See other Edinburgh properties

Belford Hostel

6/8 Douglas Gardens, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 1.3km

Rating: 65% from 20 reviews

  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 70%Staff
  • 73%Security
  • 61%Cleanliness
  • 66%Location
  • 66%Value for money
  • 59%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Stayed in a private room and have nothing to complain about. Nothing wrong with the room and the bathroom in the "private rooms" corridor was very nice. The kitchen was well-equipped and was kept clean when I was there. Had a look at the dorm area too, the walls there looked very thin so those who are easily disturbed by noise might want to think twice about staying here. Location ok for those who don't mind a little walk (and close to Haymarket station).
  • 74%
  • 25 May 2014 Janina Finland
  • It's not one of the most central hostels in Edinburgh. This said it's still very close to the center. First day we took the bus which we quickly realised wasn't necessary. It's whithin walking distance. Girl's shower newly installed while the men's could use with a freshening up. It was calme when we stayed (very appreciated) but earplugs might come in use with loud guests (paper thin walls and open indoor roof windows for ventilation connecting to general corridor). It's a cool place to stay in
  • 77%
  • 22 May 2014 Jannica Sweden
  • I love this hostel. Stayed there several times during my trip. Staff is great. Showers are clean and new and awesome. Private room amenities are great. Location is in walking distance to everything in Edinburgh that you could want to see. Very close to a Airlink bus stop that takes 30 minutes to get to the airport.
  • 100%
  • 30 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Loved staying here. Its in a converted church which works very well. The shower facilities are brand new which is fantastic. The private rooms are very cozy and the amenities are fantastic. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. Reception is open from 8am to 3am which is pretty great. Also in a great location in the city. I enjoyed walking everywhere although there are buses available very close and transportation to the airport is very easy from Haymarket.
  • 100%
  • 25 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Loved staying here. I walked to everything I wanted to do in Edinburgh from here. It is very close to Princes Street and to St. Mary's. The Castle is less than a mile which means that Holyroodhouse Palace and Holyrood Park are both just over a mile. There is a Tesco very close and a few restaurants and a bank right around the corner. It is also just a few blocks away from a Airlink bus stop at Haymarket which takes you right to the airport in 30 minutes. The staff is incredibly nice and helpful.
  • 100%
  • 24 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • the room is too small, overcrowded with luggage and people when it is full
  • 57%
  • 21 Aug 2013 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • I've been to many, many hostels, and this place was by far the most unpleasant. Avoid. The bathrooms are full of mold (I'm still dealing with a respiratory infection I picked up there) and stank to high heaven, the showers only run for 15 seconds at a time and you can't control the heat, there is no natural light anywhere in the hostel, and they turn the wifi off in the evening (most likely to save money, although they claim it's to get people to socialize, which is just as obnoxious).
  • 43%
  • 11 Aug 2013 Emily USA
  • The most important failure is the size of the rooms: 8 beds in a room with 2 m² of free space is suffocating. There are stupid rules everywhere, like if we are two people traveling together we had to have two set of keys, having to pay a deposit of 20 pounds when we were running out of money. In the Legends wall, there are only two women, one of which not even famous. The other female poster is kim basingers' in a sexy position.. A bit sexist.
  • 63%
  • 20 Jul 2013 Miguel Spain
  • I only have 500 characters here so in brief: this was one of the worst hosteling experiences of I've ever had. There was not enough power outlets, the wifi was turned off at key moments in the evening in a fascistic effort to control social interaction, security codes were changed without notice and the facilities were the opposite of clean. Details, if you want them, can be found here - http://captainjaq.wordpress.com/2013/07/24/a-note-about-bad-hostels-in-particular-the-belford-in-edinburgh/
  • 40%
  • 14 Jul 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »