See other Cork properties

Bru Bar & Hostel

57 MacCurtain Street, Cork City, Cork, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 2.1km

Rating: 82% from 14 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 82%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 75%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Remember their is a social room in the innermost place of the hostel. There will be seasoning in the public kitchen!!
  • 83%
  • 01 Jan 2014 kaiwen China
  • There were a couple of men who were hanging around and were making some of the patrons uncomfortable.
  • 80%
  • 24 Nov 2013 Anonymous USA
  • The 6people-room is really small and so uncorfortable for the lugagges and people moving inside it. The shower, we have, seems to have a common water tank which is really slow reacharging. So be carefull if you want to use the WC and take a shower in a row.. :S
  • 63%
  • 04 Sep 2013 Iria Zeltia Spain
  • Great location. Staff was quite nice and it was fun to have the bar right downstairs with live music every night. My only complaint is the showers/sinks run out of water easily, so sometimes you're stuck waiting for the water tanks to refill.
  • 83%
  • 01 Sep 2013 Elyse Canada
  • Everything about this hostel was pretty much just okay, except the location, which was slightly less than okay. Not a very pretty area, though it is within reasonable walking distance to the bus station. Frankly, Cork itself was a bit of a disappointment, other than Blarney Castle and its grounds, which was wonderful. This hostel was adequate, the staff was nice enough, but I certainly would not go out of my way to stay there again.
  • 66%
  • 21 Jul 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Nice place, really nice bar downstairs. Staff was really helpful. Beds were great.
  • 97%
  • 26 May 2013 Anonymous Netherlands
  • The hostel was full and we had booked a room for three which turned out to be just a bit too small, given we were a married couple (60s)and a single man (60s. Having been told there were no dorm beds anywhere, after a while the great guy in reception (evening of 18th May- whose name I knew but have forgotten) found me a room usually reserved for staff- absolutely brilliant service- made our stay, which was sadly only for one night, but if in Cork again I'd definitely stay here. Many thanks
  • 100%
  • 18 May 2013 Anonymous England
  • This hostel has a busy bar downstairs and often has live musicians playing. If you are looking to party the night its a good place to stay. Immediately outside on McCurtain street you have plenty of bars, restaurants an entertainment complex and a theater building. There are plenty of entertainment options withing a 5 - 10 min walk. The hostel usually has a guest beer on tap too and is one of the less expensive places in city center to get a pint of beer/stout etc
  • 83%
  • 26 Apr 2013 Anonymous Ireland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »