See other Salt Lake City properties

Camelot Inn & Hostel

165 West 800 South, Salt Lake City, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.1km

Rating: 77% from 24 reviews

  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 62%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 79%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • STAFF IS SORT OF NON-EXISTENT. SELF RUNNING HOSTEL. UNIQUE. LIKE IT. TRANSPORTATION VIA THE METRO RAILROAD IS THE BEST AND CHEAP. CAN'TCOMPLAIN AND WILL STAY AGAIN. WOULD BE NICE IF ROOM WAS A LITTLE COOLER. FOUND OUT I COULD HAVE ASKED FOR A FAN. SHOULD'T HAVE TO ASK PUT A FAN IN ROOM. WE WILL USE IF WE WANT. OTHER GUEST WERE VERY NICE. TOM CHO, SALINAS, CALIFORNIA.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for your praise! ==HOT ROOM== We have swamp coolers in the common areas, and windows and ceiling fans in each of the rooms to circulate the cool air. ==TESTIMONIALS== ...The rooms were comfortable and clean. Common amenities were tidy and all appliances were serviceable. I would stay here again when in town. Eddie M Ohio, USA ...The Rooms were very comfortable...a good value for money. Ashley P New Zealand

  • 100%
  • 17 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Very clean hostel without any staff around...I enjoyed my stay there...I highly recommend this place... Don't go to SLC without a car:-)
    Owner Comment

    Thank you very much for praising our property! ==STAFF== We have a housekeeping staff on site every morning, and we are in the process of hiring an office aide. ==TESTIMONIALS== Excellent service. Staff was friendly, humorous, and helpful. Every amenity I needed or asked for was available for use...I would definitely stay again. Timothy M. Location Unknown

  • 74%
  • 02 Jul 2014 Anonymous Czech Republic
  • The Hostel was cleaner and had more amenities (fridge, stove, microwave, ..., even a panini maker) than several hotels that I've stayed at. Clean room, sheets, and the room was secure. About a 20 minute walk to the heart of SLC downtown. My friend and I had a great experience and would definitely stay in the hostel if we were to visit SLC again.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for complimenting our amenities, cleanliness, and location!

  • 97%
  • 25 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • it was a great stay.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

  • 74%
  • 03 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Very streamlined check in process. I liked it!
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for praising our check-in system.

  • 100%
  • 04 May 2014 Grace USA
  • Staff is listed "Very Poor" as there were no staff present.
    Owner Comment

    ==STAFF== We have a friendly housekeeping staff on the property each morning, and we now have office staff working on site during the morning hours. ==TESTIMONIALS== Great location for the price and the staff were very helpful. Lucia C Portugal ...The staff was very present and involved, making certain that certain questions were answered. Dan C California, USA

  • 60%
  • 06 Apr 2014 Anonymous Scotland
  • I really liked the self service idea. I didn't like the $5.80 change fee for changing the credit card on file. Having my credit card stolen wasn't a picnic for me either.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for praising our self check-in system. ==CHANGE FEE== We didn't charge the fee because your card was stolen, we did it to compensate for the time and effort it takes to change our records and authorize a new form of payment. We are sorry that your card was stolen.

  • 80%
  • 27 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The hostel's facilities and set up are of good quality, and it is OK not to be staffed and we do the checking in and out all by ourselves. The beds are comfortable and everything is clean and tidy. I hope that the manager of this hostel can give the first-time visitor to Salt Lake City some assistance by giving him information about what to expect around the hostel - the scarcity of eateries and provision stores etc, and how to go about if not driving, and to reply to enquiry emails.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for praising our property. ==INFO ABOUT THE AREA== We have listed many local stores, restaurants, etc on our FAQ page on our website. ==INQUIRY EMAILS== We have office staff that will answer any inquiry phone calls or emails. ==TESTIMONIALS== The staff was very present and involved, making certain that certain questions were answered. Dan C California, USA

  • 86%
  • 15 Mar 2014 Anonymous England
  • Great comfy place.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for the compliment and great rating!

  • 94%
  • 10 Mar 2014 JING WEI Canada
  • This was a great visit. A hostel is still full of interesting people even if there isn't any staff around.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for the great review and rating. ==STAFF== We do have a housekeeping staff on site every morning, and we now have morning office staff, as well.

  • 94%
  • 03 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

No matter where you are there's always time for a great beer with great friends. Check out our guide to cheap but awesome beer all over the world

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »