See other Edinburgh properties

Belford Hostel

6/8 Douglas Gardens, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 1.3km

Rating: 78% from 26 reviews

  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 74%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 76%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It was overall a good stay in Belford hostel. Staff was quite friendly and helping. Facilities were good but should increase no. of toilets.
  • 77%
  • 13 Nov 2015 Anonymous
  • Excellent location, 20 minute walk to Edinburgh Castle and Royal Mile. Staff was extremely helpful and nice. Recommend this hostel to anyone travelling to Edinburgh.
  • 89%
  • 15 Oct 2015 Andrew James Thomas Canada
  • Staying there was the best idea we had ! Located in a former church this hostel is really cheap, original, well-built and people are really nice. I sincerely recommend.
  • 94%
  • 04 Oct 2015 Pauline France
  • What a horrible place. The outside church is great but once you're inside its a let down. It smelled, rooms and bathrooms were very small and cramped. We were kept up all night but a group who were partying, yelling, banging on doors until 2 am with the special touch of a very angry woman screaming at the top of her lungs for them to shut up about every 30 minutes for hours. On a Sunday night and there was no staff to ask them to be quiet? Every sound travels very far. Horrible.
  • 60%
  • 27 Sep 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • Cool building, friendly staff. Just average.
  • 63%
  • 18 Sep 2015 Anonymous Slovenia
  • Being located in a church, you expect an hostel with a nice atmosphere. But it is just average in every sense. Not bad, as you find everything you expect in a hostel (bed, bathroom, kitchen, bar, common room, WIFI) for a reasonable price, but all that is just ok and often simple things are missing, rooms are very tiny, etc. Services that are free in most Hostels I've been so far are charged here: Luggage store costs 1GBP, breakfast costs 1GBP (you find better stuff in the free food).
  • 60%
  • 28 Aug 2015 Bastian Germany
  • Very nice place to stay not too good if your on the bottom bunk due to no head room but the facilities were brilliant due to they had a tv room bar and could play pool as well and the showers were pretty warm so overall really good place to stay
  • 91%
  • 12 Aug 2015 Anonymous England
  • Some would say you get what you paid for, but I disagree. In similarly priced hostels my experience was much better. And no matter the price, there is no reason at all why the staff should be so unfriendly or even rude. They have one gimmick - it's a converted church, which could be a really special experience. But inside it's just another small, not so clean, dilapidating hostel with hideous graffiti, gloomy atmosphere and awkward location, so they don't even use the little potential they have.
  • 31%
  • 01 Aug 2015 Marat Israel
  • Me and my friend have stayed in hostel for a week and it was really super! I would reconmmend it to everyone :)
  • 91%
  • 01 Aug 2015 Anja Slovenia
  • + very friendly staff, warm blankets, the showers were hot,clean & big, good location, old converted church, cool walls of art, big lockers and kitchen, let me print, enough outlets, they also put my bags in storage before check in and let me relax in the commons area. - dirty floors, slow wifi, thin walls, some parts were really cold, my locker was in a different hallway not in the room like most peoples
  • 94%
  • 16 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »