See other Stockholm properties

Birka Hostel

Luntmakargatan 14, Stockholm, Sweden, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 80% from 53 reviews

  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 78%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 76%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This hostel, like everything else in Stockholm, is overpriced. The rooms are cramped, there's one bathroom on each floor (as in, 1 toilet/sink, 1 shower) for everyone not in a private room to share. The kitchen is cramped, and the common room is not somewhere you really want to hang out (fluorescent lights, chairs and tables) aka not great for socializing. The staff was nonexistent. Clean and okay location, that's all this place has going for it.
  • 57%
  • 18 Sep 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Everything was great, facilities are new, clean and rooms are equipped with their own toilets. The only thing is : I think there are not enough showers.
  • 89%
  • 10 Aug 2015 Maxime France
  • Top models as a staff, comfortable and beautiful place but too much noisy
  • 86%
  • 06 Aug 2015 Anonymous Mexico
  • Nice hostel but the beds are squeaking and the showers are way too hot.
  • 69%
  • 04 Aug 2015 Tabea Germany
  • Birka Hostel has an excellent location, just a couple of minutes walk to The Dubliner pub, where English-speakers (like me) congregate. The rooms that I saw were very clean and new - all gleaming white paint and nice wooden floors. My single room with en suite was very small, but just big enough to be comfortable. The new shower didn't drain properly, but the staff worked very hard to fix it, and offered me free breakfast for the inconvenience (unfortunately I had already paid for it!)
  • 77%
  • 24 Jul 2015 Nat New Zealand
  • Recepcionist was very kind with us after having have problems online
  • 80%
  • 17 Jul 2015 Aroa Spain
  • Very basic but clean room. Would stay again if I came back to Stockholm.
  • 71%
  • 11 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • This was my first stay in a hostel and it was perfect. I only wish I had booked two nights in stead of one. I wasn't surprised to find out that there were no free beds. The location is perfect, the building is very pretty, the rooms are nice and cozy and the beds are comfortable. Next time I'm in Stockholm I'm definitely staying there again.
  • 89%
  • 15 Jun 2015 Anonymous Poland
  • Nice Hostel. Good Kitchen. Pasta for free! The only disadvantage are the short opening hours of the luggage room. (07-17)
  • 74%
  • 01 Jun 2015 Richard Germany
  • Not a bad place considering it is Stockholm and money doesn't get much. Needs more bathrooms, and with the amount of guests should have a 24 hour reception.
  • 69%
  • 03 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »