See other Edinburgh properties

Belford Hostel

6/8 Douglas Gardens, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 1.3km

Rating: 75% from 26 reviews

  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 70%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 73%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Inconvenient if you want to sleep over night. There have been some rush until 5 am.
  • 51%
  • 23 Jul 2016 Anonymous Czech Republic
  • Value for money, cheap but not bad hostel.
  • 77%
  • 25 Jun 2016 Maxim Ukraine
  • I really loved my stay at this hostel and will absolutely come back during my next stay in Edinburgh! I booked one of the single rooms and it was fantastic. I was a bit disappointed that there wasn't wifi in the room, but there was a small tv and a kettle and the room was comfortable! I was also able to use wifi in the lounge, which was nice and comfortable. The shower facilities were fantastic, the location was amazing and the staff were lovely.
  • 94%
  • 18 Jun 2016 Anonymous Canada
  • The rooms are very dark because the droms have only one window in the ceiling. It is a very special hostel, because I have never lived in a church before! The downside is, that the ambient noise is very loud, especially when someone close a door.
  • 63%
  • 19 May 2016 Anonymous
  • Cleanilness in the Kitchen, Fridge and hall way
  • 66%
  • 09 May 2016 som
  • Everyone was so nice and helpful. There is a great atmosphere with most of the staff living there on location. The young Australian lady was particularly nice, as was the female manager (sorry I can't remember names since I'm doing this so long after). Thank you so much! I would recommend you to any friends heading that way :)
  • 97%
  • 21 Feb 2016 Anonymous USA
  • It was overall a good stay in Belford hostel. Staff was quite friendly and helping. Facilities were good but should increase no. of toilets.
  • 77%
  • 13 Nov 2015 Anonymous
  • Excellent location, 20 minute walk to Edinburgh Castle and Royal Mile. Staff was extremely helpful and nice. Recommend this hostel to anyone travelling to Edinburgh.
  • 89%
  • 15 Oct 2015 Andrew James Thomas Canada
  • Staying there was the best idea we had ! Located in a former church this hostel is really cheap, original, well-built and people are really nice. I sincerely recommend.
  • 94%
  • 04 Oct 2015 Pauline France
  • What a horrible place. The outside church is great but once you're inside its a let down. It smelled, rooms and bathrooms were very small and cramped. We were kept up all night but a group who were partying, yelling, banging on doors until 2 am with the special touch of a very angry woman screaming at the top of her lungs for them to shut up about every 30 minutes for hours. On a Sunday night and there was no staff to ask them to be quiet? Every sound travels very far. Horrible.
  • 60%
  • 27 Sep 2015 Anonymous Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

With the sun shining 80% of the time, Miami is the hot spot to go if you want a tropical getaway. It gets over 3,200 hours of sunshine a year, making it one of the top places to...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »