See other Barcelona properties

Black Swan

Ali Bei 15, Barcelona, Spain, Distance from city centre: 1km

Rating: 93% from 18 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 96%Staff
  • 94%Security
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 95%Value for money
  • 91%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The staff friendliness and cleanliness of the Black Swan were outstanding. It is a small number of rooms/beds, which means that it is more on the quiet side (which I liked) than some others.
  • 91%
  • 11 Jul 2016 Michael USA
  • Smaller hostel so it didn't have a cafe or bar/restaurant to help with the atmosphere but they do make up for it by hosting bar crawls every night free of charge. Staff was really nice! Overall good experience.
  • 91%
  • 25 Jun 2016 Kattia USA
  • Black Swan is incredible! Such a great spot for solo backpackers - they have a ton of events every day, from dinners to walking tours to pub crawls, so you get to meet people staying there. The staff is fantastic and the rooms are spacious with comfortable beds. Locations is great as well and close to a lot of great attractions and metro stops to get other places. Loved my stay!
  • 94%
  • 06 Jun 2016 Curry USA
  • This was my first hostel experience and it couldn't have been better. The people were respectful, the staff was helpful with some things we needed help with, and once we got to know the area the location was very convenient.
  • 97%
  • 16 Mar 2016 Anonymous USA
  • This is a great hostel, especially if you want to experience Barcelona's night life. The location is great, just a little walk to the city center or to the Sagrada Familia. The staff were also super helpful with directions and bus information.
  • 97%
  • 13 Mar 2016 Erik
  • Great little hostel, we stayed only 1 night but everything was great, they made a tuna pasta salad for everyone to eat in the evening and a small breakfast in the morning also fresh crépes for 1 euro. Very friendly staff. Would stay again.
  • 97%
  • 17 Feb 2016 Anonymous Germany
  • I was very impressed with the accommodation at this hostel. It provided all of the necessary comforts and allowed the patrons the freedom to participate in more. The dinners were amazing (thanks Bobby!) and brought people together in a way that wasn't focused on drinking. But if you wanted to drink the Pub Crawls were also fantastic! The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful to whatever aspirations one had while in Barcelona - such as going off the beaten path to explore the nature.
  • 97%
  • 09 Feb 2016 Naomi USA
  • Great atmosphere here, staff are really friendly and happy to help you with anything you need. Having dinner provided was an added bonus, always a treat for a hungry traveller!
  • 97%
  • 20 Jan 2016 Virginia New Zealand
  • I love this hostel! I came to stay for 3 days, and ended up staying over a month. The staff is amazing, location is perfect. 3 minute walk from Parc de la Ciutadella, 3 minute walk from the metro. Close to La Rambla, you can get everywhere from here. Great, upbeat ambiance (which makes meeting others very easy),and awesome cooks for the hostel dinners. By far my favorite hostel I've ever stayed in.
  • 100%
  • 10 Dec 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I have stayed here for one night and the facility was quite clean and the bed was comfortable. Also, the staffs are quite friendly and helpful.
  • 91%
  • 28 Nov 2015 Anonymous Netherlands
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

With the sun shining 80% of the time, Miami is the hot spot to go if you want a tropical getaway. It gets over 3,200 hours of sunshine a year, making it one of the top places to...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »