See other Auckland properties

Borders Beyond

8 Nixon St Ponsonby Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand, Distance from city centre: 2km

Rating: 60% from 3 reviews

  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 60%Staff
  • 66%Security
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 66%Location
  • 53%Value for money
  • 53%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Paid for 7 days of Wifi had a total of 1-2 days of Wifi until it broke down. Didn't got any money back because there was an alternative ''Wifi'' with 20kb upload and 20kb download speed, for those who don't have an idea how fast this is, let me explain: I couldn't even recieve E-mails nor log into my online accounts of several sites like trademe or gumtree because it timed out. Hot shower is 50ct for 6 min whitch is okay but not very well.
  • 49%
  • 27 Aug 2014 Max Germany
  • This hostel is in a terrible location and has no atmosphere. The managers use backpackers strapped for cash to run and clean the place which is extremely unprofessional. After paying $60 for our room we were informed that the showers run with coins and that it costs $0.50 for five minutes of hot water. The sheets on our bed were dirty and had obviously not been changed since the last guests. The bedroom walls are paper thin the lights in the hall were out and overall our experience was horrible.
    Owner Comment

    Sorry to hear about your experience. Your comment about the workers is inaccurate and offensive towards them. the 50cts shower is mentioned in the description of all booking websites, it is for 6mn and the 1st one is given (and you stayed 1 night ) . Our linen is changed after each guest, if it was not to your liking the managers are here to help you and find a solution. But you never went to them during your 1 night stay.

  • 37%
  • 06 May 2013 Ariane Canada
  • Great hostel, we booked a couple days to start and have nearly been here a month now. Small hostel with a chilled out atmosphere and a lot of really nice backpackers. Even though there were quite a few long term people they were very welcoming to us when the minute we arrived. Would defiantly recommend this hostel close to the city if ur looking for a job and always something going on, on the weekend. Close to all the bus stops as well.
    Owner Comment

    thank you!

  • 94%
  • 24 Apr 2013 Anonymous Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One of the most enjoyable aspects of travel is that of exploring different landscapes and experiencing sights and sounds that seem a world away from what you're used to back at home. There are so many diverse terrains across the world, from dramatic, desolate mountain vistas to impossibly bustling market streets; and many countries can offer a variety of spectacular sights with astonishing diversity. Here are just five of our favourite views from across the globe.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »