See other Stockholm properties

Birka Hostel

Luntmakargatan 14, Stockholm, Sweden, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 82% from 34 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very nice hostel in every aspect ... Through the WiFi signal at room 204 is so weak that it is practically useless. And may I suggest that you buy and replace your showerheads in the showers ...it sure Would save you and the environment a log of wasted energy and water ;-)
  • 80%
  • 16 Jan 2015 Jesper Denmark
  • Can I go back? I adored this place. The rooms were well structured and furnished, creating a personable atmosphere. It makes the hostelers interact with each other more. The staff was nice and helpful. The only downfall is the other hostelers that use the kitchen, ie: leaving dirty dishes after using, not cleaning after themselves. The hostel provides you with free coffee/ tea AND pasta, the least you can do is wash your dishes. I still love this place nonetheless.
  • 100%
  • 17 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • A TV in the Rooms would be nice, the installlation of the toilet is not really perfect (nearly no place between WC and washbasin- really bad!!!) and no places to deposit things.
  • 86%
  • 06 Dec 2014 Hinrich Germany
  • The location of Best Hostel City is great: 15 mins walking distance from Central Station, 25 mins walking distance to the old city district, and close to Stockholm's major shopping strip. Rooms and bathrooms were very clean. Cons: lack of community atmosphere and no lockers in rooms. Good hostel if you are staying for a night or two.
  • 74%
  • 13 Nov 2014 Clarissa USA
  • Lovely place, I could easily live there :)
  • 94%
  • 09 Nov 2014 Anonymous Latvia
  • The hostel is sutuated in a good area, not far from the historical centre. The hostel itself is homelike, pleasant to stay in. The staff was very friendly, the people there excellent.
  • 91%
  • 04 Nov 2014 Anonymous Russia
  • Strange that there is no staff there in the night.
  • 94%
  • 18 Oct 2014 Christof Austria
  • I stayed in female dormitories, and everyone respect each other, I felt like I stayed in a private room or more better.
  • 91%
  • 01 Oct 2014 Anonymous Japan
  • That was my first time in a hostel ever and I was positively surprised! The room and the en-suite bathroom were very clean and it had nice furniture. The people were not noisy. The staff was friendly. The location is good. What else you need?! I am definitely going to a hostel again :)
  • 89%
  • 20 Sep 2014 Anonymous Slovenia
  • value for Money pretty good. the bunk beds were squeezing terribly but when people finally were asleep it was ok. location is ok, close to central station but quite far from the rest. staff was helpful. we didn't book the breakfast but it was a lot they have on offer so I think it's worth the money. Would come here again.
  • 66%
  • 26 Mar 2014 Anonymous Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »