See other Salt Lake City properties

Camelot Inn & Hostel

165 West 800 South, Salt Lake City, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.1km

Rating: 76% from 23 reviews

  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 60%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 78%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 77%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I thought it was a bit strange that there was no host there to greet the guests. It made the place feel less cared-for, and even a little bit less safe. I appreciate the computerized check-in because it allowed me to arrive at the hostel late at night, but I wish there could have been someone at the hostel throughout the day at least... I received a single room with just one bed, for the normal price, which is why i said that the "value for money" was "excellent" and the facilities were good
  • 66%
  • 25 Feb 2015 Joseph USA
  • Cute hostel located close enough to the city centre. Right near public transport. Clean, simple, good atmosphere and a great stay. Couple of down sides: no one on reception desk due to online checkin so we couldn't get any local inste and the springs in the bed were noisey. Minor issues, would recommend if you are looking for a simple clean place to stay in SLC.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for praising our property and location! We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay. ==RECEPTION== We are in the process of hiring an office aide to be on the property in the mornings. We also have a friendly housekeeping staff, and we are available by phone anytime to answer questions. ==BED== Thank you for letting us know. We will look into the issue. =TESTIMONIALS= ...staff was pleasant and helpful. Dawn W Ausralia

  • 89%
  • 12 Jan 2015 Fauntine Australia
  • Fair warning, there is definitely a mystery management vibe, the only staff member I ever saw was the cleaning lady. However, that being said, the place was clean, quiet, and within walking distance of downtown even in the winter (about 20-25 minutes walk from Temple Square, shorter on the UTA). I went in December, so not exactly tourist season (I had the girl's dorm to myself for 3 nights) but I still met some cool people. I'd recommend the place highly!
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for your great comments and rating! We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay. ==STAFF== Our management is available by phone to answer any questions. We are also in the process of hiring a morning office aide to be on the property. ==TESTIMONIALS== ...While we didn't need any help the staff seemed very available. We had a warm welcome! Emma E. Sweden

  • 86%
  • 26 Dec 2014 Tara USA
  • there is really uncomfortable place there is no employ at all time also many camera all ways watching you!!!
    Owner Comment

    ==STAFF== We have friendly housekeeping staff on site every morning, and we are currently hiring office staff for morning hours. We are also available by phone to answer any questions. ==CAMERAS== The security cameras are for the safety of the guests, because it is a self check-in hostel. Most guests find our property very safe and comfortable. =TESTIMONIALS= ...you feel safe and its in a great place. Marianne V Oregon, USA

  • 20%
  • 12 Dec 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • I did not see another human being the whole 3 days I was there, it was kind of creepy but kind of great cause it was like I had my own house. Everything was super clean and organized and the TV in the rooms was amazing. The beds weren't great and were a little squeaky but I was the only one in my dorm so it didn't really matter. Location was right near downtown near transit and groceries and stuff. This place was great! But don't go hoping to make friends.
  • 54%
  • 25 Nov 2014 Jason Canada
  • It is a pretty cool hostel. The beginning of entering here, you might feel confusing about check in system, but it is easy to use. Everything is good except for noisy beds.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for the good review and rating. ==NOISY BEDS== Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will notify the building staff to address the problem. ==TESTIMONIALS== ...Rooms and beds are very nice, very safe and secure... Overall a very nice stay. Russell L England

  • 80%
  • 07 Oct 2014 Hyoseong South Korea
  • Main complaint: plastic utensils were gross and unsanitary. People are washing them and putting them back in their caddy. Some were oily and not clean. Also the heat was on even though it was 80 degrees during the day. I called to complain, was told it would be turned down, and no change occurred. Our room was sweltering at night. Poor lighting in the room. Had to use a headlamp to read.
    Owner Comment

    ==UTENSILS== Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will have our staff check the utensils and make sure they are clean. ==HEAT== We turn the radiant heating up as the weather gets colder. The heating system is for multiple rooms, so it is difficult to adjust the temp for one single room, but we do try to accommodate. ==TESTIMONIALS== ...the place was clean every single day; bathrooms kitchen, all the areas clean all the time, Adrian A Chile

  • 63%
  • 07 Oct 2014 Marissa USA
  • Best hostel in SLC! This place was comfortable and felt safe. A lot of the negative reviews I see here are due to the absence of staff. But the truth is, that is the procedure of the place. There are no staff consistently present, no front desk. I can see how some might not like this, but it's not done out of laziness. The system is entirely automated. The showers are clean and so are the bedrooms. It's located right next to a tram station so it's easy to get around town.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for the sincere comments and great rating!

  • 94%
  • 04 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Overall, my experience at Camelot was pretty positive. I was very impressed by the check in/check out system...it was very hassle free and easy to understand. The facility itself was very clean and well kept. I didn't care for the area much, though...it was a little bit ghetto. Also, The parking situation for guests was kind of hard to understand. There was mention of a gravel lot nearby but it wasn't clearly marked for Camelot guests...at least not that I saw.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you very much for praising our check-in system and cleanliness. ==PARKING== The parking lot is directly adjacent to the building, right off of 800South. ==TESTIMONIALS== ...The area seemed pretty safe, and there is enough parking for your car if you're on a road trip. Brian D Illinois, USA ...Very safe area, and the building is secure. Joey S England, UK

  • 86%
  • 29 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Nice styling and good taste for an international hostel. The 10% deposit you pay on booking site doesn't count so your card will be charged full room rate after you paid 10% down which means it costs 110% stated price plus $2 fee. Maybe book directly to avoid paying more than you bargained? Very decent beds and internet service along with use of a kitchen though the oven wouldn't bake my pizza. Booking number didn't work but owner was available on phone to fix. 10AM checkout bit too early.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for praising our property! ==OVEN== We are sorry for this inconvenience. We will have our staff look into it. ==TESTIMONIALS== ...the rooms were nice and very private. I received exactly what I needed when staying there though, a good sleep and my own room. C.B. Location unknown ...It's much better than I expected and worth the money. Anonymous Illinois, USA

  • 86%
  • 02 Aug 2014 Andrea USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

15 fantastic Irish bars you can party in on St. Patrick's Day

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »