See other Shanghai properties

Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel

6F, 350 South Shanxi Road, Shanghai, China, Distance from city centre: 1.8km

Rating: 89% from 28 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 94%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 92%Value for money
  • 84%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • good value for money, helpful staff, we slept right next to the showers and toilets in a budget room and unlike the australian who commented previously, myself australian and my partner chinese found no problems or excess noise there. It is in a fantastic location right near the metro and transport and cheap eating cafes and old school local life at night. It is close to the expensive and the cheap, the new and the old.
  • 89%
  • 12 Jun 2014 john Australia
  • The staff were very nice, better off in this pleasant journey in Shanghai.
  • 94%
  • 23 Apr 2014 Shu Kei William China
  • Fantastic location and good price for the facilities offered. Lots of clean bathrooms and showers, along with a well outfitted games lounge, restaurant/bar, and patio. Very friendly and helpful staff.
  • 91%
  • 30 Mar 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • We had a really nice stay, the location is great and the staff is very helpful and nice. We would definitely come back and also recommend it to others. We had a private room with a balcony with a nice view overlooking the wusong river.
  • 100%
  • 20 Mar 2014 Anonymous Denmark
  • The staff was friendly and spoke relatively good English. Bar is a little expensive but there is a 24hr convenient store across the street with cheap everything. The room was clean, a little narrow and small but it did the trick for a place to sleep and its hard to beat the price. The only negative thing is seasonal which was the open area with the pool tables/couches and lounge area was literally open to the outside so on a cold night, its not the best because it can literally be -10 out there.
  • 94%
  • 07 Feb 2014 Jacob Canada
  • Pros of this hostel: * Staff is responsive to guest needs (so, if you have a problem, let them know). * Hostel is clean. * Hostel has an excellent location (it's close to the Bund and to the nearest subway station). * Most of the staff speaks good English. Cons of this hotel: * Elevator sometimes takes a couple of minutes to get to hostel. * Bottled water in hostel is overpriced. (But, there is a grocery store nearby, with much cheaper water.) I would stay there again, if I were in Shanghai.
  • 91%
  • 19 Jan 2014 Matt USA
  • The staff at the front desk is very good and polite. I recomend this hostel.
  • 100%
  • 03 Jan 2014 Maxime France
  • Really great value for money. We booked this place last minute for a 14hr stopover in Shanghai overnight and it surpassed all our expectations. For how cheap this place is its very close to public transport and nightlife and shopping districts. Although the area seems a little seedy the security is excellent, its upstairs and there is always staff on call. The rooms were roomy and the free wi-fi was a bonus. The staff were excellent, they spoke great English were incredibly helpful.
  • 89%
  • 02 Jan 2014 Justin Australia
  • Stayed here twice, once in the twin room/shared bathroom and once in the twin room/ensuite. The twin room with no bathroom was awful, it was right next to the bathroom which meant I got no sleep the whole time as there were constantly people walking past and Chinese people loudly spitting up phlegm into the sinks. The room was tiny and the shared showers were disgusting with no dry area to get changed. The twin room/ensuite was quieter, but when showering the entire ensuite got soaking wet.
  • 57%
  • 14 Dec 2013 Jessica Australia
  • It was a very pleasant stay and would love to recommend it to others.
  • 83%
  • 09 Dec 2013 VINEET India
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »