See other Cork properties

Bru Bar & Hostel

57 MacCurtain Street, Cork City, Cork, Ireland, Distance from city centre: 2.1km

Rating: 82% from 23 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 75%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Even though my fiancé and I stayed only one evening, we really enjoyed ourselves! It's smack in the middle of town, and only 5 or so minute walks from the Kent train station and bus station. The receptionist was wet kind and answered any questions we had about touring the city. We booked a 6 person mixed room, which was small, but each bed had 2 large luggage baskets underneath that could fit one hiking backpack in each easily. You must remember to bring your own padlock, though! Overall, great!
  • 91%
  • 19 May 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Room temperature was perfect. Bar is cool. Wifi was the best I have had at any hotel I have stayed at, including 5 star hotels in Dubai and the Far East.
  • 91%
  • 31 Mar 2016 Anonymous Scotland
  • Very friendly staff, facilities in hostel are very easy to find, room was very clean and roommates were very considerate to all and makes you feel welcome. Local bands playing and the atmosphere feels relaxed and refreshing. Will stay again in future
  • 100%
  • 16 Jan 2016 Jessica
  • The private room is quite small
  • 77%
  • 02 Jan 2016 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • If your over 30 think again about staying here. Young ones today are so self absorbed.....have no idea how to cope when others get up at a normal hour of 7 ish.. But hey when it takes them 2 hours from 8 till 10pm to get ready and corner the bathroom that entire time well sorry for your luck then . The common room needs a ceiling fan omg stuffy
  • 63%
  • 30 Sep 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • When my boyfriend and I arrived at this hostel he, for the first time, said "Nice job picking a hostel!" After I booked it I realized that it was above a bar and worried for a moment. After we arrived and went to our rooms, however, we found out that the bedrooms are so high up and the floors so good at keeping out sound that it was one of the more quiet hostels that we'd seen so far. The rooms are small, but the beds are cozy. We enjoyed our stay at this hostel immensely.
  • 97%
  • 23 Sep 2015 Melanie Canada
  • Very good location and staff. Wonderful atmosphere. Only thing lacking is the terrible wifi.
  • 94%
  • 10 Sep 2015 Anonymous USA
  • own bathroom in the room, wi-fi only in the kitchen
  • 83%
  • 02 Sep 2015 Katharina Austria
  • Good place to stay but some improvement about the breakfast would be appreciable, also about the space to seat during the breakfast time...
  • 86%
  • 28 Aug 2015 Anonymous
  • Too expensive for what they offer. I've travelled all around Europe and stay always in hostels and this is one of the worsts I've been. Really expensive for a little room with a terrible bathroom not really clean and a extremely dirty kitchen. Also you can't check in until 13 pm which is absurd in a hostel. Not staying here again.
  • 51%
  • 20 Aug 2015 Anonymous Spain
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

During the summer the city of Dublin becomes a different place. Gone are the endless days of wind and rain as the warm weather brings picnics in the park, drinks by the canal, b...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »