See other Vancouver properties

Cambie Hostel - Seymour

515 Seymour St. V6B 3H6, Vancouver, Vancouver, Canada, Distance from city centre: 4km

Rating: 74% from 15 reviews

  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 61%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 68%Value for money
  • 64%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Security: The Cambie graciously kept my luggage safe and locked away while I wandered around the city after a delayed flight. Location: Great for the Convention Center. Just 3 or 4 blocks away from the Waterfront Transit Station. Staff: Always pleasant. Atmosphere: Most complaints you'll read stem from bar noise. My room was on the second floor, and I didn't hear a thing. Cleanliness: More from guests in the bathroom than the hostel. Value: Can't be beat
  • 86%
  • 17 Oct 2014 Dylan USA
  • The lady at the front desk was so helpful it really made my stay worthwhile. She made the hostel feel like a home away from home as I traveled alone on my vacation. The location was great as it is in the middle of the downtown area of Vancouver. Finding parking could be a pain if you're not familiar with the area. People appear friendly, not always open for long conversation but willing to out of the way to respect the rules there. Overall a good place with everything within a short distance.
  • 80%
  • 09 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I had a great time staying here, the staff were very accommodating, the kitchen and common areas were also good for meeting people. Would definitely recommend!
  • 83%
  • 05 Sep 2014 Siobhan Australia
  • Our room was dirty, the window was smashed and would not open. The beds were uncomfortable, smelly and dirty.
  • 60%
  • 26 Aug 2014 Lily Scotland
  • I'm not a seasoned hostel veteran, but based on the ones I have stayed at this one was dirty. Two showers is not enough for an entire floor. Also, I got bedbugs at the hostel. When I showed the front desk staff one of the bugs I had managed to capture he just shrugged and didn't seem too concerned (or aware of what it was). The hostel was cheap, but I think next time I am in Vancouver I will pay the extra couple of dollars to stay at a better location.
  • 63%
  • 23 Aug 2014 John Canada
  • It's quite loud, since the hostel is located on top of a popular bar. But on the other hand, the bar is really nice! :) The staff is friendly and really helpful. The breakfast isn't that great though.
  • 74%
  • 19 Aug 2014 Pauline Sweden
  • Absolutely avoid rooms on the first floor, they are directly above the bar downstairs, you hear the music (and feel it) just like if you were in the bar. Absolutely impossible to get any sleep before 2AM.
  • 71%
  • 08 Aug 2014 Eric Canada
  • Multiple card key access doors make the place feel safe. The rooms are very very hot and they do not have any fans. Beds are comfortable but I did find a bed bug on the last night I stayed there. Not the most beautiful place by any means. Bring ear plugs because it gets quite loud outside and you need to keep the windows open because of the heat.
  • 66%
  • 03 Aug 2014 Aaron Canada
  • Great place to stay for the price. A bit run down, i.e. most of the windows don't prop up by themselves (the front desk staff was more than happy to help us out finding something to prop it up with though). No A/C so can get very hot in the summer. Excellent location, about a 10 minute walk to the main downtown area. The bar attached to the Hostel, Malone's, is also pretty good, cheap beer and a good crowd. If you are driving here, take your valuables out of your car! Mine was broken into.
  • 74%
  • 02 Aug 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • The Hostel was alright nice people and a good location. Could have been a bit cleaner... And the breakfast included was a muffin every day. But I had a really good time in Vancouver!
  • 66%
  • 30 Jul 2014 Lelaina Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A time for indulging and spending time with family, it's no wonder that some of the world's best foods make an appearance during Christmas. Here are some of the world's most mou...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »