See other Edinburgh properties

Belford Hostel

6/8 Douglas Gardens, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 1.3km

Rating: 79% from 19 reviews

  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 74%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 76%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This hostels is in a church. It is very creative painted and has an own small bar and a big kitchen. So the kitchen is always pretty busy. The doors close pretty hard so it is loud sometimes. it was a good stay to catch the flight at the airport. the bus stop was just a few minutes walk.
  • 83%
  • 17 Sep 2016 Pauline Germany
  • This was such a fun place to stay, first of all, it is in an old church. I forgot this fact and was surprised when I walked up to it. There is a bar in the common room and the facility is licensed to sell alcohol. The women's showers were clean, and updated. The lockers were large enough to hold my huge backpack. There is a TV room connected to the common room, but quiet enough to chill out and watch a movie with a beer. I had a lot of fun here and would definitely go back.
  • 97%
  • 07 Sep 2016 Anonymous USA
  • I was looking for a cheap room close to the airport, and Belford Hostel delivered, although I could imagine it being a bit cheaper. The hostel is actually a church, which I found very interesting and refreshing. It is located about 10 minutes walk from the Haymarket station accessable by the Airport Express bus. I booked a double room, and it honestly exceeded my expectations. The room was very big, with a sofa, TV and a kettle. Staff was friendly, bathroom very clean.
  • 77%
  • 05 Sep 2016 Anonymous Czech Republic
  • Inconvenient if you want to sleep over night. There have been some rush until 5 am.
  • 51%
  • 23 Jul 2016 Anonymous Czech Republic
  • Value for money, cheap but not bad hostel.
  • 77%
  • 25 Jun 2016 Maxim Ukraine
  • I really loved my stay at this hostel and will absolutely come back during my next stay in Edinburgh! I booked one of the single rooms and it was fantastic. I was a bit disappointed that there wasn't wifi in the room, but there was a small tv and a kettle and the room was comfortable! I was also able to use wifi in the lounge, which was nice and comfortable. The shower facilities were fantastic, the location was amazing and the staff were lovely.
  • 94%
  • 18 Jun 2016 Anonymous Canada
  • The rooms are very dark because the droms have only one window in the ceiling. It is a very special hostel, because I have never lived in a church before! The downside is, that the ambient noise is very loud, especially when someone close a door.
  • 63%
  • 19 May 2016 Anonymous
  • Cleanilness in the Kitchen, Fridge and hall way
  • 66%
  • 09 May 2016 som
  • Everyone was so nice and helpful. There is a great atmosphere with most of the staff living there on location. The young Australian lady was particularly nice, as was the female manager (sorry I can't remember names since I'm doing this so long after). Thank you so much! I would recommend you to any friends heading that way :)
  • 97%
  • 21 Feb 2016 Anonymous USA
  • It was overall a good stay in Belford hostel. Staff was quite friendly and helping. Facilities were good but should increase no. of toilets.
  • 77%
  • 13 Nov 2015 Anonymous
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

This place has something for everyone, from the Golden Gate Bridge to Alcatraz, Chinatown, amazing seafood and one of the oldest LGBTQ scenes in the USA. And if you're a museum-...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »