See other Edinburgh properties

Budget Backpackers

37-39 Cowgate, Grassmarket, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 82% from 19 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 76%Value for money
  • 77%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Awesome on all accounts. Nothing to complain about. Stayed in all female room and in mixed room and both were great. The location is really close to great streets and the stop for Airlink (airport bus to take) is right outside. Didn't eat breakfast there but it looked good.
  • 89%
  • 24 Feb 2015 Mia USA
  • The bathroom did not have hot water.
  • 77%
  • 15 Jan 2015 LEONARDO Brazil
  • It was pretty decent. Beware of going out too late, the area seems to get a little sketchy, but the hostel feels pretty safe. Shame they don't do a simple breakfast like other hostels do. I'm glad they provide a locker, I felt safe leaving my stuff there. The staff seemed pretty friendly and helpful, and even invited us to events the hostel was doing. I have only real complaint, which was showers were awkward to use as I had to keep pressing a button to keep it going. Wasn't a deal breaker.
  • 80%
  • 08 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Awesome place, very well located with a cool atmosphere! Clean, good mattresses and showers. The only down things in my stay were: 1) the room was awfuly hot! with 8 people, it should have a better way of managing the temperature 2) the window of the bathroom was stuck and therefore making the bathroom really cold 3) my small padlocks wouldnt lock the locker so we had to buy one from the reception. Besides those things, it was a great experience and I totally recommend Budget Backpackers
  • 97%
  • 15 Nov 2014 Anonymous Italy
  • Very satisfied with this hostel. Rooms were just what toy expect from a hostel in a capital city but the staff was friendly and willing to help and the location it's just amazing. With the Grassmarket right outside the door and the royal mile only a few minutes walk away is in the heart of the old town. Definitely going to remember it for the next time.
  • 74%
  • 25 Oct 2014 Liisa Germany
  • Great, apart from the broken lockers, lack of storage space and too few power sockets. Would have been a hell of a lot better if I could have secured my stuff and charged my phone whilst I was sleeping!
  • 66%
  • 17 Sep 2014 Anonymous England
  • Very nice hostel. Liked the free walking tour, nice idea! Only bad thing is that showers were not really hot.
  • 94%
  • 07 Sep 2014 Anonymous Hungary
  • Our key cards kept being deactivated, apparently from being near our phones. I got locked out of my room in the middle of the night when I got up to go to the bathroom. Good thing the hostel is staffed 24 hours. There was a young party feel to this hostel which I try to avoid, but there wasn't much noise from outside the rooms. Showers had a decent amount of space and hair dryers worked. Location was decent.
  • 69%
  • 30 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Amanda's guided tour was excellent!
  • 77%
  • 23 Jul 2014 Pål Magnus Norway
  • Just excellent!
  • 100%
  • 13 Jul 2014 Renan Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

15 fantastic Irish bars you can party in on St. Patrick's Day

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »