See other Puno properties

Bothy Backpaker Hostel

Giron Iquitos 136, Getting there: Iquitos with Pardo St, Puno, Peru, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 71% from 12 reviews

  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 73%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 73%Location
  • 71%Value for money
  • 68%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • There are not many options in Puno so I dont know if you can find anything better. When I was in the hostel it was very cold. Windows have holes and the indoor temperature is the same as outdoor. Showers are outside so when you finish taking a shower you are basically outside at 12 degrees temperature. The staff looks sleepy all the time. Breakfast is ok. Wifi is pretty good. Beds are good and warm.
  • 49%
  • 06 Jan 2014 Anonymous Russia
  • In Bothy Hostel the staff here is super friendly and helped us plan all of our trips on Lake Titicaca all is cheap. The breakfast is basic, but good and there is a kitchen with everything you could need. nice terrace and hammocks, social area to meet people. We would also definitely recommend booking the tours through the hostel. Great quality!
  • 94%
  • 17 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Bothy its good, the staff here is super nice and helped us plan all of our trips on Lake Titicaca ALL IS CHEAP. Good Matress to sleep. Hot water in the shower. Clean bathroom. The breakfast is fine and there is a kitchen with everything you could need. nice terrace and hammocks, social area to meet people. I really enjoyed my stay.
  • 97%
  • 16 Dec 2013 albertino Italy
  • Very good internet, which is not a standard in Peru. Good breakfast with cake, nice staff and good location close to the main shopping street, but a bit further from the lake. The showers were outside, and the water was not warm all the time.
  • 77%
  • 09 Sep 2013 Philip Germany
  • Didn't stay too long, but the hostal was okay.
  • 69%
  • 09 Aug 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Very basic hostel, nothing special ... good for one night sleep but not more. Location is average: not too far from the center but still a 5 mins walk through dark, not very safe streets ...
  • 63%
  • 25 Jul 2013 Anonymous France
  • I had to cancel my reservation because I had to return to my country after having an accident in my bus from La Paz to Copacabana. I sent a thousand emails explaining my situation and asking to calcel my reservation but they did`t answer me and charged me in my credit card!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • 20%
  • 20 Jul 2013 Thais Brazil
  • Staff very nice. Good breakfast and good bed. Very good time in it hostel
  • 91%
  • 26 Jun 2013 Valentin France
  • One of the best hostels we stayed during 5 months in South America! The staff were the friendliest ever and even though our bank card couldnt withdraw money for 3 days they let us go on the 2 day tour to the floating islands and stay two nights before we had paid a penny!! Such kind staff! Great pancakes for beakfast and a real local hostel in Puno! Good hot showers too! Thanks to the lovely ladies that allowed us to enjoy Puno without money! Muchas gracias por todo ! Bothy staff Increible!
  • 100%
  • 11 May 2013 Anonymous England
  • Nice small hostel, decent location and a staff that makes an effort. Breakfast above average. Ok for meeting other travelers.
  • 86%
  • 10 May 2013 Anonymous Sweden
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »