See other Salt Lake City properties

Camelot Inn & Hostel

165 West 800 South, Salt Lake City, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.1km

Rating: 77% from 27 reviews

  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 62%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 78%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 77%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Nice styling and good taste for an international hostel. The 10% deposit you pay on booking site doesn't count so your card will be charged full room rate after you paid 10% down which means it costs 110% stated price plus $2 fee. Maybe book directly to avoid paying more than you bargained? Very decent beds and internet service along with use of a kitchen though the oven wouldn't bake my pizza. Booking number didn't work but owner was available on phone to fix. 10AM checkout bit too early.
  • 86%
  • 02 Aug 2014 Andrea USA
  • I didn't even stay. I pulled up to find a drunk person passed out across the steps and another ranting and waving his arms about. The parking lot was completely unsecured and as I was on a cross country move I did not feel great about leaving my car there overnight. Total waste of money. Avoid this place.
  • 20%
  • 25 Jul 2014 Torrah USA
  • STAFF IS SORT OF NON-EXISTENT. SELF RUNNING HOSTEL. UNIQUE. LIKE IT. TRANSPORTATION VIA THE METRO RAILROAD IS THE BEST AND CHEAP. CAN'TCOMPLAIN AND WILL STAY AGAIN. WOULD BE NICE IF ROOM WAS A LITTLE COOLER. FOUND OUT I COULD HAVE ASKED FOR A FAN. SHOULD'T HAVE TO ASK PUT A FAN IN ROOM. WE WILL USE IF WE WANT. OTHER GUEST WERE VERY NICE. TOM CHO, SALINAS, CALIFORNIA.
  • 100%
  • 17 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Very clean hostel without any staff around...I enjoyed my stay there...I highly recommend this place... Don't go to SLC without a car:-)
  • 74%
  • 02 Jul 2014 Anonymous Czech Republic
  • The Hostel was cleaner and had more amenities (fridge, stove, microwave, ..., even a panini maker) than several hotels that I've stayed at. Clean room, sheets, and the room was secure. About a 20 minute walk to the heart of SLC downtown. My friend and I had a great experience and would definitely stay in the hostel if we were to visit SLC again.
  • 97%
  • 25 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • it was a great stay.
  • 74%
  • 03 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Very streamlined check in process. I liked it!
  • 100%
  • 04 May 2014 Grace USA
  • Staff is listed "Very Poor" as there were no staff present.
  • 60%
  • 06 Apr 2014 Anonymous Scotland
  • I really liked the self service idea. I didn't like the $5.80 change fee for changing the credit card on file. Having my credit card stolen wasn't a picnic for me either.
  • 80%
  • 27 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The hostel's facilities and set up are of good quality, and it is OK not to be staffed and we do the checking in and out all by ourselves. The beds are comfortable and everything is clean and tidy. I hope that the manager of this hostel can give the first-time visitor to Salt Lake City some assistance by giving him information about what to expect around the hostel - the scarcity of eateries and provision stores etc, and how to go about if not driving, and to reply to enquiry emails.
  • 86%
  • 15 Mar 2014 Anonymous England
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »