See other Vancouver properties

Cambie Hostel - Gastown

300 Cambie St., Vancouver, Vancouver, Canada, Distance from city centre: 4.1km

Rating: 79% from 22 reviews

  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 67%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Good location for exploring downtown, but run-down and grubby. There were no lockers we could use in our room as they were all taken or broken. There was one shower in our 8-bed dorm, and the shared washroom down the hall had 2 showers that had no dry space in to get changed. The staff were nice and helpful, though. Also cheaper than other hostels in downtown.
  • 57%
  • 08 Jul 2014 Anonymous England
  • Wonderful place to stay. Great location and the bar below is great too. Recommended to anyone travelling to Gastown/Vancouver.
  • 97%
  • 07 Jul 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Like here. First floor is a Bar after midnight is loud. But is okay for me. One night $28 including breakfast and good wifi is good price for solo student. Next door is their Bakery. You can eat breakfast whenever you want before the bakery close. Have coffee or tea or water + one muffin. Also If you want plus $5 more you can get simple English Breakfast. Only thing I don't like is the washroom. only 2 toliet, 2 shower room and 2 sink for girls. At each floor. All of them are small.
  • 80%
  • 20 Jun 2014 SZUWEI Taiwan
  • The Cambie is a typical hostel - nothing much to look at, but hey, it's a (decently clean) bed to sleep in. Benefits are that there is a lively, cheap bar right downstairs; walking distance to most bars/best going out neighborhoods, and the clientelle will likely be other world travellers with interesting stories. Expect to rough it, but have fun
  • 77%
  • 12 Jun 2014 Kathleen USA
  • Very nice staff and neighborhood, close from the skytrain and main things to see in Vancouver. Nice place for the breakfast at the bakery next door.
  • 89%
  • 04 Jun 2014 Anne-Claire France
  • It was SO HOT. No fans in rooms, windows were right onto the busy busy gastown street. No sleep, due to heat and loud drunks outside. Everything else was good. But those are pretty big! I have stayed there before and would again only due to where it's located.
  • 86%
  • 01 May 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Very good location. If you don't want to go out on the weekends it will be hard to fall asleep. Also the free breakfast muffins are good but you eventially get sick of them after some days.
  • 77%
  • 08 Apr 2014 Anonymous Switzerland
  • it was nice hostel. they have a pub in the 1floor so it was good to grab some local beer. but weekend was so loud outside. i couldn't sleep well tho.
  • 80%
  • 31 Jan 2014 okjin South Korea
  • On the weekend, the pub under the hostel is really loud. It doesn't matter, if you are on the first or second floor, you always hear the music. The location is not too bad. At Granville street you can catch the train or you can walk to the Stanley Parc really quick. The washrooms were ok but not brillant. There are only 2 showers for each gender and they are small! Usually you have to change and get dry in the shower too, because there is not really another to do that.
  • 63%
  • 16 Jan 2014 Beke Germany
  • The hotel is located in Vansterdam and 99% of the people staying there smoke nonstop. In the common room and on the rooms. The location is however good, close to the airport train and the buses.
  • 57%
  • 28 Dec 2013 Linde Sweden
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »