See other Vancouver properties

Cambie Hostel - Gastown

300 Cambie St., Vancouver, Vancouver, Canada, Distance from city centre: 4.1km

Rating: 76% from 33 reviews

  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 78%Value for money
  • 68%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Only located in Gastown, nothing appreciated. Most terrible thing is that lousy bar downstairs....never can have a good sleep before 23pm...especially at weekend. My room has a lot of rats running by, we can hear them try to get out of those rock owners put there....Beds are fine....only those aloud bar and rats stuff. Also...this hostel doesn't have convenient charge spots. Bath room is super tiny.
  • 37%
  • 02 Oct 2015 Anonymous China
  • It was great staying there. The atmosphere was amazing. We had couple of great nights there, just sitting in the kitchen and talking to strangers who became friends. The location is perfect, the waterfront is just a few minutes away and the shopping streets as well. It was always possible to ask any questions, everyone was quite nice and helpful. We would visit this place at any time again.
  • 83%
  • 17 Sep 2015 Elisabeth Germany
  • Awesome place to meet people, a little grimy but not horrific. 4 person rooms are a little small but if you know everyone in the room it's fine. I'd stay there again!
  • 77%
  • 06 Sep 2015 Emily Canada
  • Another excellent stay at the Cambie. I'll be returning very soon.
  • 100%
  • 04 Sep 2015 Scott
  • Cool bar and great staff service!
  • 100%
  • 31 Aug 2015 Kenneth
  • this place is special :) being placed basically next to Hastings street, it brings a very interesting atmosphere. The kitchen or bathroom were not the cleanest places on Earth. It was fun to take a few beers in the pub under the hostel and get a breakfast in the same place. The view from the window was splendid :D
  • 77%
  • 25 Aug 2015 Katerina Czech Republic
  • I really loved this hostel and planned on staying again. Next time I will remember to bring a fan (the rooms had bad air circulation so they got hot) and ear plugs (pubs are noisy - but awesome). The bathroom was my only non-fixable issue and even that wasn't a huge deal for me personally. So long as you don't mind being seen naked it won't be an issue. There really isn't a private space to dry off or get dressed in there. Other than that, loved this place!
  • 86%
  • 24 Aug 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Very impressed with the level of cleanliness, especially for such a big hostel!
  • 100%
  • 15 Aug 2015 Jessica
  • Bar below loud and noisy. Washing machine at night noisy....
  • 49%
  • 15 Aug 2015 Marielen Austria
  • Cambie Hostel is in a beatiful part of Vancouver. The old building is very well kept up and the private rooms are clean, affordable, and fairly large. The pub attached is always busy at night, which has its ups and downs; you're always welcomed by the smell of good pub food, but the sounds of loud drunks can be heard throughout the night which may be disruptive to some. The staff is very friendly and polite. The facilities are frequently cleaned. It was very fun to be there.
  • 74%
  • 14 Aug 2015 Heather Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »