See other Edinburgh properties

Caledonian Backpackers

3 Queensferry Street, Edinburgh EH2 4PA, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 81% from 19 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Good atmosphere, common spaces often very busy - not enough for amount of people this place can accommodate. Wifi works well. Old building, bad plumbing, need to invest money in bathroom and toilet facilities. Considering this is quite a big hostel, and the amount of people coming through, money should not be a problem. Half the staff beyond excellent, other half seemed too self-involved to care. Overall a good experience.
  • 63%
  • 08 Sep 2014 Michael Australia
  • Staffs are nice and toilet and shower room are very clean. There were few electrical outlet in the room.
  • 83%
  • 05 Aug 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • Solid hostel experience, no more, no less. Poor quality but unlimited breakfast, decent wireless but the computers hardly worked, clean bunk bed. Unfriendly, cooler-than-thou staff.
  • 63%
  • 14 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The hostel was in a great location and had comfortable, clean beds. Staff were friendly!
  • 100%
  • 11 Jul 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • We had a nice stay in one of the private twin rooms. The hostel was very cozy and the atmosphere laid-back, thanks to the helpful staff, cool decorations, and clean rooms. I recommend this to anyone going to Edinburgh; don't waste your time and money on hotels when you can go to the Backpackers' hostel! The location of this hostel is excellent: it is easily accessible by bus, close to both Old and New Town, and there are good restaurants in the neighbourhood.
  • 91%
  • 04 Jun 2014 Tiia Finland
  • The kitchen facilities are old and insufficient. Some of the cooking utensils may cause heath hazards.Room's carpet is a bit dirty. The spring of the bed is too soft and uncomfortable.
  • 66%
  • 04 Jun 2014 KIM LEONG Malaysia
  • Fun hostel! I may be biased because I love Edinburgh so much, but this hostel was a ton of fun. Yes it's in New Town, but there's still a lot's of good restaurants, pubs, and shopping close by. It also had a great common room and the beds were really comfortable. Easy to meet other travellers and the staff are really knowledgeable about whats up in the city. Would definitely recommend!
  • 83%
  • 07 May 2014 Rachel Canada
  • There is a pub inside the building. It can get really noisy at night though good for socialising. Prepare blindfold and ear plug. I lived on the third floor, female dorm. There're 2 toilets, 3 showers, and 1 sink. So it can get quite busy in the morning. Waking up early is a good strategy. Given the price (a bit more expensive than their normal price as I went in the bank holiday weekend) and what it offers, it's just so-so.
  • 71%
  • 17 Apr 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • One of the best hostels I have ever been. Music playlists were awesome
  • 94%
  • 04 Mar 2014 Iago Spain
  • A very good budget hotel. You get a bed and basic breakfast at an excellent price. Only criticism was the minimal bathroom facilities. Overall, it is recommended for backpack visitors to this wonderful city.
  • 80%
  • 19 Feb 2014 Anonymous Wales
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One of the most enjoyable aspects of travel is that of exploring different landscapes and experiencing sights and sounds that seem a world away from what you're used to back at home. There are so many diverse terrains across the world, from dramatic, desolate mountain vistas to impossibly bustling market streets; and many countries can offer a variety of spectacular sights with astonishing diversity. Here are just five of our favourite views from across the globe.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »