See other Belfast properties

Belfast International Youth Hostel

22-32 Donegal Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland, Distance from city centre: 1km

Rating: 78% from 31 reviews

  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 79%Value for money
  • 67%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • My husband and I stayed here during our budget honeymoon. The staff were very helpful, and we definitely recommend the attached Causeway Cafe for breakfast! The room was pretty good for a private hostel stay, but we didn't like the open shower style of the bathroom that left the whole bathroom perpetually wet. Otherwise, it's a good location for walking to most places - enough out of the way to be mostly quiet but not inconvenient. It wasn't our favorite place to stay, but it wasn't at all bad!
  • 89%
  • 30 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • It was a surprisingly pleasant first experience! I felt it was wrong to instinctively keep away from the label 'HOSTEL' in favour of 'HOTEL' This hostel was far superior to many hotels I have lived in - not just by value-for-money but by itself.
  • 83%
  • 26 Jun 2015 Anonymous India
  • Very, very small narrow rooms. The only thing in the room was a bunk bed and a "little" sink. Our room had a window which was nice, it took away some of the "claustrophobic" feel.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for taking time to leave a review. We have a very wide range of rooms at the hostel in Belfast, so something to suit all budgets. Some rooms offer a bit more space, some are smaller but private, some have private showers/toilets, all have a washbasin (and window). I hope you had a good holiday in Ireland. David

  • 77%
  • 25 Jun 2015 silvia USA
  • It is awkward having the only sink and mirror in the dorm room. This means waking everyone up to wash, brush teeth, do make up and hair. Also only 2 plugs. That said it is an excellent hostel and would recommend it.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for your comments after your recent stay with us in Belfast. It's great to read that you are going to recommend us! Happy travels! David

  • 97%
  • 19 May 2015 phyllis USA
  • Nice hostel in a very good place - calm and safe area - just 15 mins to the Belfast city center. Many shops, cafe and restaurants located close or in walking distance. Building is modern enough. Many common places - spacious hall & dining room. Fully equipped kitchen. Elevator. Very friendly and helpful stuff. 6-dorm-room was not very spacious but enough for habitation without any problems. Shared bathroom was clean. WiFi in common areas worked fine. A very good set! ... Some problem with e-lock
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for your very positive review: it's always good to know when guests have enjoyed their stay. I don't think I can add anything at all as you have summed everything up perfectly. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. David

  • 91%
  • 06 May 2015 Anonymous Russia
  • It was ok. Quite expensive for what it offers. No breakfast, no wifi in the rooms and weak connection in the lobby. No common space for customers. Dormitories are preatty much the same price as private rooms, so we decided for a private. Bathrooms are to share anyway. They are clean though. Our room was clean too but essential.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for comments. Clean and well-located is a good start: we like to get the basics right: thank you. We have a wide range of rooms: from dorm beds costing £10.50, to a double room with private shower and toilet for £38: and almost something to suit all budgets in between. A wide range of good-value breakfasts can be purchased at Causeway Cafe. Apart our seating areas in the lobby and dining room (on the ground floor) we have a TV room and library on the first.

  • 57%
  • 04 May 2015 Anonymous Italy
  • Stay was nice. The staff were extremely helpful and helped us plan what we were to see. Staffed 24 hours a day is a plus too. The rooms could have a soap dispenser but you get what you pay for. Overall, a good stay.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for your kind comments: we are pleased you had a good stay. Hopefully we will see you again in the future. Enjoy your travels! David

  • 74%
  • 16 Apr 2015 Louis England
  • The fire door to the dorm wouldn't shut behind you, you had to remember to pull it closed as you left. Shower cubicles didn't have a single peg where to hang a towel and clothes from when showering. Cleanliness approximate. Bottom sheet covering mattress too small, would snap away from the edges and leave you to sleep on a horrible plastic covered mattress. Staff service perfunctory and curt.
  • 49%
  • 21 Mar 2015 Elisabetta Switzerland
  • everything is perfect except the heater! its so cold in belfast! the heater doesnt work well! but the staffs are so friendly and nice! anyway, its a good choice!
  • 94%
  • 27 Dec 2014 Anonymous China
  • Extremely noisy. We could hear a nightclub from our rooms and the piping is bad and all night we could hear a drilling and banging noise from them so we got absolutely no sleep because of this. The room is very basic and there's no small table in it for putting things on. The bed was comfortable enough and the room was warm. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
  • 51%
  • 13 Dec 2014 Brenda Ireland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »