See other Rio de Janeiro properties

Books Hostel

Rua Francisco Muratori, 10, Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, Distance from city centre: 5.4km

Rating: 87% from 14 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 92%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very nice place to stay. It´s easy to find. It´s very well located: just in the middle of the fun of Lapa, and just a quick walk from the city centre. Just one block from Avenida Riachuelo and two form Mem de Sá Av. There you can catch every bus to almost entire Rio de Janeiro city. You have lockers to keep things, and some beds have their own compartiment to keep your things safe. Breadfast (café da manhã) it is very nice: milk, tea, coffe, bread, marmalades, fruit. Bathrooms are always cleaned
  • 80%
  • 27 Sep 2014 Cristóbal Uruguay
  • If you want to party, this is the place. Had the BEST time possible in Brazil, meet some amazing people and the staff are all keen to party with you & show you around. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!
  • 100%
  • 08 Sep 2014 James Australia
  • Thanks guys-especially the Captain. It was an experience of a lifetime. - Rob
  • 94%
  • 09 Aug 2014 Robert USA
  • This place is in a great spot, has excellent staff and a owner who is more concerned about your experience of Rio than just making money. Would definitely recommend to travellers who like a drink and socialising with others.
  • 91%
  • 17 Feb 2014 Byron England
  • Books is the best! And in such a great location, Lapa is always full of things to do at night with much less tourists so you get to experience the culture! I had an amazing time and will definitely return to Books in the future.
  • 100%
  • 14 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The only problem I found was the lack of water some times... except for that, everything was ok.
  • 83%
  • 12 Jan 2014 LEONARDO Brazil
  • My friends and I really enjoyed Books, but the lack of bathrooms and the room without Air Conditioner was a big disappointment, one night a friend slept at the floor of another room because ours was so hot that it was impossible to sleep, when we arrived they told us that we could let the door of our room open so the air of another room (this one with Air conditioner) could enter in ours and refresh us, but this didn't work out and we lost all the privace of our room.
  • 77%
  • 09 Jan 2014 Dellius Brazil
  • We arrived late at night to the hostel. felipe showed up and asked what we needed. We ended up with a beer and 100 bucks to go out for the night. loved the people staying there Nd the people that worked there. would definitely go back if i ever find myself in rio again.
  • 94%
  • 24 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Loved it, great staff, great atmosphere, tons of fun. Never a dull moment it books, or in Lapa!
  • 97%
  • 21 Nov 2013 timothy Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

No need to wait until the summer to take a holiday. Avoid the crowds and sweltering temperatures by choosing a trip in the winter months. Although you might have to pack some warmer clothes, there's a handful of benefits for traveling at this time: you'll either be rewarded with lower prices, clearer skies or festive entertainment.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »