See other Cardiff properties

Bunkhouse

94 St Mary street, Cardiff, Cardiff, Wales, Distance from city centre: 2.9km

Rating: 80% from 12 reviews

  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 81%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 71%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The Bunkhouse is a pub. When you stay at the weekend, it is impossible to sleep. It's extremely noise as the rooms are right above the pub. That is not a kitchen and only have a microwave and tiny fridge.
  • 77%
  • 18 Jul 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Awesome location with a super nice ambience at the reception and bar!
  • 100%
  • 08 May 2014 Anonymous Singapore
  • Very nice place but our room was tiny! And we couldn't open a window so it smelled after two nights in it... Rest was very good!
  • 83%
  • 10 Apr 2014 Lena Germany
  • They have triple bunk beds which is an unusual sight but have the disadvantage of being very short on space so no room for sitting properly.
  • 83%
  • 16 Nov 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • somestaff great, some not, Bunks are really low, Cant sit up in them &minimal space in 7bed Dorm, only one spot where I could open up my Medium sized suitcase. window didn't open & tiny mesh Locker. 3 showers on my floor, door was off hingers, one disabled &other was crappy. no hot food anywhere except downstairs, and internet only works in some places, if you want to Skype or anything in Peace, GOOD LUCK! Great location, staff had great recommendations! clean. staff helped carry bags upstairs:)
  • 71%
  • 15 Oct 2013 Anonymous Australia
  • Very noisy at night time. There is no shelve in the bathroom to put the the things while we are having a shower, need to stay on the floor.
  • 86%
  • 05 Sep 2013 Ana Portugal
  • lockers are too small and not enough for all people in the same room
  • 66%
  • 25 Aug 2013 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • the hostel is a good hostel right in the centre of cardiff has a lot of facilites and a bar downstairs. i will stay here again when i next stay in cardiff. from keith cork republic of ireland.
  • 80%
  • 13 Aug 2013 Anonymous Ireland
  • The bar area is sooo cosy. It's easy to just stay in... Book in advance!
  • 91%
  • 01 Aug 2013 Christina Denmark
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »