See other Amsterdam properties

Bob's Youth Hostel

Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, 1012SG, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.3km

Rating: 64% from 35 reviews

  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 63%Staff
  • 63%Security
  • 54%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 60%Value for money
  • 57%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I was expecting something like this according to the price, but after my checkout I asked for leaving my bags and the answer was... there is a room there but we are not responsible for this, you can leave it if you want... I think this is also customer service and even if is cheap is not the way to answer a request of your clients
  • 54%
  • 29 Jun 2016 David Leonardo Colombia
  • bad experience at Bob's youth hostel, but it was the cheapest option at that time. You get what you paid for on the hostel level, bed okay, linens included. However, wifi not so good, cleanliness quite bad, employees are very bad, one seems always pissed off and it was difficult to aske for water. The welcoming in the hostel was not so good, they don
  • 49%
  • 02 Jun 2016 Anonymous Canada
  • It was the worst hostel i have ever stayed.I stayed for three days and nobody clean the shower and toilets and they were very very very dirty.Toilets door was broken, everything was bad and dirty.Only good thing is the location, notting more.
  • 43%
  • 28 May 2016 Anonymous Turkey
  • Everything was perfect until we met this bald-headed staff. He had a very annoying behaviour. All other staff was nice. The location of the hostel was perfect.
  • 71%
  • 23 Apr 2016 Anonymous India
  • it was very dirty, thus we didnt use the toilet the entire week there because they didnt clean it once.also i had blood and sweatstains on my sheets and the bunkbeds where very fragile. other then that the staff was friendly when we checked in but they where out of locker keys so we had to hide our luggage under the bed, Out roomies where super friendly tho and the location was perfect.
  • 49%
  • 04 Apr 2016 tatjana Germany
  • It was really good. For that price hostel is clean ,we didnt have any problems except we were on 4th floor so we had to pull our luggage there but a receptionist helped us :) great location,5mins from central station :)
  • 69%
  • 01 Mar 2016 Anonymous Montenegro
  • Les chambres pas mal dans l'ensemble, mais ils ne nettoient jamais c'est hyper sale, sous les lit il y a de la poussière accumulée depuis des années, la femme de chambre ne nettoie rien, je suis resté une semaine et ils n'ont pas nettoyé une seule fois, les toilettes puait tellement que c'était presque impossible de les utiliser. Et un du personnel est trop antipathique, il est horrible, on avait presque envie de repartir quand il nous a reçu. Aucun respect !
  • 89%
  • 30 Dec 2015 Kelvyn Dominican Republic
  • Overall a positive experience, thanks to the very friendly and helpful staff. It would be nice to have some anti-bac in the bathrooms, since there are no sinks there. Also, soap in the shower room would be nice.
  • 71%
  • 02 Oct 2015 Anonymous Norway
  • Dangerous place ! I was attacked in my room by a guy i did not know coming in from the street ! No provocation at all from my side. I consider myself an experienced traveler, including third world countries, but I've never experienced anything remotely crazy as this. To think that the only reason for it was that i looked out from my room window at the wrong time, makes it even more scary, because if it happened to me it can literally happen to anyone. You can read more on the tripadvisor page.
  • 54%
  • 25 Aug 2015 Nir Poland
  • I didn't like bobs youth hostel. had a big bag with me so I had already decided from the start to put it in a locker but unfortunately they didn't sell padlocks. I find this weird because they probably get this question like, at least two times per day. Why not make the effort and actually sell some yourself? 2nd problem was checking out. My plane was leaving 7 am so had to be there at like 5.30 am. Asked for an early checkout at 4.30 and they refused. They were so rude to me. Don't stay here.
  • 49%
  • 12 Aug 2015 Anonymous Norway
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

With the sun shining 80% of the time, Miami is the hot spot to go if you want a tropical getaway. It gets over 3,200 hours of sunshine a year, making it one of the top places to...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »