See other Vancouver properties

Cambie Hostel - Gastown

300 Cambie St., Vancouver, Vancouver, Canada, Distance from city centre: 4.1km

Rating: 77% from 28 reviews

  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 67%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • this place is special :) being placed basically next to Hastings street, it brings a very interesting atmosphere. The kitchen or bathroom were not the cleanest places on Earth. It was fun to take a few beers in the pub under the hostel and get a breakfast in the same place. The view from the window was splendid :D
  • 77%
  • 25 Aug 2015 Katerina Czech Republic
  • I really loved this hostel and planned on staying again. Next time I will remember to bring a fan (the rooms had bad air circulation so they got hot) and ear plugs (pubs are noisy - but awesome). The bathroom was my only non-fixable issue and even that wasn't a huge deal for me personally. So long as you don't mind being seen naked it won't be an issue. There really isn't a private space to dry off or get dressed in there. Other than that, loved this place!
  • 86%
  • 24 Aug 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Very impressed with the level of cleanliness, especially for such a big hostel!
  • 100%
  • 15 Aug 2015 Jessica
  • Bar below loud and noisy. Washing machine at night noisy....
  • 49%
  • 15 Aug 2015 Marielen Austria
  • Cambie Hostel is in a beatiful part of Vancouver. The old building is very well kept up and the private rooms are clean, affordable, and fairly large. The pub attached is always busy at night, which has its ups and downs; you're always welcomed by the smell of good pub food, but the sounds of loud drunks can be heard throughout the night which may be disruptive to some. The staff is very friendly and polite. The facilities are frequently cleaned. It was very fun to be there.
  • 74%
  • 14 Aug 2015 Heather Canada
  • dirty and broken facilities, window to a very ugly backyard very old environment
  • 37%
  • 27 Jul 2015 Mario
  • Myself and some other girls said they didn't sleep very well due to the noise outside, we didn't get to sleep until about 2-3 in the morning when things finally died down, otherwise the inside of the building was quiet. if I stay again I will try to get a room on a higher floor might make a difference. It was a bonus to have the free coupon for a muffin and tea/coffee. Thanks. Carol
  • 71%
  • 16 Jul 2015 carolyn Canada
  • Hi, We really enjoyed our stay at the Canbie Gastown. all the staff were really friendly and very helpful. It was our home away from home for the Women's World Cup Soccer Tournament. Thanks to all, Elisabeth Russell
  • 91%
  • 04 Jul 2015 Elisabeth USA
  • Great place to stay
  • 100%
  • 30 Jun 2015 Albert USA
  • It was a bit too hot to sleep in the room, but was a totally nice place to find as I was actually new at VANCOUVER. Really enjoyed to be there_THANX
  • 77%
  • 28 Jun 2015 Anonymous South Korea
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »