See other Edinburgh properties

Caledonian Backpackers

3 Queensferry Street, Edinburgh EH2 4PA, Edinburgh, Scotland, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 85% from 28 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 82%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • One of the best hostels I have ever been. Music playlists were awesome
  • 94%
  • 04 Mar 2014 Iago Spain
  • A very good budget hotel. You get a bed and basic breakfast at an excellent price. Only criticism was the minimal bathroom facilities. Overall, it is recommended for backpack visitors to this wonderful city.
  • 80%
  • 19 Feb 2014 Anonymous Wales
  • The shower room is so inconvenient . I couldn't find a place to put my clothes. Also the plug charge was so terrible that it burned out my exchanging plug and wire. To be honestly , the staff and breakfast were really nice but the facility was too bad to accept.
  • 63%
  • 27 Dec 2013 Anonymous Taiwan
  • The hostel is running the bar upstairs and has good atmosphere with it. The metress looked a bit old but no complain for sleeping one night. Breakfast is fairly nice. Only issue was lack of shower and toilet.
  • 89%
  • 01 Nov 2013 Anonymous South Korea
  • Gorgeous hostel, very clean, would definitely recommend it.
  • 97%
  • 12 Oct 2013 Anonymous Germany
  • nice place, good location, friendly staffs!!!!! I will recommend to my friends. Only one tiny concern, shower rooms are kind of shortage, and sometimes no warm showing water. Anyway, rec!!!!
  • 97%
  • 07 Sep 2013 Anonymous China
  • I stayed here for 2 nights during Edinburgh Fringe Festival so can't say I spent much time there. Good security though with large lockers and also charging ones so you can sort that out during the day/night. Upstairs showers had no hot water but downstairs ones were piping hot so no worries. The bar is massive, good breakfast and late checkout. Could be made better by more plug sockets in the rooms and bedside lights.
  • 89%
  • 24 Aug 2013 Anonymous Netherlands
  • We stayed 3 nights during the Fringe festival. The hostel is well located, the rooms are big enough and with security lockers. Baths are clean and showers are ok. The bar is perfect for having a beer in the evening or during the night. Staff is kind and allways looking for help. The problem is that the hostel is very expensive. You can find a B&B for the same price with private bathroom if you book with enough time. I dont know if it´s due to the high demand during Fringe, but prices are crazy.
  • 71%
  • 09 Aug 2013 Octavio Spain
  • 'Cause the hostel is too large, it's hard to find where you actually are, especially when you're finding where the laundry room is. I stayed in the room with 20 beds, everyone is quite polite to one another, so I had good sleeping quality. Facilities are complete, they have what you want. Atmosphere is great in the bar. No lift, Exhausting carry of your heavy luggages.
  • 80%
  • 04 Aug 2013 Mike Taiwan
  • We were there during the Fringe and we could walk to everything we wanted to see. One small remark is that there are not a lot of sinks/toilets/showers per floor. Also I am quite tall (1.87m) And I could not fit under the shower, making it a little bit inconvenient. Still it was clean and even in a big dorm (20 persons) there was a good atmosphere where everyone came back quite. There were no curtains (it was a 3rd floor room), making it harden to sleep if you cannot sleep in a light atmosphere
  • 71%
  • 03 Aug 2013 Esther Netherlands
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »