See other Reykjavik properties

Bus Hostel Reykjavik

Skogarhlid 10, Reykjavik, Iceland, Distance from city centre: 2.2km

Rating: 82% from 21 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 78%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 84%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • You must pay extra for a blanket. It should be included.
  • 89%
  • 23 Mar 2017 RODRIGO Colombia
  • Overall, the hostel is fine. Although I know that Iceland can be costly, for the amount paid per nightly can be better as it does not include breakfast, blanket and towel.
  • 74%
  • 20 Feb 2017 Anonymous USA
  • First of all, for the price paid per night, this hostel was not worth it. You have to pay for a blanket ($10) and a towel ($5), and breakfast ($8). The breakfast was just a bagel, a muffin and tea/coffee. The staff were young and quite rude and completely unhelpful. They did not act like they wanted to help anyone, in fact they looked like they hated their jobs. The bathrooms were small and the showers were always completely full. In addition, you had to walk 15-25 minutes just to get downtown.
  • 51%
  • 14 Feb 2017 Anonymous USA
  • Overall, the hostel is fine. Although I know that Iceland can be costly, for the amount paid per nightly can be better as it does not include breakfast, blanket and towel.
  • 74%
  • 12 Feb 2017 Anonymous USA
  • Kitchen should have been cleaner but rooms were good. Wifi wasn't that strong but hostel was nice and warm. Some staff were brilliant, others were quite unhelpful and almost rude. Furniture in the lounge area was quite uncomfortable and not clean. Iceland is extortionately expensive so in comparison to other European hostels this hostel was expensive for what it was.
  • 54%
  • 16 Jan 2017 Anonymous Ireland
  • The common spaces are very nice and you can get breakfast or just coffee and meet people. The coffee may be one of the best deals in Iceland
  • 77%
  • 06 Dec 2016 Anonymous USA
  • This was my first time ever staying at a hostel and I'm glad I chose Bus.
  • 89%
  • 02 Dec 2016 Anonymous USA
  • the hostel is super clean, good vibes and not far from downtown/bus terminal. everyone there is helpful and you meet awesome travelers!
  • 97%
  • 12 Oct 2016 Anonymous Canada
  • In general I thought the hostel was fine. That said, while we are all "adults" and shouldn't need a reminder, a code of conduct on respecting your bunk mates sure would be nice - a group spending 2 hours getting packed up starting at 6am while the rest of the room is trying to sleep shouldn't need to be reminded to take their conversation outside. Ah, well...
  • 69%
  • 07 Oct 2016 Anonymous USA
  • This is the only hostel I've been to that charged for a blanket.
  • 66%
  • 25 Sep 2016 Paul USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

We want to make sure that you get to explore as much of Paris as possible and that includes the nightlife scene. We've compiled some of the best places in Paris to check out if ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »