See other Stockholm properties

Birka Hostel

Luntmakargatan 14, Stockholm, Sweden, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 80% from 54 reviews

  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 78%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 77%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Everything was great, facilities are new, clean and rooms are equipped with their own toilets. The only thing is : I think there are not enough showers.
  • 89%
  • 10 Aug 2015 Maxime France
  • Top models as a staff, comfortable and beautiful place but too much noisy
  • 86%
  • 06 Aug 2015 Anonymous Mexico
  • Nice hostel but the beds are squeaking and the showers are way too hot.
  • 69%
  • 04 Aug 2015 Tabea Germany
  • Birka Hostel has an excellent location, just a couple of minutes walk to The Dubliner pub, where English-speakers (like me) congregate. The rooms that I saw were very clean and new - all gleaming white paint and nice wooden floors. My single room with en suite was very small, but just big enough to be comfortable. The new shower didn't drain properly, but the staff worked very hard to fix it, and offered me free breakfast for the inconvenience (unfortunately I had already paid for it!)
  • 77%
  • 24 Jul 2015 Nat New Zealand
  • Very basic but clean room. Would stay again if I came back to Stockholm.
  • 71%
  • 11 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • This was my first stay in a hostel and it was perfect. I only wish I had booked two nights in stead of one. I wasn't surprised to find out that there were no free beds. The location is perfect, the building is very pretty, the rooms are nice and cozy and the beds are comfortable. Next time I'm in Stockholm I'm definitely staying there again.
  • 89%
  • 15 Jun 2015 Anonymous Poland
  • Nice Hostel. Good Kitchen. Pasta for free! The only disadvantage are the short opening hours of the luggage room. (07-17)
  • 74%
  • 01 Jun 2015 Richard Germany
  • Not a bad place considering it is Stockholm and money doesn't get much. Needs more bathrooms, and with the amount of guests should have a 24 hour reception.
  • 69%
  • 03 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Not really a hostel athmosphere for meeting other people on their trip. More like a hotel with dorms. But nice to have noodels and some food/drinks for free which is really valuable in Stockholm! One of the cleaniest hostels i've ever been! Staff could be more engaged to create a hostel athmosphere. Were not really helpful if we had questions.
  • 77%
  • 17 Mar 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • The Femaile dorm is very nice and cosy! There's no common room but you can always hang out in the kitchen, there is quite a big dinning room. As for the free tea and coffee, it' there, but I recommend taking your favourite tea and use only the hot water because what they give would wake up a dinosaur... And there's only one cooker so I guess in the summer times it can get quite crowded in the kitchen... Otherwise everything was perfect, location is safe and realy close to the city center!
  • 83%
  • 13 Mar 2015 Anonymous Czech Republic
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »