See other Belfast properties

Belfast International Youth Hostel

22-32 Donegal Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland, Distance from city centre: 1km

Rating: 76% from 34 reviews

  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 77%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 77%Location
  • 78%Value for money
  • 71%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Stay was nice. The staff were extremely helpful and helped us plan what we were to see. Staffed 24 hours a day is a plus too. The rooms could have a soap dispenser but you get what you pay for. Overall, a good stay.
  • 74%
  • 16 Apr 2015 Louis England
  • The fire door to the dorm wouldn't shut behind you, you had to remember to pull it closed as you left. Shower cubicles didn't have a single peg where to hang a towel and clothes from when showering. Cleanliness approximate. Bottom sheet covering mattress too small, would snap away from the edges and leave you to sleep on a horrible plastic covered mattress. Staff service perfunctory and curt.
  • 49%
  • 21 Mar 2015 Elisabetta Switzerland
  • everything is perfect except the heater! its so cold in belfast! the heater doesnt work well! but the staffs are so friendly and nice! anyway, its a good choice!
  • 94%
  • 27 Dec 2014 Anonymous China
  • Extremely noisy. We could hear a nightclub from our rooms and the piping is bad and all night we could hear a drilling and banging noise from them so we got absolutely no sleep because of this. The room is very basic and there's no small table in it for putting things on. The bed was comfortable enough and the room was warm. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
  • 51%
  • 13 Dec 2014 Brenda Ireland
  • I've been here before and I would choose it again for my stay in Belfast. Conveniently located close to bus and train stations, within walking distance to the city centre. Cozy cafe with yummy food at decent prices.
  • 77%
  • 05 Dec 2014 Anonymous Italy
  • All in all it is was you accept. Not very clean, not very cozy, wifi only available in the lobby. One staff member was so rude, he asked me to leave the hostel, because i "broke" a rule. After asking him where this rule is written he couldn't show me, because it neither says in Terms and Conditions nor in the booklet of rules. Anyways i apologized for my behavior nescience but it didn't change anything. He called the police and let me, as a girl, spent the night in Belfast on the streets!
  • 46%
  • 13 Nov 2014 Catharina Germany
  • There was a guy, Phil at the desk. He was soo soo helpful and accommodating. I must say it was a great experience. I was pleasantly surprised at how facilitating the place was and how warm the atmosphere was. Great spot and will be returning
  • 94%
  • 27 Sep 2014 Paul Ireland
  • Nice hostel with delicious breakfast options for a little extra money. Close to the train station, as well. Would recommend it.
  • 77%
  • 07 Sep 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • The lift is too old, For safety, why not change it to a new one? Come on, it worth that money!
    Owner Comment

    Hello. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We have 2 lifts in our building, one older in the original hostel building and another in the newer part of the hostel. Unfortunately the newer lift is currently out of service as we await a repair. Hopefully it will be back in operation again soon - we are in the hands of the experts! Belfast IYH

  • 77%
  • 04 Sep 2014 Anonymous China
  • room was ok, the staff were very helpful, it was a very quiet environment but didn't have wifi in the rooms, only on the lobby... :( the coffee shop have great breakfast!
  • 86%
  • 30 Aug 2014 Roxana Croatia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Spring and Summer are full of musical adventures. Check out our list of some of the world's best (and in some cases lesser-known) music festivals happening this year

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »