See other Toronto properties

Canadiana Backpackers Inn

42 Widmer St., Toronto, Toronto, Canada, Distance from city centre: 2.9km

Rating: 82% from 42 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 77%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The staff were friendly and helpful enough. The street was a little hard to find, and there seemed to constantly be people sitting on the front steps leading up to the hostel, blocking the entrance. Bathrooms were clean, but the third floor only had one bathroom for more than two dorms, which meant having to go down to the basement for more bathrooms. For the price, it's a good deal though. I had an unfortunate experience with room mates who were very rude.
  • 74%
  • 25 Jul 2014 Anonymous Singapore
  • The cleanliness was really poor, I think they were bed bugs because of the multiple red and itchy bites that I had weaking up ... Anyway the location was good :)
  • 60%
  • 23 Jul 2014 Anonymous Morocco
  • Friendly staff and awesome location.
  • 97%
  • 06 Jul 2014 siu yun Malaysia
  • It cost us a lot more than advertised. Breakfast only pancakes - no other choices.
  • 60%
  • 15 Jun 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • Nice hostel and really well located, i'm a happy walker and i could get everywhere easily by foot. A couple of the staff could be a little abrupt when it came time for the common areas to be cleaned. Toilets seemed to have an issue with flushing toilet paper, most times when you walked in there was a good wad sitting in the bowl. The quad rooms were quite crampt, ok if you'd booked it out with friends but not so great otherwise. Daily/Nightly activities were good to have as a newbie
  • 80%
  • 11 Jun 2014 Michael Australia
  • Will be back!!!
  • 83%
  • 27 May 2014 Janette Canada
  • I felt absolutely comfortable
  • 94%
  • 23 May 2014 Galatia Germany
  • This hostel met my needs for the days I was in Toronto. I didn't spend much time in the building, but when I was there, I was able to get comfortable and have a light breakfast. They were helpful when I had to push my arrival back a day and also with splitting the check out dates of my friend (5/24) and I (5/25).
  • 91%
  • 21 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Canadianna Backpackers is a very good choice with low cost. Clean, secure and a good package of services. Good and fast wifi service. The location isn't in the downtown but is ok. At night a little far from the best places to walk, but Toronto is a good city to walk. The hostel's staff is very good. I recommend!
  • 91%
  • 28 Apr 2014 Fabiano Brazil
  • Canadiana is definitely a first-class hostel. It is walking distance to almost ANYTHING in Toronto, you name it: King St., CN Tower, Queen St. West, TIFF Lightbox, the National Ballet of Canada. Besides that, rooms are super-tidy, facilities are great, staff is MEGA friendly and they have a daily fun schedule including karaoke and guided visits to beer factories. They have even a CINEMA ROOM. The best hostel i've been to. Thanks, Canadiana!
  • 100%
  • 22 Mar 2014 Henrique Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »