See other Edinburgh properties

Caledonian Backpackers

3 Queensferry Street, Edinburgh EH2 4PA, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 78% from 23 reviews

  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 68%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This is an excellent hostel. The staff are super friendly, excellent kitchen facilities, great location and an awesome hangout spot. Definitely recommend!
  • 91%
  • 18 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Hostels have probably changed since the last time I used one...45 years ago. It was not clean but the location was perfect and the staff very accommodating. Sundays and Mondays may be the only quiet nights,,,parties continued through the week. Other backpackers were for the most considerate and private. The price allowed me to stay in Edinburgh for four beautiful days...that was the very best part.
  • 77%
  • 05 Oct 2014 Lorraine Canada
  • I enjoyed my stay very much! The staff were very friendly and helpful and the beds were very soft and perfect after a busy day. Even the others who were staying at the hostel were nice. I would definitely stay there again.
  • 89%
  • 25 Sep 2014 Mary USA
  • Great free breakfast, relatively late check-out, however, rooms are quite noisy, there is no power chargers beside your bed.
  • 74%
  • 13 Sep 2014 Anonymous Slovenia
  • Good atmosphere, common spaces often very busy - not enough for amount of people this place can accommodate. Wifi works well. Old building, bad plumbing, need to invest money in bathroom and toilet facilities. Considering this is quite a big hostel, and the amount of people coming through, money should not be a problem. Half the staff beyond excellent, other half seemed too self-involved to care. Overall a good experience.
  • 63%
  • 08 Sep 2014 Michael Australia
  • Staffs are nice and toilet and shower room are very clean. There were few electrical outlet in the room.
  • 83%
  • 05 Aug 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • Solid hostel experience, no more, no less. Poor quality but unlimited breakfast, decent wireless but the computers hardly worked, clean bunk bed. Unfriendly, cooler-than-thou staff.
  • 63%
  • 14 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The hostel was in a great location and had comfortable, clean beds. Staff were friendly!
  • 100%
  • 11 Jul 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • We had a nice stay in one of the private twin rooms. The hostel was very cozy and the atmosphere laid-back, thanks to the helpful staff, cool decorations, and clean rooms. I recommend this to anyone going to Edinburgh; don't waste your time and money on hotels when you can go to the Backpackers' hostel! The location of this hostel is excellent: it is easily accessible by bus, close to both Old and New Town, and there are good restaurants in the neighbourhood.
  • 91%
  • 04 Jun 2014 Tiia Finland
  • The kitchen facilities are old and insufficient. Some of the cooking utensils may cause heath hazards.Room's carpet is a bit dirty. The spring of the bed is too soft and uncomfortable.
  • 66%
  • 04 Jun 2014 KIM LEONG Malaysia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Some people can take a two week holiday and spend every day relaxing at the beach. Some prefer the beach to do activities, take a jog first thing in the morning, party at night...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »