See other Vancouver properties

Cambie Hostel - Gastown

300 Cambie St., Vancouver, Vancouver, Canada, Distance from city centre: 4.1km

Rating: 74% from 28 reviews

  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 72%Security
  • 64%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 75%Value for money
  • 65%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I was a bit disappointed that I had booked a mixed male/female dorm room 4 beds for my husband and another couple to share, and when we checked in (super early) we had been split up. For the price, it was great....and the bar was pretty hilarious. Breakfast next door was perfect too!
  • 71%
  • 12 Jun 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • Excellent hostel! The perfect location and very secure. Right in the middle of Gastown District. Very hot showers with really great water pressure. Helpful staff provides good ideas for sight-seeing. Will definitely stay here again next time in Vancouver.
  • 100%
  • 12 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • stayed 3 nights and Friday night was a lot of fun with bucket party. makes me want to go back again). new showers and bathrooms. location is good and nice staff cheers Samuel
  • 91%
  • 28 May 2015 Sam Canada
  • This hostel has an amazing atmosphere. I only stayed for one night and I wish I could've stayed longer. It had the best atmosphere of any hostel I've stayed at in North America.
  • 83%
  • 31 Jan 2015 Alex Australia
  • Cheapest and best burgers in downtown!!!
  • 83%
  • 24 Jan 2015 Marek Poland
  • Perfect location. Easy access to interesting pubs/bars in Gastown and West End. Public transport within walking distance (Chinatown train station and Waterfront seabus station). Friendly staff. Ryan was there to greet us at the front desk and recommend nearby attractions. The cleaning staff accidently took my mates sleeping bag and Eric helped us locate it. Excellent value. Breakfast is included (muffin and coffee at cafe). Free bag lockup and hot showers. Two computers with free interne
  • 91%
  • 13 Jan 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • We got detained at the border. They searched our car, our selves, electronics, backgrounds, took samples of pills I had, and finally one of the people in our entourage did not meet the Required Income level they see fit in Canada. So he forced him to sign a letter stating my friend is leaving on his own will. We are professionals mostly but alternative and very friendly. We had plans,proof and no drugs. We feel like Canada is stuck up now. We were extremely polite but it seemed very elitist.
  • 80%
  • 17 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great front desk staff, excellent location. Very clean! Would recommend the cambie to anyone!
  • 94%
  • 31 Oct 2014 Tyler
  • The Building is very old and has its own personality - i liked it! we had a private double room in the 2nd floor - which was nice and quiet, the bed also was very comfortible. the stuff was very polite and helpfull! you can get your free coffee+muffin in the bakery near the hostel - also very nice:) i liked it much more than the vancouver downtownhostel, in which we stayed before, and it was much cheaper!
  • 89%
  • 25 Oct 2014 ernst Austria
  • Seemed to be a positive experience, although the place could use a few upgrades, the shop filled historical gas town location was really enjoyed. Although the free breakfast was simple, the upgrade to eggs/sausage was always worth having. Nice quiet comfy non squeaky beds are a definite plus for great sleep.. The place felt like a friend who will always welcome you back. Very nice staff who did their best to make stay clean, comfortable and amazing.
  • 86%
  • 10 Oct 2014 Doug Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »