly. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. David

  • 91%
  • 06 May 2015 Anonymous Russia
  • It was ok. Quite expensive for what it offers. No breakfast, no wifi in the rooms and weak connection in the lobby. No common space for customers. Dormitories are preatty much the same price as private rooms, so we decided for a private. Bathrooms are to share anyway. They are clean though. Our room was clean too but essential.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for comments. Clean and well-located is a good start: we like to get the basics right: thank you. We have a wide range of rooms: from dorm beds costing £10.50, to a double room with private shower and toilet for £38: and almost something to suit all budgets in between. A wide range of good-value breakfasts can be purchased at Causeway Cafe. Apart our seating areas in the lobby and dining room (on the ground floor) we have a TV room and library on the first.

  • 57%
  • 04 May 2015 Anonymous Italy
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »