See other Shanghai properties

Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel

6F, 350 South Shanxi Road, Shanghai, China, Distance from city centre: 1.8km

Rating: 88% from 21 reviews

  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 89%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • No wifi in the rooms? Charge for slippers and every amenity imaginable? The place seems overpriced to me, especially considering there are many other hostels around Shanghai.
  • 89%
  • 17 Dec 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • I really like that place, the atmosphere was charming. Very clean. The place is in the whole center so is easy to go anywhere. Stuff very nice :)
  • 86%
  • 26 Nov 2015 Irene Spain
  • I think the hostel can work to provide better Wifi coverage. Most of the time, the wifi is not working or connecting well. Cant even load a page smoothly and the coverage at the room is even worst. If wifi can be fix, it will surely provide a better hostel stay enjoyment. I wonder if the airconditioner temperature can be adjusted as i was having a hard time sleeping at 27 Celcius which is quite hot and not cold enough for the room. I wasnt able to adjust it during my stay.
  • 83%
  • 28 Sep 2015 Anonymous Malaysia
  • Great location and facilities. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The rooftop is perfect.
  • 100%
  • 30 Jul 2015 Kevin USA
  • We stayed in a delux private double and it was great. Nice and clean, comfortable and had a balcony area. The staff were very helpful and it had a good communal area. The toilet and shine facilities for everyone to use were the cleanest I have seen in China, I would stay here again!
  • 83%
  • 08 Jun 2015 Aaron England
  • Everything was great with the hostel, althought the wifi connection was quite weak. Even if the goal of the stay is to enjoy the city, it would be great to improve the internet connection in order to send emails
  • 97%
  • 22 May 2015 Sarah-Audrey Canada
  • when you think about dream hostel - this is perfect place for you to stay. Excellent location, next to the main Shanghai shopping street, but in a quiet area. Great atmosphere, supported by friendly Staff. A lot of amendities, such as laundry, bar, wi-fi etc. Even if we had a no-window room, I do recommend Blue Mountain Hostel!
  • 91%
  • 12 Apr 2015 PATRYCJA Poland
  • The staff was very helpful, the rooms were good (though one of the windows wouldn't completely shut, so the room got pretty cold), and the location is central, a few minutes from East Nanjing Road and the Bund. The overall set-up is also well thought out, with an outdoor deck and eating or lounging area to complement the indoor common space. I was glad that I booked this hostel and plan to stay there again.
  • 94%
  • 10 Feb 2015 David USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »