See other Cork properties

Bru Bar & Hostel

57 MacCurtain Street, Cork City, Cork, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 2.1km

Rating: 84% from 20 reviews

  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 82%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Staff really didn't have time to help answer questions over all as they were overwhelmed-but the person who checked me in was great. Room was clean and the hostel is close to everything including the train station. Noise wasn't an issue. Lack of WiFi was one. No WiFi in the room itself. Downstairs, I couldn't get it to work and after asking tons of questions, no one would help. Cleaning staff were nice.
  • 80%
  • 11 Jul 2015 Jennifer USA
  • Very impressed. This is a great place!!! 4 bedroom hostel with a bathroom/shower! Common / kitchen areas are huge! Bar is HAPPENING! Great experience!
  • 91%
  • 10 Jul 2015 Michael USA
  • A nice kitchen and common area to watch TV and relax. Dorm rooms are very small and cramped.
  • 63%
  • 25 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The staff was so helpful and accomadating and the atmosphere was so fun. Loved staying here !
  • 89%
  • 24 Jun 2015 Kristen USA
  • The hostel is located above a bar, on a main street, across the river from the main tourist attractions. Those are about a ten - twenty minute walk away. The bar is a good place to hang out; the evening I was there they were having an open mike night. Internet access worked well, 5 euros per day. Parking is not provided, but there were spots available on the next block. Although it may seem odd to walk through a bar - certainly was to me - I recommend this hostel without any concerns at all.
  • 91%
  • 11 May 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • VERY LOUD with the bar downstairs.
  • 69%
  • 11 May 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • the staff were lovely people
  • 100%
  • 24 Apr 2015 Patricia France
  • We stayed for just one night but everything was good. Clean, with a good big kitchen. The staff are really friendly and honest. We forgot some personal belongings on the room and they called us to let us know, keeping it safe until we were able to comeback and pick them up.
  • 89%
  • 13 Oct 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Not too far from anything. Having a bar downstairs was great for meeting other travellers staying at the hostel.
  • 100%
  • 07 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »