See other Reykjavik properties

Bus Hostel Reykjavik

Skogarhlid 10, Reykjavik, Iceland, Distance from city centre: 2.2km

Rating: 87% from 26 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 75%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 92%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This is the best hostel I ever stay , the room is very comfortable and cleanliness . Especially the bar is a gd place to stay and relax during the spare time. I will highly recommended You to stay . Moreover the kitchenware is well prepared , we can cook easily and prepare Lunch or dinner .
  • 86%
  • 05 Mar 2016 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • 10 minute walk from the city center. Facilities are good and enough parking space in the front for those who rent a car.
  • 83%
  • 13 Feb 2016 Anonymous Netherlands
  • It was a great experience. I will be back there soon and for many times. Bus Hostel and Reykjavik city were perfect for me. I liked them so much. The sleeping area, bar, kitchen and coffee place were all at the top level. Even with many tourists there, it was calm and peaceful. Easy to meet other people. Locals were friendly. Im born in the fishery area called Lofoten in North-Norway, so I was eager to see the big fishing boats there. I was impressed. My neighbour was a lovely Manchester woman !
  • 97%
  • 22 Dec 2015 Anonymous Norway
  • The location is a bit far from the city centre but it was made up by the great WIFI and Facilities esp. bathroom (FREE TOAST as well !!). Very clean hostel, Bright and clean, very comfortable. The ventilation in the dorm is good so it is not too stuffy. EXTREMELY good value of money compared to the later and more expensive hostel that we stayed.
  • 89%
  • 29 Oct 2015 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • Awesome place to stay! I was actually going to spend a few of the nights at different hostels just to try them out, but I loved Bus Hostel so much that I decided to book my entire stay there instead. The staff is great, atmosphere is great and it's very easy to book tours, buses or car rentals (there's one in the same building called Sadcars--which is also awesome by the way!) from the hostel. They also offer bike rentals as well. Really quirky interior design as well. Great experience!
  • 97%
  • 26 Aug 2015 Kristen USA
  • Just another big, impersonal, commercial hostel enterprise milking the backpacker for every little amenity. The ABSOLUTE first hostel I have been in (over 500) where you had to pay extra for your duvet/blanket. Trust me you need it up there, so basically another scam by the big business owner(s)
  • 71%
  • 23 Aug 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Rooms, living room, and bathroom sizes were adequate. Kitchen rather small but will do for a short stay. Staff is not the most friendly but will help if ask. Traveled in July, room was cold at night even with heater on. Staff needs to be more efficient & explain where and what things are in the building. We walked in early in the morning knowing that we could drop off our luggage before checking in. The girl at the counter didn't even look up until I said "excuse me".
  • 80%
  • 31 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • This was my first time staying at a hostel and I wasn't sure what to expect. However, I found this hostel to be friendly, and the atmosphere was very inviting. The rooms/bathrooms were basic, but clean. The kitchen had plenty of space for cooking/storage. The lounge had lots of pictures, music, and it was cozy and relaxing. The staff was helpful with any request. Finally, the location was great with a short walk to either the BSÍ, center of Reykjavík, and even Kringlan! Will stay here again!
  • 94%
  • 29 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I had a lovely stay at the bus hostel! It's less than 15 minutes to the centre and main church site which was good. Renting a blanket for the night was 1.000 ISK which really sucked when staying for only one night. Free toast and jam in the morning which was an added bonus! I did have only one bad experience, which was a reception girl was acting super rude and told me that she would confirm with Reykjavik Excursions for my airport pickup and never did so I ended up sitting around for 2 hours.
  • 77%
  • 21 Jul 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • Good place! The atmosphere is great and the staff I had interactions with were lovely. It's a bit further than I anticipated to the city center, but the walk brings you past a few cool places. It was a great start to my trip, and I look forward to returning in August!
  • 86%
  • 07 Jul 2015 John Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

If you're travelling on a budget, staying in hostels can be a lifeline. We've put together a few tips for saving money by cooking up a storm in hostel kitchens!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »