See other Shanghai properties

Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel

6F, 350 South Shanxi Road, Shanghai, China, Distance from city centre: 1.8km

Rating: 85% from 37 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • People shower late at night and early in the morning. If you are sensitive to noise, be sure to ask for a room away from there. But then you'll have a long walk yourself. Would recommend the staff to clean the bathroom more regularly since they're being used so heavily. Particularly in the evening!!!
  • 77%
  • 24 Jan 2015 Anonymous Denmark
  • The hostel was brilliant. Staff were very helpful too and the rooms were comfy. Toilets and showers were clean and worked well. really enjoyed my stay and would definitely come back!
  • 94%
  • 14 Jan 2015 Tara England
  • Facilities are top notch. Staff are responsive but definitely do not go out of their way to help. They act more like just working a job rather than hospitable hosts, which to be fair is not uncommon at large hostels. Depends on the traveler's preference I suppose. Laundry service is too expensive. Otherwise everything else about the hostel is top notch.
  • 89%
  • 13 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Location was great; 300m from a major subway stop, maybe a mile to the Bund. The staff was courteous. I could use the internet; get a lock for my stuff; and leave my luggage. They have western-style toilets with toilet paper, hot water shower, drinking-water (hot/cold) dispenser, and a coin-operated (10Y at-a-time) washer-dryer on-site.
  • 86%
  • 11 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • So good I came back a week later! Initially stayed in a dorm room on a last minute weekend in Shanghai. Although used simply as somewhere to sleep for 8 hours, dorm was quiet and comfortable, location perfect, and price irresistible. So good I was prompted to return with a friend a week later, this time in a private room, which also exceeded expectations. Staff polite, helpful and friendly. Coffee drinkable. No complaints.
  • 100%
  • 06 Jan 2015 Giles England
  • Die schlechteste hotel erfahrung die ich jemals hatte! Geht auf keinen fall hin: es ist ganz schmutzig, freche mitarbeiter, keine wertvolle leistung. Es gab jede nacht probleme da. Niemals werde ich hin an diese hotel zurueck gehen!
  • 20%
  • 02 Jan 2015 Atieh Iran
  • Staffs are very friendly and keen to help their patrons. There are many restaurants, supermarket, shops for the budget traveler. Location is good, easy to walk to the tube station, People's square, State Museum, Bund are in walking distance.
  • 77%
  • 27 Nov 2014 Anonymous Japan
  • Everything is perfect! Location, Transportation, facilities, and Excellent bed sheet! Nice feel bed! Best hostel in shanghai!
  • 94%
  • 23 Nov 2014 Jeong Mee South Korea
  • For me the best hostel in Shanghai
  • 86%
  • 06 Sep 2014 Anonymous Spain
  • here is very good to stay, see you next time!
  • 97%
  • 18 Aug 2014 Chu Macau
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »