See other Amsterdam properties

Bob's Youth Hostel

Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 92, 1012SG, Amsterdam, Netherlands, Distance from city centre: 0.3km

Rating: 62% from 39 reviews

  • 57%Atmosphere
  • 60%Staff
  • 66%Security
  • 52%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 62%Value for money
  • 51%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Guys please note down the check in time before signing in..it is 2.00 PM and the person at the counter can make it 2.30 PM. They also have a separate hostels near the Doors Cafe .The hostel is situated near the red light area.
  • 66%
  • 28 Jun 2015 Anonymous India
  • in the 16 beds room there are only 2 sockets for charging mobiles.
  • 71%
  • 12 Jun 2015 Dragan Serbia
  • The hostel is ok. The breakfast was not really good and the wifi didnt work around my bed. But was cheap and really close to the central station.
  • 71%
  • 08 Jun 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • In terms of location bobs is perfect. But ONLY in terms of location. For 7 of us we paid about £150 euros each for 5 days and the hostel was absolutely disgusting. We had to get upgraded because the first room we were put in had mould all over walls and a strong smell of i dont know what. The second room had leaks and a broken bed and years worth of ex travellers mess behind the radiators/under beds. Bathroom minging to a point me and my friend had to scrub it down with bleach to feel safe
  • 46%
  • 26 Mar 2015 Ellissa England
  • Do not stay at Bobs. The structure itself was so old and worn down and just gross looking. The rooms were so filthy with black mold on the walls and curtains and mystery substances on the ceiling. We heard another group of people staying there that they found a mouse in their room one night. The bathrooms were very strange with the only sink and mirror located inside the walk in shower room... the stairs were dangerous and there was an unbearable smell in the bathroom
  • 34%
  • 27 Feb 2015 Samantha USA
  • No kitchen
  • 49%
  • 12 Feb 2015 darshan New Zealand
  • Awesome staff, all very helpful land laid back. It would be good if there were private lockers for baggage before check in is possible
  • 89%
  • 30 Jan 2015 Anonymous New Zealand
  • One of the cheapest /best options I found , very central and clean for a budget hostel, I'll be back :)
  • 77%
  • 30 Jan 2015 Silvio
  • Very nice place to stay.
  • 97%
  • 11 Jan 2015 Anonymous Argentina
  • Bob's youth hostel is not a place to meet people, it's not a place where you can hang out and the fact that they call it smoking friendly is arguable because you can only smoke when the person at the reception doesn't mind. The location is quite good, it is close to coffee shops restaurants and department stores. But there's better places with cheaper prices here in Amsterdam
  • 46%
  • 21 Dec 2014 Anonymous India
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »