See other Vancouver properties

Cambie Hostel - Gastown

300 Cambie St., Vancouver, Vancouver, Canada, Distance from city centre: 4.1km

Rating: 75% from 31 reviews

  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 64%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 76%Value for money
  • 63%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great front desk staff, excellent location. Very clean! Would recommend the cambie to anyone!
  • 94%
  • 31 Oct 2014 Tyler
  • The Building is very old and has its own personality - i liked it! we had a private double room in the 2nd floor - which was nice and quiet, the bed also was very comfortible. the stuff was very polite and helpfull! you can get your free coffee+muffin in the bakery near the hostel - also very nice:) i liked it much more than the vancouver downtownhostel, in which we stayed before, and it was much cheaper!
  • 89%
  • 25 Oct 2014 ernst Austria
  • Seemed to be a positive experience, although the place could use a few upgrades, the shop filled historical gas town location was really enjoyed. Although the free breakfast was simple, the upgrade to eggs/sausage was always worth having. Nice quiet comfy non squeaky beds are a definite plus for great sleep.. The place felt like a friend who will always welcome you back. Very nice staff who did their best to make stay clean, comfortable and amazing.
  • 86%
  • 10 Oct 2014 Doug Canada
  • I hate leaving a bad review, but I have to.This place is nothing but dirty, disgusting and derelict. The ensuite bathroom had no mat so the floor had a constant puddle of black water and the bin wasn't emptied in 3 days. I saw bugs on the ensuite floor three times and a cockroach in the communal bathroom. My bed was next to two windows, neither of which were able to be closed so pigeons would sit, mate, poop and leave feathers to float into the room. Basically this place is just disgusting.
  • 46%
  • 25 Aug 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • The place could really stand to be remodeled in places and the staff was generally very lax about rules which was a curse and a blessing at times. The place was very disorganized and it made me concerned for my safety and health. The bag storage was shoved back somewhere behind the kitchen. Overall it was a fun time and nothing bad happened, but it took me like 3 days to get over the chills this place gave me
  • 54%
  • 25 Aug 2014 Victoria USA
  • The beds are comfortable. The location is excelent!! The only problem is that it´s a little noisy at night.
  • 83%
  • 23 Aug 2014 Luisa Colombia
  • Great place if you're young and adventurous ! Love the breakfast in the morning and the staff.
  • 91%
  • 22 Aug 2014 Simona USA
  • My favourite hostel so far!! Can't beat the atmosphere and killer location :)
  • 91%
  • 12 Aug 2014 Markian Canada
  • No A/C, rooms were 1000 degrees at anytime during the day, 1 of 3 showers were fully functioning with controllable temperature of water.
  • 57%
  • 08 Aug 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • felt a bit dingy. terrible airflow I rooms
  • 66%
  • 01 Aug 2014 David Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

From learning the lingo to leaping out of a plane, here are 14 things you must try to make your travels unforgettable in 2015.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »