See other Edinburgh properties

Belford Hostel

6/8 Douglas Gardens, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 1.3km

Rating: 78% from 20 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 79%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 75%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 77%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very nice place to stay not too good if your on the bottom bunk due to no head room but the facilities were brilliant due to they had a tv room bar and could play pool as well and the showers were pretty warm so overall really good place to stay
  • 91%
  • 12 Aug 2015 Anonymous England
  • Some would say you get what you paid for, but I disagree. In similarly priced hostels my experience was much better. And no matter the price, there is no reason at all why the staff should be so unfriendly or even rude. They have one gimmick - it's a converted church, which could be a really special experience. But inside it's just another small, not so clean, dilapidating hostel with hideous graffiti, gloomy atmosphere and awkward location, so they don't even use the little potential they have.
  • 31%
  • 01 Aug 2015 Marat Israel
  • Me and my friend have stayed in hostel for a week and it was really super! I would reconmmend it to everyone :)
  • 91%
  • 01 Aug 2015 Anja Slovenia
  • + very friendly staff, warm blankets, the showers were hot,clean & big, good location, old converted church, cool walls of art, big lockers and kitchen, let me print, enough outlets, they also put my bags in storage before check in and let me relax in the commons area. - dirty floors, slow wifi, thin walls, some parts were really cold, my locker was in a different hallway not in the room like most peoples
  • 94%
  • 16 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed and safe! Kerry, was at the front desk and he was friendly, helpful and willing to do whatever was needed to make our stay seemless. The hostel is In an old church and they have done a great job to make it look funky. It is clean and has everything one needs. Rooms have secured lockers and doors. We were able to walk to all major attractions from the hostel. It is very quiet at night so we were always well rested. It is a hostel for all!
  • 97%
  • 16 Jul 2015 dawn Canada
  • What an interesting experience sleeping in a church which has been converted into a hostel. I really enjoyed my stay. Friendly staff, clean facilities, nice big kitchen, and fairly good location.
  • 83%
  • 13 Jun 2015 Madelaine
  • My boyfriend and I stayed for two nights. This was our first time in Edinburgh. The building is a lovely old church converted into a hostel. Our room and bathroom was nice and clean. The staff was very helpful with providing a map and suggestions on where to eat and things to see in the area. This hostel is about a 20 minute walk from the Royal Mile and Edinburgh castle which was not bad at all.
  • 100%
  • 11 Jun 2015 Lynn USA
  • The lady at reception is very disagreeable, always angry and screaming. All other staff are excellent. The room smell a little bad.
  • 66%
  • 06 Jun 2015 Antonio Portugal
  • I had a great time here. The staff are amazing, very friendly, and helpful. The common area is a cool place to hang out in in the evening. The hostel is located in a very good place because you can just walk everywhere. Locks are a bit tricky: just turn the key and and knob at the same time. The showers are clean and warm and the rooms are cosy and quiet. All around it is a great place to stay and and has lovely people to help make your stay more enjoyable.
  • 94%
  • 05 May 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • A place with atmosphere. We had a very nice stay, but outside temperatures below 0 were also affecting the room temperature, which could be about 15. They have a nice kitchen, too.
  • 86%
  • 26 Dec 2014 Anonymous Czech Republic
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »