See other Sydney properties

Blue Parrot Backpackers

87 Macleay Street, Potts Point, Sydney, Australia, Distance from city centre: 1.7km

Rating: 84% from 10 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Smaller dorms were very crowded, but larger dorms more comfortable. Crowded kitchen and a party atmosphere, but free wifi a nice patio area and walking distance to botanical gardens/Sydney harbour.
    Owner Comment

    Hello Amber, thanks for the review- we’re happy to hear you enjoyed the convenient location of the hostel, our nice courtyard area and free wifi! You stayed in a larger dorm for your entire stay so we’re confused why you would comment that the smaller dorms are ‘crowded’ since you never actually stayed in one? As a guide- the smaller dorms have more space for less amount people. Wishing you safe travels, Blue Parrot Team

  • 66%
  • 09 Feb 2014 Amber USA
  • great atmosphere
  • 83%
  • 26 Nov 2013 Michael USA
  • I loved staying at the Blue Parrot! The staff was fantastic! Sasha, in particular, seemed to always be there and happy to help with any questions. There is a great common room to watch movies or play video games. I truly enjoyed the walk through the Royal Botanic Garden every day to get into Sydney! I had a great stay and would definitely stay at Blue Parrot again!!
  • 94%
  • 25 Nov 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Great place to stay, staff was really warm and helpful, met heaps of good people. The location is nice if you want to go out in King's Cross but it's not close if you mostly want to hang out in Newtown. Close to the Opera House though, which is nice. My only real complaint is that it's a bit pricey if you plan to stay awhile, if you're just in Sydney for a week or less, this is the place to stay!
    Owner Comment

    Thanks! We're glad you had a great time & loved the staff & location! With regards to price we actually have an in-house winter weekly rate - pay for 6 nights & get the 7th night for free! It's also important to take into account that we have free internet which can add up if you're paying. Most hostels charge around $5 p/h for internet so if you plan to be online researching your trip, booking flights or searching for work or apartments it can actually work out cheaper to stay here :-)

  • 86%
  • 19 Jun 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Close to just about anything, buses, trains, convenience store, resturants. Clean rooms and very friendly staff.
  • 86%
  • 17 Apr 2013 Matilda Sweden
  • Great location and great staff, especially the 2 ladies very very helpful.
  • 94%
  • 17 Apr 2013 Anonymous Philippines
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »