See other Stockholm properties

Birka Hostel

Luntmakargatan 14, Stockholm, Sweden, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 81% from 39 reviews

  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The hostel was great, friendly, and clean, but the bathroom situation was not great. I was in a room with 14 people and there was one bathroom and one shower to share, which created problems in the morning.
  • 77%
  • 20 Feb 2015 Julia USA
  • The staff is so nice to recommend some attractions to me when I talked to her in the reception. The location of the hostel is amazing and it is just next to the metro station. Moreover, free pasta, tea and coffee are provided in the kitchen area. However, the biggest problem of the hostel is that there are not enough shower rooms and toilets. There are only 1 shower room and 1 toilet on the floor of my room and I have to go down or up-stair to look for another toilet in the morning.
  • 80%
  • 05 Feb 2015 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Great place, perfect for a no fuss traveller
  • 100%
  • 31 Jan 2015 Anonymous India
  • The experience strongly depends on the other guests staying at the same time. I have visited Birka Hostel more than once and my experience went from really good clean and nice all the way to my last stay to not so nice and definitely not so clean. you get what you pay for and for the price you get a room that is relatively close to the city center and sometimes it is exactly what you need.
  • 71%
  • 26 Jan 2015 Anonymous Austria
  • Well, it's clean, the kitchen is adequate, and it's centrally located near a T. Other than that this place pretty much sucks. There is, quite literally, no common area, meaning people are forced to hang out in the dorms (which are cramped), making often it difficult to rest. It's terribly understaffed, leading to nightly confusion with late arrivals, as reception hours end in the early evening. Zero atmosphere. ZERO. There is no reason to stay here unless you're in a pinch.
  • 60%
  • 24 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Very simple hostel without the nice things their pictures show: no PC, no reading or boardgames, no couches or lounge feelings. Works for a couple of days but not cosy or lovely at all. Plus a lot of dirty dishes, dirty tables. Staff alright, but cold and not very friendly.
  • 54%
  • 19 Jan 2015 Ole Germany
  • Very nice hostel in every aspect ... Through the WiFi signal at room 204 is so weak that it is practically useless. And may I suggest that you buy and replace your showerheads in the showers ...it sure Would save you and the environment a log of wasted energy and water ;-)
  • 80%
  • 16 Jan 2015 Jesper Denmark
  • Can I go back? I adored this place. The rooms were well structured and furnished, creating a personable atmosphere. It makes the hostelers interact with each other more. The staff was nice and helpful. The only downfall is the other hostelers that use the kitchen, ie: leaving dirty dishes after using, not cleaning after themselves. The hostel provides you with free coffee/ tea AND pasta, the least you can do is wash your dishes. I still love this place nonetheless.
  • 100%
  • 17 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • A TV in the Rooms would be nice, the installlation of the toilet is not really perfect (nearly no place between WC and washbasin- really bad!!!) and no places to deposit things.
  • 86%
  • 06 Dec 2014 Hinrich Germany
  • The location of Best Hostel City is great: 15 mins walking distance from Central Station, 25 mins walking distance to the old city district, and close to Stockholm's major shopping strip. Rooms and bathrooms were very clean. Cons: lack of community atmosphere and no lockers in rooms. Good hostel if you are staying for a night or two.
  • 74%
  • 13 Nov 2014 Clarissa USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

15 fantastic Irish bars you can party in on St. Patrick's Day

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »