See other Toronto properties

Canadiana Backpackers Inn

42 Widmer St., Toronto, Toronto, Canada, Distance from city centre: 2.9km

Rating: 81% from 46 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 77%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Canadiana is definitely a first-class hostel. It is walking distance to almost ANYTHING in Toronto, you name it: King St., CN Tower, Queen St. West, TIFF Lightbox, the National Ballet of Canada. Besides that, rooms are super-tidy, facilities are great, staff is MEGA friendly and they have a daily fun schedule including karaoke and guided visits to beer factories. They have even a CINEMA ROOM. The best hostel i've been to. Thanks, Canadiana!
  • 100%
  • 22 Mar 2014 Henrique Brazil
  • I had a good time at this hostel. The staff and travelers were both very friendly ! The hostel was also very clean and well based. If I come back in Toronto I would book a reservation in this hostel again.
  • 89%
  • 18 Mar 2014 Estelle France
  • I can recommend this hostel, it is in a good location with many cafés, bars and restaurants around, not far from the CN Tower and financial district. The beds are fine, the rooms clean, the overall atmosphere is good! The pancakes for breakfast are good, on the weekend there is only one bagel per person. They had nice events in the evening. I thought it was a little pricy, but not too much ;-)
  • 77%
  • 14 Feb 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • LaughableStaff,FakelyConcernedAboutYourStay,OftenTooStiff,ButAlsoUnwittinglyUnfair,whenApplyingSomeSenselessRulesAtTheExpensesOfUrComfort.UCanBeRudelyKickedOutOfKitchen&CmonRooms when its cleaning time(even in lunch time if Mr. Flying Fakku is in bad mood).Since these robotic hypocrites allow check-in 24 h.,noise at night is rife(HardlySleptWell InAWeek).Kitchen:unsafe w/utterly inadequateOldFacilities.LaundryIneffective.It'sA bit of a nice n clean MilitaryBarrackW/boring&conventional atmosphere
  • 49%
  • 03 Jan 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • I appreciate the free breakfast and understand that were getting a good price but maybe a larger selection or quantity of what is free? Other than that extremelty helpful and friendly staff.
  • 91%
  • 30 Nov 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • Good Location and Breakfast included makes it well worth the price.
  • 91%
  • 24 Nov 2013 Anonymous Pakistan
  • Wonderful, perfectly placed Hostel. The private rooms are great.
  • 83%
  • 15 Nov 2013 Joseph Canada
  • Positive: location (easy access to waterfront & downtown; restaurants, cafés and convenience stores nearby), frugal breakfast included, great shower and in-room, renovated bathroom (not available in all rooms). Negative: kitchen and laundry facilities in separate building, thin mattress and stained linen, incredibly noisy heating (like having a hairdryer going on and off inside the room all night long), no coat hangers.
  • 66%
  • 14 Nov 2013 Priscila and Henrique Brazil
  • Great hostel, really enjoyed my stay.
  • 100%
  • 18 Oct 2013 David England
  • Nice hostel but one of the worst beds I've ever slept in.
  • 66%
  • 14 Oct 2013 Anonymous Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »