See other Toronto properties

Canadiana Backpackers Inn

42 Widmer St., Toronto, Toronto, Canada, Distance from city centre: 2.9km

Rating: 82% from 44 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I had such a lovely time at the Canadiana Backpackers Inn! This was my first visit to Toronto, and it surely won't be my last. You can't get a better location in downtown Toronto than this -- it was especially great for me, as I was in town to attend the Toronto International Film Festival! I highly recommend this great hostel.
  • 97%
  • 03 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Canadiana Backpackers Inn is an excellent option for travellers constrained by small budgets. The rooms are small but well-maintained, and the shared bathrooms are kept clean throughout the day. The location is ideal as it is right at the entertainment district in downtown Toronto; however, there are a few condos being built nearby so I'd recommend getting earplugs. For the price, the hostel offers a wide selection of tourist-friendly activities and facilities.
  • 97%
  • 26 Aug 2014 Steven Canada
  • The staff were friendly and helpful enough. The street was a little hard to find, and there seemed to constantly be people sitting on the front steps leading up to the hostel, blocking the entrance. Bathrooms were clean, but the third floor only had one bathroom for more than two dorms, which meant having to go down to the basement for more bathrooms. For the price, it's a good deal though. I had an unfortunate experience with room mates who were very rude.
  • 74%
  • 25 Jul 2014 Anonymous Singapore
  • The cleanliness was really poor, I think they were bed bugs because of the multiple red and itchy bites that I had weaking up ... Anyway the location was good :)
  • 60%
  • 23 Jul 2014 Anonymous Morocco
  • Friendly staff and awesome location.
  • 97%
  • 06 Jul 2014 siu yun Malaysia
  • It cost us a lot more than advertised. Breakfast only pancakes - no other choices.
  • 60%
  • 15 Jun 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • Nice hostel and really well located, i'm a happy walker and i could get everywhere easily by foot. A couple of the staff could be a little abrupt when it came time for the common areas to be cleaned. Toilets seemed to have an issue with flushing toilet paper, most times when you walked in there was a good wad sitting in the bowl. The quad rooms were quite crampt, ok if you'd booked it out with friends but not so great otherwise. Daily/Nightly activities were good to have as a newbie
  • 80%
  • 11 Jun 2014 Michael Australia
  • Will be back!!!
  • 83%
  • 27 May 2014 Janette Canada
  • I felt absolutely comfortable
  • 94%
  • 23 May 2014 Galatia Germany
  • This hostel met my needs for the days I was in Toronto. I didn't spend much time in the building, but when I was there, I was able to get comfortable and have a light breakfast. They were helpful when I had to push my arrival back a day and also with splitting the check out dates of my friend (5/24) and I (5/25).
  • 91%
  • 21 May 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One of the most enjoyable aspects of travel is that of exploring different landscapes and experiencing sights and sounds that seem a world away from what you're used to back at home. There are so many diverse terrains across the world, from dramatic, desolate mountain vistas to impossibly bustling market streets; and many countries can offer a variety of spectacular sights with astonishing diversity. Here are just five of our favourite views from across the globe.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »