See other Salt Lake City properties

Camelot Inn & Hostel

165 West 800 South, Salt Lake City, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.1km

Rating: 79% from 23 reviews

  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 67%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • there is really uncomfortable place there is no employ at all time also many camera all ways watching you!!!
  • 20%
  • 12 Dec 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • It is a pretty cool hostel. The beginning of entering here, you might feel confusing about check in system, but it is easy to use. Everything is good except for noisy beds.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for the good review and rating. ==NOISY BEDS== Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will notify the building staff to address the problem. ==TESTIMONIALS== ...Rooms and beds are very nice, very safe and secure... Overall a very nice stay. Russell L England

  • 80%
  • 07 Oct 2014 Hyoseong South Korea
  • Main complaint: plastic utensils were gross and unsanitary. People are washing them and putting them back in their caddy. Some were oily and not clean. Also the heat was on even though it was 80 degrees during the day. I called to complain, was told it would be turned down, and no change occurred. Our room was sweltering at night. Poor lighting in the room. Had to use a headlamp to read.
    Owner Comment

    ==UTENSILS== Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will have our staff check the utensils and make sure they are clean. ==HEAT== We turn the radiant heating up as the weather gets colder. The heating system is for multiple rooms, so it is difficult to adjust the temp for one single room, but we do try to accommodate. ==TESTIMONIALS== ...the place was clean every single day; bathrooms kitchen, all the areas clean all the time, Adrian A Chile

  • 63%
  • 07 Oct 2014 Marissa USA
  • Best hostel in SLC! This place was comfortable and felt safe. A lot of the negative reviews I see here are due to the absence of staff. But the truth is, that is the procedure of the place. There are no staff consistently present, no front desk. I can see how some might not like this, but it's not done out of laziness. The system is entirely automated. The showers are clean and so are the bedrooms. It's located right next to a tram station so it's easy to get around town.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for the sincere comments and great rating!

  • 94%
  • 04 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Overall, my experience at Camelot was pretty positive. I was very impressed by the check in/check out system...it was very hassle free and easy to understand. The facility itself was very clean and well kept. I didn't care for the area much, though...it was a little bit ghetto. Also, The parking situation for guests was kind of hard to understand. There was mention of a gravel lot nearby but it wasn't clearly marked for Camelot guests...at least not that I saw.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you very much for praising our check-in system and cleanliness. ==PARKING== The parking lot is directly adjacent to the building, right off of 800South. ==TESTIMONIALS== ...The area seemed pretty safe, and there is enough parking for your car if you're on a road trip. Brian D Illinois, USA ...Very safe area, and the building is secure. Joey S England, UK

  • 86%
  • 29 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Nice styling and good taste for an international hostel. The 10% deposit you pay on booking site doesn't count so your card will be charged full room rate after you paid 10% down which means it costs 110% stated price plus $2 fee. Maybe book directly to avoid paying more than you bargained? Very decent beds and internet service along with use of a kitchen though the oven wouldn't bake my pizza. Booking number didn't work but owner was available on phone to fix. 10AM checkout bit too early.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for praising our property! ==OVEN== We are sorry for this inconvenience. We will have our staff look into it. ==TESTIMONIALS== ...the rooms were nice and very private. I received exactly what I needed when staying there though, a good sleep and my own room. C.B. Location unknown ...It's much better than I expected and worth the money. Anonymous Illinois, USA

  • 86%
  • 02 Aug 2014 Andrea USA
  • STAFF IS SORT OF NON-EXISTENT. SELF RUNNING HOSTEL. UNIQUE. LIKE IT. TRANSPORTATION VIA THE METRO RAILROAD IS THE BEST AND CHEAP. CAN'TCOMPLAIN AND WILL STAY AGAIN. WOULD BE NICE IF ROOM WAS A LITTLE COOLER. FOUND OUT I COULD HAVE ASKED FOR A FAN. SHOULD'T HAVE TO ASK PUT A FAN IN ROOM. WE WILL USE IF WE WANT. OTHER GUEST WERE VERY NICE. TOM CHO, SALINAS, CALIFORNIA.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for your praise! ==HOT ROOM== We have swamp coolers in the common areas, and windows and ceiling fans in each of the rooms to circulate the cool air. ==TESTIMONIALS== ...The rooms were comfortable and clean. Common amenities were tidy and all appliances were serviceable. I would stay here again when in town. Eddie M Ohio, USA ...The Rooms were very comfortable...a good value for money. Ashley P New Zealand

  • 100%
  • 17 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Very clean hostel without any staff around...I enjoyed my stay there...I highly recommend this place... Don't go to SLC without a car:-)
    Owner Comment

    Thank you very much for praising our property! ==STAFF== We have a housekeeping staff on site every morning, and we are in the process of hiring an office aide. ==TESTIMONIALS== Excellent service. Staff was friendly, humorous, and helpful. Every amenity I needed or asked for was available for use...I would definitely stay again. Timothy M. Location Unknown

  • 74%
  • 02 Jul 2014 Anonymous Czech Republic
  • The Hostel was cleaner and had more amenities (fridge, stove, microwave, ..., even a panini maker) than several hotels that I've stayed at. Clean room, sheets, and the room was secure. About a 20 minute walk to the heart of SLC downtown. My friend and I had a great experience and would definitely stay in the hostel if we were to visit SLC again.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for complimenting our amenities, cleanliness, and location!

  • 97%
  • 25 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • it was a great stay.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

  • 74%
  • 03 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Some people can take a two week holiday and spend every day relaxing at the beach. Some prefer the beach to do activities, take a jog first thing in the morning, party at night...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »