See other Sydney properties

Big Hostel

212 Elizabeth St, Surry Hills, Sydney, Australia, Distance from city centre: 1.5km

Rating: 87% from 15 reviews

  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Breakfast included is great! Bathrooms were rather dirty. Staff was overall helpful.
  • 63%
  • 06 Jan 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Quite pricey for a hostel, has squeeky bunks in dorms. There is a large common room/kitchen and rather small rooftop terrace. Facilities are average, location is good but it's quite a walk to the city centre (bus transportation is widely available). Would be good if hostel organized some activities such as trips to beaches or BBQ, folks staying there had to plan Christmas Day activities themselves (I left just before). Good hostels do just a tad more for its guests but it makes a big difference.
  • 71%
  • 21 Dec 2015 Anonymous Czech Republic
  • Great hostel - clean, rooms are spacious, right in the centre of the city.
  • 94%
  • 05 Oct 2015 Jessica Canada
  • I really enjoyed the stay at the hostel. Friendly staff and clean facilities. Only down side would be that the wifi is only available in the lounge.
  • 80%
  • 15 Sep 2015 Robine Switzerland
  • I am very sure I will stay again in Big hostel when I back to sydney . good location, nice people.. so why not? ;)
  • 83%
  • 04 Jul 2015 EUNYOUNG
  • I liked this hostel. We had a bit of a mixup with a tour booking but they tried very hard to make it up for us. Great location, lockers, rooms, and great room with tv & kitchen. Loved that breakfast was provided.
  • 83%
  • 01 Jul 2015 Philippa Canada
  • I felt safe, and well taken care of. The staff was friendly, helpful, and competent.
  • 100%
  • 10 Jun 2015 Cheryl USA
  • Big Hostel is in a great location. It's an easy walk from Central Station and to the Opera House, Darling Harbour, etc. The staff is A+, the room was clean. I'd definitely stay there again. :)
  • 91%
  • 12 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Kate and Kylie as well as the rest of their staff were amazing. They were always fun, kind, and never tired from my constant questions about how to get around where to find things I needed. The cleaning staff was cleaning cleaning cleaning. One of these two cleanest hostels I have ever stayed in over more than 25 years. People were friendly and fun to be around, shared food and drink with some great people. They kitchen had plenty of refrigerator space and dry storage area very important .
  • 100%
  • 08 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »