See other Cork properties

Bru Bar & Hostel

57 MacCurtain Street, Cork City, Cork, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 2.1km

Rating: 82% from 25 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 77%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • If your over 30 think again about staying here. Young ones today are so self absorbed.....have no idea how to cope when others get up at a normal hour of 7 ish.. But hey when it takes them 2 hours from 8 till 10pm to get ready and corner the bathroom that entire time well sorry for your luck then . The common room needs a ceiling fan omg stuffy
  • 63%
  • 30 Sep 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • When my boyfriend and I arrived at this hostel he, for the first time, said "Nice job picking a hostel!" After I booked it I realized that it was above a bar and worried for a moment. After we arrived and went to our rooms, however, we found out that the bedrooms are so high up and the floors so good at keeping out sound that it was one of the more quiet hostels that we'd seen so far. The rooms are small, but the beds are cozy. We enjoyed our stay at this hostel immensely.
  • 97%
  • 23 Sep 2015 Melanie Canada
  • Very good location and staff. Wonderful atmosphere. Only thing lacking is the terrible wifi.
  • 94%
  • 10 Sep 2015 Anonymous USA
  • own bathroom in the room, wi-fi only in the kitchen
  • 83%
  • 02 Sep 2015 Katharina Austria
  • Good place to stay but some improvement about the breakfast would be appreciable, also about the space to seat during the breakfast time...
  • 86%
  • 28 Aug 2015 Anonymous
  • Too expensive for what they offer. I've travelled all around Europe and stay always in hostels and this is one of the worsts I've been. Really expensive for a little room with a terrible bathroom not really clean and a extremely dirty kitchen. Also you can't check in until 13 pm which is absurd in a hostel. Not staying here again.
  • 51%
  • 20 Aug 2015 Anonymous Spain
  • Staff really didn't have time to help answer questions over all as they were overwhelmed-but the person who checked me in was great. Room was clean and the hostel is close to everything including the train station. Noise wasn't an issue. Lack of WiFi was one. No WiFi in the room itself. Downstairs, I couldn't get it to work and after asking tons of questions, no one would help. Cleaning staff were nice.
  • 80%
  • 11 Jul 2015 Jennifer USA
  • Very impressed. This is a great place!!! 4 bedroom hostel with a bathroom/shower! Common / kitchen areas are huge! Bar is HAPPENING! Great experience!
  • 91%
  • 10 Jul 2015 Michael USA
  • A nice kitchen and common area to watch TV and relax. Dorm rooms are very small and cramped.
  • 63%
  • 25 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The staff was so helpful and accomadating and the atmosphere was so fun. Loved staying here !
  • 89%
  • 24 Jun 2015 Kristen USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »