See other Cardiff properties

Bunkhouse

94 St Mary street, Cardiff, Cardiff, Wales, Distance from city centre: 2.9km

Rating: 77% from 15 reviews

  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 77%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 69%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • They have triple bunk beds which is an unusual sight but have the disadvantage of being very short on space so no room for sitting properly.
  • 83%
  • 16 Nov 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • somestaff great, some not, Bunks are really low, Cant sit up in them &minimal space in 7bed Dorm, only one spot where I could open up my Medium sized suitcase. window didn't open & tiny mesh Locker. 3 showers on my floor, door was off hingers, one disabled &other was crappy. no hot food anywhere except downstairs, and internet only works in some places, if you want to Skype or anything in Peace, GOOD LUCK! Great location, staff had great recommendations! clean. staff helped carry bags upstairs:)
  • 71%
  • 15 Oct 2013 Anonymous Australia
  • Very noisy at night time. There is no shelve in the bathroom to put the the things while we are having a shower, need to stay on the floor.
  • 86%
  • 05 Sep 2013 Ana Portugal
  • lockers are too small and not enough for all people in the same room
  • 66%
  • 25 Aug 2013 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • the hostel is a good hostel right in the centre of cardiff has a lot of facilites and a bar downstairs. i will stay here again when i next stay in cardiff. from keith cork republic of ireland.
  • 80%
  • 13 Aug 2013 Anonymous Ireland
  • The bar area is sooo cosy. It's easy to just stay in... Book in advance!
  • 91%
  • 01 Aug 2013 Christina Denmark
  • I really like the location of the hostel, but despite being its strong point it is also the weakest as some dorms are located near the heavily trafficked road that leads to the train station.
  • 86%
  • 22 Jul 2013 Anonymous Romania
  • Lovely hostel with a great atmosphere and perfect location right in centre of Cardiff (if you are fun of night life, perfect, otherwise it`s a bit crazy street). Friendly staff will help you with all your queries and even look after your bags after check out for a while. We were really happy!
  • 89%
  • 19 Jul 2013 Anonymous Czech Republic
  • On the plus side the hostel is located relatively close to the train station. However, considering that the dorms are right above a bar, it's likely you'll have to stand some pretty unruly fellow guests. I couldn't get any sleep until 3-4AM with people coming in and out drunk, talking aloud throughout the night. The kitchen is pretty poorly equipped, so don't think about actually cooking anything yourself. The toilet floors were pretty much always flooded.
  • 57%
  • 05 Jul 2013 Lauri Finland
  • A kitchen and location are the first things I look at when picking a hostel. This place does have the location but a kettle and microwave only, does NOT a kitchen make. There’s not even running water in their so-called dingy, dank, basement “kitchen”. Bunks stacked 3 high leave very little space between them. It makes you feel like you’re slipping into a cadaver drawer at the morgue. Showers have no space for clothes or towel. You literally have to leave everything on your bed and walk naked t
  • 40%
  • 18 Jun 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »