See other Belfast properties

Belfast International Youth Hostel

22-32 Donegal Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland, Distance from city centre: 1km

Rating: 80% from 32 reviews

  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 83%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 74%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Would happily stay here again if I go back to Belfast - friendly staff, clean rooms, nice cafe on site if you don't want to do your own breakfast. Wifi downstairs in the common areas.
  • 86%
  • 21 May 2016 Anonymous Scotland
  • Great place, perfect location for exploring Belfast on foot, free parking, wifi in the room, helpful and easy going staff. The only downside is that breakfast is not included, but there is a kitchen so you can make your own if you do not wish to pay a pretty penny for it in their café.
  • 94%
  • 09 May 2016 Anonymous Denmark
  • no wiki in the room
  • 83%
  • 01 May 2016 Anonymous Spain
  • Staff are extremely friendly and helpfulhelpful. I'll be back again
  • 100%
  • 01 May 2016 Colm
  • All around average hostel. The worst thing about it is that the rooms have two plugs total, and there are no individual lights for the beds.
  • 57%
  • 29 Apr 2016 Ashley USA
  • The whole building is very clean and the rooms are well isolated thus quiet. It is ver pleasant to sleep without earplugs and get proper sleep. I would though report the ladies that clean the room at 9am that she is very loud and hardly polite. Desk staff were either adorable or should quit their job. This is an amazing place to stay to meet new people and the price is very low. Wifi if available in the room, this is very appreciable. Thanks for the stay.
  • 80%
  • 14 Mar 2016 Anonymous France
  • The hostel is close from the city centre, 10 minutes by walk. The rooms are very clean and confortable. The staff the first day was very rude with us.
  • 69%
  • 24 Oct 2015 Anonymous Spain
  • For the price and location it is a really good hostel, the cleanliness was totally ok, just there was a slug in the toilet at the time we arrived...
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and particularly for the 100% score for our hardworking staff. I am not sure about the slug though ... can you please make contact and tell me more? Many thanks. David

  • 80%
  • 26 Sep 2015 Madlen Germany
  • The hostel in all was o.k but the kitchen for communal use was very dirty, and I found that the staff were not at all kind nor helpfull, unlike all the other hostels where I stayed.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for your comments and your great scores for our security, location, value for money and facilities - all very important. Our staff is usually rated very hightly online: the response from guests is usually very enthusiastic in fact and I am sorry that this was not your exeperince. Our kitchen is thoroughly cleaned every morning but you will often find it as other guests have left it during the day: part of the hostelling experience perhaps. I hope you enjoyed Northern Ireland. David

  • 71%
  • 31 Aug 2015 Anonymous Argentina
  • Had a great stay here! Lovely, welcoming staff and very clean rooms that were nice and spacious. Only downside was minor but would have loved more plug sockets so that I could've charged my phone (they were all in use), and there were no soap dispensers in the bathroom!
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, and such a good one too. Our staff, both on reception and in housekeeping, works very hard to give everyone a warm welcome and to keep things clean and in good shape: not always easy with so many people coming and going. I guess part of the hostel experience is sharing, rooms and facilities, and that should spread to the limited electrical sockets too. I hope you will come back and see us again. David

  • 97%
  • 01 Aug 2015 Avril
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

During the summer the city of Dublin becomes a different place. Gone are the endless days of wind and rain as the warm weather brings picnics in the park, drinks by the canal, b...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »