See other Edinburgh properties

Caledonian Backpackers

3 Queensferry Street, Edinburgh EH2 4PA, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 57% from 14 reviews

  • 57%Atmosphere
  • 68%Staff
  • 52%Security
  • 42%Cleanliness
  • 81%Location
  • 51%Value for money
  • 45%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This is the most disgusting hostel I have ever stayed in. We had booked a twin private room and when we got to our room the door did not close so anybody could walk in. We were given another room which was basically just 5 mattresses on a floor. All of the photos on the website are of the bar but when we stayed there the bar was just a storage room. The showers were putrid with scum and mould all over the walls. It looked like it hadn't been cleaned in months. Do not stay here!
  • 34%
  • 14 Sep 2015 Dean Australia
  • This was the most dirty and run down hostel i´ve ever visited so far. Oh and they were overbooked, so I had to sleep somewhere else.
  • 34%
  • 08 Sep 2015 Alex Germany
  • wasnt good on the weekend.
  • 46%
  • 27 Aug 2015 ara South Korea
  • Really high price for bad rooms and facilitys.
  • 34%
  • 12 Aug 2015 jonas Sweden
  • One of the lockers was broken so we couldn't lock it. Had to share with my travel buddy. The showers only got warm. A hot shower would've been nice after a long day in the chilly Scotland weather.
  • 46%
  • 25 Jul 2015 Lorin Canada
  • The chart above doesn't fit for this special hostel. It's difficult to describe this hostel because every room is very individual. All walls are painted in comic style, the whole hostle is colorful. The building is old and a bit confusing because of so many staicases and corridors (sometimes I found myself in an old wardrobe instead of the bathroom). Worth a try for all who don't expect a comfortable hotel-like accomodation, but looking forward to an interesting experience in the city-centre.
  • 69%
  • 20 Jul 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • Good location but high prices
  • 66%
  • 04 Apr 2015 Anonymous Spain
  • Good location, close to shops and main train station. Only security was lock in the actual dorm room and the corridors were rowdy at night. For the same price I have stayed in hostels with clean and new ensuite bathrooms but the communal bathrooms here were not to this standard and the showers were cold. This is an older hostel and understandably the quality will be less but the price should greater reflect this. Also an Edinburgh map/guide would of been helpful (not just from tour companys)
  • 57%
  • 14 Feb 2015 Isabella Australia
  • The hostel had a great atmosphere and felt incredibly welcoming. I would definitely stay again
  • 77%
  • 27 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »