See other Vancouver properties

Cambie Hostel - Gastown

300 Cambie St., Vancouver, Vancouver, Canada, Distance from city centre: 4.1km

Rating: 82% from 14 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 71%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • it was nice hostel. they have a pub in the 1floor so it was good to grab some local beer. but weekend was so loud outside. i couldn't sleep well tho.
  • 80%
  • 31 Jan 2014 okjin South Korea
  • On the weekend, the pub under the hostel is really loud. It doesn't matter, if you are on the first or second floor, you always hear the music. The location is not too bad. At Granville street you can catch the train or you can walk to the Stanley Parc really quick. The washrooms were ok but not brillant. There are only 2 showers for each gender and they are small! Usually you have to change and get dry in the shower too, because there is not really another to do that.
  • 63%
  • 16 Jan 2014 Beke Germany
  • The hotel is located in Vansterdam and 99% of the people staying there smoke nonstop. In the common room and on the rooms. The location is however good, close to the airport train and the buses.
  • 57%
  • 28 Dec 2013 Linde Sweden
  • just an awesome hostel . go there!!
  • 94%
  • 28 Dec 2013 Jasmin Austria
  • Got there late in the night and the door was locked so we couldn't get to the front desk. Pub was noisy and we couldn't get through the pub because of our luggage and huge lineup. Would've been nice to know how to get in. Staff at the front desk on the day we came didn't give us any information about the hostel or Vancouver. All other staff were friendly. Would have been nice if there was a fan in the room because it got pretty hot.
  • 63%
  • 15 Aug 2013 Sam Canada
  • The staff are perfect and the Pub is amazing. I just think that they could put a table and a chair in the two-person rooms.
  • 91%
  • 07 Aug 2013 Luiz Claudio Rios Pecoraro Junior Brazilian
  • Best thing about the Cambie is defiantly the cost and the staff, who are the nicest people ever. You also get a free coffee/muffin every morning which is awesome, and they can store your stuff on your last day. Toilets can get a bit gross but thats more because of the other people staying there then the actual hostel. If you'r on the first floor you might hear the pub going off every night, but you end up getting used to it after a few nights. Other then that the stay was great!
  • 80%
  • 02 Aug 2013 Thomas Australia
  • Smelt like a skunk stayed everywhere but a fun hostel with great character and atmosphere also the muffins were a nice touch in the morning
  • 74%
  • 02 Aug 2013 Ibrahim England
  • Rooms needed a fan or air con, as during summer it gets quite stuffy.
  • 89%
  • 22 Jul 2013 Graciella Australia
  • Me and my partner stayed here for one night and the hostel was great! Fantastic value for money, clean, location is on the doorstep of downtown Vancouver (which can be a bit noisy at night with the window open, but nothing that would disturb sleep) and is great to stay in for exploring the city! We stayed in a private room with a shared bathroom, which was great, however I can't comment on the dorms. Overall, I would recommend this hostel and would definitely stay here again!
  • 91%
  • 03 Jul 2013 Heather England
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »