See other Vancouver properties

Cambie Hostel - Gastown

300 Cambie St., Vancouver, Vancouver, Canada, Distance from city centre: 4.1km

Rating: 78% from 25 reviews

  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 65%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I hate leaving a bad review, but I have to.This place is nothing but dirty, disgusting and derelict. The ensuite bathroom had no mat so the floor had a constant puddle of black water and the bin wasn't emptied in 3 days. I saw bugs on the ensuite floor three times and a cockroach in the communal bathroom. My bed was next to two windows, neither of which were able to be closed so pigeons would sit, mate, poop and leave feathers to float into the room. Basically this place is just disgusting.
  • 46%
  • 25 Aug 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • The place could really stand to be remodeled in places and the staff was generally very lax about rules which was a curse and a blessing at times. The place was very disorganized and it made me concerned for my safety and health. The bag storage was shoved back somewhere behind the kitchen. Overall it was a fun time and nothing bad happened, but it took me like 3 days to get over the chills this place gave me
  • 54%
  • 25 Aug 2014 Victoria USA
  • The beds are comfortable. The location is excelent!! The only problem is that it´s a little noisy at night.
  • 83%
  • 23 Aug 2014 Luisa Colombia
  • Great place if you're young and adventurous ! Love the breakfast in the morning and the staff.
  • 91%
  • 22 Aug 2014 Simona USA
  • My favourite hostel so far!! Can't beat the atmosphere and killer location :)
  • 91%
  • 12 Aug 2014 Markian Canada
  • No A/C, rooms were 1000 degrees at anytime during the day, 1 of 3 showers were fully functioning with controllable temperature of water.
  • 57%
  • 08 Aug 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • felt a bit dingy. terrible airflow I rooms
  • 66%
  • 01 Aug 2014 David Canada
  • Would stay again. Free breakfast and double bed bunks - great!
  • 89%
  • 29 Jul 2014 Veronica Ireland
  • Good location for exploring downtown, but run-down and grubby. There were no lockers we could use in our room as they were all taken or broken. There was one shower in our 8-bed dorm, and the shared washroom down the hall had 2 showers that had no dry space in to get changed. The staff were nice and helpful, though. Also cheaper than other hostels in downtown.
  • 57%
  • 08 Jul 2014 Anonymous England
  • Wonderful place to stay. Great location and the bar below is great too. Recommended to anyone travelling to Gastown/Vancouver.
  • 97%
  • 07 Jul 2014 Anonymous Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

While most party-hard backpackers in Europe stick to the big cities like Paris, London and Barcelona, you might end up cutting your nights (or even your trip) short. These cities come at a cost and just one cocktail can run upwards of $15. Luckily there are so many other beautiful cities around Europe which offer an exciting nightlife at half or even a third of the cost.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »