See other Stockholm properties

Birka Hostel

Luntmakargatan 14, Stockholm, Sweden, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 80% from 46 reviews

  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 78%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 77%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This was my first stay in a hostel and it was perfect. I only wish I had booked two nights in stead of one. I wasn't surprised to find out that there were no free beds. The location is perfect, the building is very pretty, the rooms are nice and cozy and the beds are comfortable. Next time I'm in Stockholm I'm definitely staying there again.
  • 89%
  • 15 Jun 2015 Anonymous Poland
  • Nice Hostel. Good Kitchen. Pasta for free! The only disadvantage are the short opening hours of the luggage room. (07-17)
  • 74%
  • 01 Jun 2015 Richard Germany
  • Not a bad place considering it is Stockholm and money doesn't get much. Needs more bathrooms, and with the amount of guests should have a 24 hour reception.
  • 69%
  • 03 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Not really a hostel athmosphere for meeting other people on their trip. More like a hotel with dorms. But nice to have noodels and some food/drinks for free which is really valuable in Stockholm! One of the cleaniest hostels i've ever been! Staff could be more engaged to create a hostel athmosphere. Were not really helpful if we had questions.
  • 77%
  • 17 Mar 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • The Femaile dorm is very nice and cosy! There's no common room but you can always hang out in the kitchen, there is quite a big dinning room. As for the free tea and coffee, it' there, but I recommend taking your favourite tea and use only the hot water because what they give would wake up a dinosaur... And there's only one cooker so I guess in the summer times it can get quite crowded in the kitchen... Otherwise everything was perfect, location is safe and realy close to the city center!
  • 83%
  • 13 Mar 2015 Anonymous Czech Republic
  • This is a reasonably priced hostel with good standard of facility, hygeine, and personell standard in the middle of Stocholm City centre. My stay has so far positively surprising and l would like to warmly recommend Birka hostel to anyone who plans to visit Stockholm.
  • 97%
  • 06 Mar 2015 Tony Sweden
  • The hostel was great, friendly, and clean, but the bathroom situation was not great. I was in a room with 14 people and there was one bathroom and one shower to share, which created problems in the morning.
  • 77%
  • 20 Feb 2015 Julia USA
  • The staff is so nice to recommend some attractions to me when I talked to her in the reception. The location of the hostel is amazing and it is just next to the metro station. Moreover, free pasta, tea and coffee are provided in the kitchen area. However, the biggest problem of the hostel is that there are not enough shower rooms and toilets. There are only 1 shower room and 1 toilet on the floor of my room and I have to go down or up-stair to look for another toilet in the morning.
  • 80%
  • 05 Feb 2015 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Great place, perfect for a no fuss traveller
  • 100%
  • 31 Jan 2015 Anonymous India
  • The experience strongly depends on the other guests staying at the same time. I have visited Birka Hostel more than once and my experience went from really good clean and nice all the way to my last stay to not so nice and definitely not so clean. you get what you pay for and for the price you get a room that is relatively close to the city center and sometimes it is exactly what you need.
  • 71%
  • 26 Jan 2015 Anonymous Austria
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »