See other Edinburgh properties

Budget Backpackers

37-39 Cowgate, Grassmarket, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 86% from 20 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very nice hostel. Liked the free walking tour, nice idea! Only bad thing is that showers were not really hot.
  • 94%
  • 07 Sep 2014 Anonymous Hungary
  • Amanda's guided tour was excellent!
  • 77%
  • 23 Jul 2014 Pål Magnus Norway
  • Just excellent!
  • 100%
  • 13 Jul 2014 Renan Brazil
  • The bar blonde woman just tell her to smile and not to shout at people ! otherwise everything is great
  • 100%
  • 22 Jun 2014 Anonymous Jordan
  • Location was fantastic! Always seemed to be something going on nearby. I liked the option of the pub crawl, and although I only stayed one night, we were made to feel welcome and given a thorough rundown of the facility. The washroom facility in the 5a block was average. There was barely any room for my legs and they were pressed up against the wall. There was no toilet paper holder and the shower seemed to have a dirty pipe cut into the stall near the floor. Plus the room was far from the entry
  • 74%
  • 07 May 2014 Ryan Canada
  • Staff was extremely friendly, and the hostel had a great atmosphere. Food and drink at the bar was reasonably priced, and there was good wifi in the place. The location was great, about a 10 min walk to the Royal Mile and about 20 min to the train station. Some of the staff gave poor information, and the free walking tour guide wasn't very knowledgeable, but it was a good way to see the city regardless. No locks, but all in all this was an amazing hostel. Would recommend!
  • 89%
  • 20 Apr 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • You even have to pay to leave your staff in the hostel for a coule of hours after check out... In other hostels is free. + you have to pay if you want a lock for your locker!!!! +you have to take out your sheet and duvet cover and give the at the check out time. +you can only buy ac outlet adaptors. They dont let you. +Only cold water in the shower. +Only mixed toilets and showers.
  • 63%
  • 22 Jan 2014 Anonymous Greece
  • the staff is very helpful
  • 91%
  • 23 Dec 2013 Anonymous China
  • Backpackers was one of the best hostels I stayed at during my whole trip. We actually stayed in a 30 mixed room, and it was perfectly fine. Wifi was great, available food, and staff were friendly and approachable and very helpful in where to go in Edinburgh. Only slight negative was the noise during the night coming from where it was located. You could sometimes hear the locals all the time, but I got over it.
  • 91%
  • 19 Dec 2013 Jacob Rosales USA
  • Great accommodation and facilities etc but disappointing that wi if is only available in the reception area and not in the rooms.
  • 97%
  • 26 Oct 2013 Benjamin Malawi
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One of the most enjoyable aspects of travel is that of exploring different landscapes and experiencing sights and sounds that seem a world away from what you're used to back at home. There are so many diverse terrains across the world, from dramatic, desolate mountain vistas to impossibly bustling market streets; and many countries can offer a variety of spectacular sights with astonishing diversity. Here are just five of our favourite views from across the globe.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »