See other Edinburgh properties

Budget Backpackers

37-39 Cowgate, Grassmarket, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 86% from 22 reviews

  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 82%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • You even have to pay to leave your staff in the hostel for a coule of hours after check out... In other hostels is free. + you have to pay if you want a lock for your locker!!!! +you have to take out your sheet and duvet cover and give the at the check out time. +you can only buy ac outlet adaptors. They dont let you. +Only cold water in the shower. +Only mixed toilets and showers.
  • 63%
  • 22 Jan 2014 Anonymous Greece
  • the staff is very helpful
  • 91%
  • 23 Dec 2013 Anonymous China
  • Backpackers was one of the best hostels I stayed at during my whole trip. We actually stayed in a 30 mixed room, and it was perfectly fine. Wifi was great, available food, and staff were friendly and approachable and very helpful in where to go in Edinburgh. Only slight negative was the noise during the night coming from where it was located. You could sometimes hear the locals all the time, but I got over it.
  • 91%
  • 19 Dec 2013 Jacob Rosales USA
  • Great accommodation and facilities etc but disappointing that wi if is only available in the reception area and not in the rooms.
  • 97%
  • 26 Oct 2013 Benjamin Malawi
  • This hostel is a very good choice for short or long journey. The cleanliness is very good and the staff too. You can by food at the hostel and the food is very good and cheap too.
  • 100%
  • 20 Oct 2013 Anonymous Brazil
  • Very nice, I quite enjoy the free guided tour and the pub crawl. Amazing!
  • 100%
  • 11 Sep 2013 Anonymous China
  • The worst thing about it is the noise from the street at night. The pub is really good!
  • 77%
  • 08 Sep 2013 Rosario Spanish
  • This is a fantastic hostel. The staff is awesome, the facilities are quite nice, and the people here rock. It has its own restaurant and pub inside, plus there's a free pub crawl every night. Definitely easy to meet new people from everywhere, and I never once worried about my stuff when I was traveling alone. It's a little pricey some nights, but I thought it was money well spent.
  • 94%
  • 15 Aug 2013 Adam USA
  • We went to two Hostels in Edinburgh, the other was slightly more expensive, but staff lots more friendly, beds already made, computers free to use, towels 50p to rent not 5pound (not sure if that was rent cost or to buy). Atmosphere in Budget Backpackers was terrible if you want to sleep - bunkbeds creek so much that you can feel every movement of the person below/above and really noisy streets outside, people singing and shouting in streets, no carpet for floor or chairs so only option is beds.
  • 63%
  • 14 Jul 2013 Pavitra England
  • Good hostel. Bathroom set up was a little limited.
  • 91%
  • 11 Jul 2013 Joshua USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »