See other Bern properties

Bern Backpackers Hotel&Hostel Glocke

Rathausgasse 75,3007, PO Box 503, Bern, Switzerland, Distance from city centre: 3.8km

Rating: 85% from 15 reviews

  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 81%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 84%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Full marks to location... But facilities are not enough... They don't have proper kitchen with basic food and they charge for internet surfing on desktop and charge heavy city tax providing you free local travel pass which is useless for such a small city...
  • 77%
  • 09 Jun 2015 Anonymous India
  • Excellent location and ok accommodations. The staff was rude - all three women that I interacted with. And my traveling companion and I are naturally polite people. Other guests were also commenting on the staff's tone. However, in honestly I'd still stay here again for the location and just keep as polite as possible to minimize the staff's rudeness.
  • 51%
  • 14 Mar 2015 Kristen USA
  • very expensive. However, very clean, quiet and well located.
  • 71%
  • 05 Mar 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • This place was great. If I were going to Bern I would stay here. The staff are friendly and they are always willing to help. It was all round a great time and I will come back here at some point. It's also close to public transport and luckily Bern isn't massive. Highly recommend this place to anyone.
  • 100%
  • 18 Jan 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • Nice place to stay, staff could be more friendly, wifi totally sucks
  • 83%
  • 22 Dec 2014 Carlos Mexico
  • The location of this hostel was outstanding, right in the old town and walking distance of almost anything you'd want to see in Bern. I don't know if it's all year, but I was also provided a bus pass for the duration of my stay, although I never had any need for the pass given how much I could walk to. While breakfast was not included, there is a bakery just around the corner which sells anything you'd need for breakfast for a very reasonable price.
  • 83%
  • 09 Nov 2014 Eric
  • It has a big room for taking a brake. I liked it
  • 89%
  • 17 Oct 2014 Anonymous Japan
  • I always have a great stay at the Bern Backpackers Hotel. I've been coming to Switzerland for an artist residency for a couple years now and I always stay here. Affordable, right in the center of town and very comfortable. They are great!
  • 100%
  • 15 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The location and cleanliness of the rooms were the standout features for this hostel. It is dead center in the middle of the historic part of town with many restaurants and attraction right out the front door. The only issue was that the staff seemed a little annoyed when I would ask them for help, although they definitely weren't rude.
  • 83%
  • 05 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »