See other Salt Lake City properties

Camelot Inn & Hostel

165 West 800 South, Salt Lake City, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.1km

Rating: 75% from 30 reviews

  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 63%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 76%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 75%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It is a pretty cool hostel. The beginning of entering here, you might feel confusing about check in system, but it is easy to use. Everything is good except for noisy beds.
  • 80%
  • 07 Oct 2014 Hyoseong South Korea
  • Main complaint: plastic utensils were gross and unsanitary. People are washing them and putting them back in their caddy. Some were oily and not clean. Also the heat was on even though it was 80 degrees during the day. I called to complain, was told it would be turned down, and no change occurred. Our room was sweltering at night. Poor lighting in the room. Had to use a headlamp to read.
  • 63%
  • 07 Oct 2014 Marissa USA
  • devious staff, never book this hostel
  • 20%
  • 04 Oct 2014 Milton Brazil
  • Best hostel in SLC! This place was comfortable and felt safe. A lot of the negative reviews I see here are due to the absence of staff. But the truth is, that is the procedure of the place. There are no staff consistently present, no front desk. I can see how some might not like this, but it's not done out of laziness. The system is entirely automated. The showers are clean and so are the bedrooms. It's located right next to a tram station so it's easy to get around town.
  • 94%
  • 04 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Overall, my experience at Camelot was pretty positive. I was very impressed by the check in/check out system...it was very hassle free and easy to understand. The facility itself was very clean and well kept. I didn't care for the area much, though...it was a little bit ghetto. Also, The parking situation for guests was kind of hard to understand. There was mention of a gravel lot nearby but it wasn't clearly marked for Camelot guests...at least not that I saw.
  • 86%
  • 29 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • After booking a room and traveling quite a ways to get the the place. I noticed I couldn't check in. So I called owner and he told me to leave his premises and call from outside. When I asked what the problem was he asked what type of card did I have. After telling him the bank and explaining that it was a debit card he said that he was canceling the reservation. He was very rude. I had a creditcard but after how nasty he was I decided to go elsewhere. Don't waste your time. Poor service
  • 57%
  • 07 Sep 2014 Robert USA
  • Nice styling and good taste for an international hostel. The 10% deposit you pay on booking site doesn't count so your card will be charged full room rate after you paid 10% down which means it costs 110% stated price plus $2 fee. Maybe book directly to avoid paying more than you bargained? Very decent beds and internet service along with use of a kitchen though the oven wouldn't bake my pizza. Booking number didn't work but owner was available on phone to fix. 10AM checkout bit too early.
  • 86%
  • 02 Aug 2014 Andrea USA
  • I didn't even stay. I pulled up to find a drunk person passed out across the steps and another ranting and waving his arms about. The parking lot was completely unsecured and as I was on a cross country move I did not feel great about leaving my car there overnight. Total waste of money. Avoid this place.
  • 20%
  • 25 Jul 2014 Torrah USA
  • STAFF IS SORT OF NON-EXISTENT. SELF RUNNING HOSTEL. UNIQUE. LIKE IT. TRANSPORTATION VIA THE METRO RAILROAD IS THE BEST AND CHEAP. CAN'TCOMPLAIN AND WILL STAY AGAIN. WOULD BE NICE IF ROOM WAS A LITTLE COOLER. FOUND OUT I COULD HAVE ASKED FOR A FAN. SHOULD'T HAVE TO ASK PUT A FAN IN ROOM. WE WILL USE IF WE WANT. OTHER GUEST WERE VERY NICE. TOM CHO, SALINAS, CALIFORNIA.
  • 100%
  • 17 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Very clean hostel without any staff around...I enjoyed my stay there...I highly recommend this place... Don't go to SLC without a car:-)
  • 74%
  • 02 Jul 2014 Anonymous Czech Republic
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »