See other Edinburgh properties

Caledonian Backpackers

3 Queensferry Street, Edinburgh EH2 4PA, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 72% from 15 reviews

  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 81%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 56%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 70%Value for money
  • 61%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • One of the lockers was broken so we couldn't lock it. Had to share with my travel buddy. The showers only got warm. A hot shower would've been nice after a long day in the chilly Scotland weather.
  • 46%
  • 25 Jul 2015 Lorin Canada
  • The chart above doesn't fit for this special hostel. It's difficult to describe this hostel because every room is very individual. All walls are painted in comic style, the whole hostle is colorful. The building is old and a bit confusing because of so many staicases and corridors (sometimes I found myself in an old wardrobe instead of the bathroom). Worth a try for all who don't expect a comfortable hotel-like accomodation, but looking forward to an interesting experience in the city-centre.
  • 69%
  • 20 Jul 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • Good location but high prices
  • 66%
  • 04 Apr 2015 Anonymous Spain
  • Good location, close to shops and main train station. Only security was lock in the actual dorm room and the corridors were rowdy at night. For the same price I have stayed in hostels with clean and new ensuite bathrooms but the communal bathrooms here were not to this standard and the showers were cold. This is an older hostel and understandably the quality will be less but the price should greater reflect this. Also an Edinburgh map/guide would of been helpful (not just from tour companys)
  • 57%
  • 14 Feb 2015 Isabella Australia
  • The hostel had a great atmosphere and felt incredibly welcoming. I would definitely stay again
  • 77%
  • 27 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This is an excellent hostel. The staff are super friendly, excellent kitchen facilities, great location and an awesome hangout spot. Definitely recommend!
  • 91%
  • 18 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Hostels have probably changed since the last time I used one...45 years ago. It was not clean but the location was perfect and the staff very accommodating. Sundays and Mondays may be the only quiet nights,,,parties continued through the week. Other backpackers were for the most considerate and private. The price allowed me to stay in Edinburgh for four beautiful days...that was the very best part.
  • 77%
  • 05 Oct 2014 Lorraine Canada
  • I enjoyed my stay very much! The staff were very friendly and helpful and the beds were very soft and perfect after a busy day. Even the others who were staying at the hostel were nice. I would definitely stay there again.
  • 89%
  • 25 Sep 2014 Mary USA
  • Great free breakfast, relatively late check-out, however, rooms are quite noisy, there is no power chargers beside your bed.
  • 74%
  • 13 Sep 2014 Anonymous Slovenia
  • Good atmosphere, common spaces often very busy - not enough for amount of people this place can accommodate. Wifi works well. Old building, bad plumbing, need to invest money in bathroom and toilet facilities. Considering this is quite a big hostel, and the amount of people coming through, money should not be a problem. Half the staff beyond excellent, other half seemed too self-involved to care. Overall a good experience.
  • 63%
  • 08 Sep 2014 Michael Australia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »