See other Sydney properties

Big Hostel

212 Elizabeth St, Surry Hills, Sydney, Australia, Distance from city centre: 1.5km

Rating: 82% from 14 reviews

  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 77%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very good idea to have a bathroom that's only for girls. However, towel should be included in the price. Poor breakfast.
  • 66%
  • 21 Mar 2016 Pauline France
  • The hostel is in a great location for Sydney. Although not 1 block away from central station like their website states, it is still within reasonable walking distance. The staff at the front desk were rude and did not want to help us plan any tours. There are large cockroaches everywhere. Every time you get in the elevator you will fear for your life because it drops and shakes the moment you step in... Too many people to 1 bathroom. I would invest in staying else where.
  • 57%
  • 18 Mar 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Good size rooms. Clean bathrooms and showers. Water pressure could be better in the showers. Friendly staff. Great location. No animals or insects. Only comment is the AC. If it was off it was like everywhere else, but when on it was freezing. No way to turn up or down, just on or off.
  • 89%
  • 21 Feb 2016 Ragnhild Norway
  • Breakfast included is great! Bathrooms were rather dirty. Staff was overall helpful.
  • 63%
  • 06 Jan 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Quite pricey for a hostel, has squeeky bunks in dorms. There is a large common room/kitchen and rather small rooftop terrace. Facilities are average, location is good but it's quite a walk to the city centre (bus transportation is widely available). Would be good if hostel organized some activities such as trips to beaches or BBQ, folks staying there had to plan Christmas Day activities themselves (I left just before). Good hostels do just a tad more for its guests but it makes a big difference.
  • 71%
  • 21 Dec 2015 Anonymous Czech Republic
  • Great hostel - clean, rooms are spacious, right in the centre of the city.
  • 94%
  • 05 Oct 2015 Jessica Canada
  • I really enjoyed the stay at the hostel. Friendly staff and clean facilities. Only down side would be that the wifi is only available in the lounge.
  • 80%
  • 15 Sep 2015 Robine Switzerland
  • I am very sure I will stay again in Big hostel when I back to sydney . good location, nice people.. so why not? ;)
  • 83%
  • 04 Jul 2015 EUNYOUNG
  • I liked this hostel. We had a bit of a mixup with a tour booking but they tried very hard to make it up for us. Great location, lockers, rooms, and great room with tv & kitchen. Loved that breakfast was provided.
  • 83%
  • 01 Jul 2015 Philippa Canada
  • I felt safe, and well taken care of. The staff was friendly, helpful, and competent.
  • 100%
  • 10 Jun 2015 Cheryl USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

If you're travelling on a budget, staying in hostels can be a lifeline. We've put together a few tips for saving money by cooking up a storm in hostel kitchens!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »