See other Toronto properties

Canadiana Backpackers Inn

42 Widmer St., Toronto, Toronto, Canada, Distance from city centre: 2.9km

Rating: 81% from 46 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 80%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 77%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great atmosphere and location. There was only one shower in my hall, so there was a bit of a backup. Good overall though.
  • 71%
  • 13 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Stayed here for one night back in October after a night out, great location in Downtown Toronto, rooms are clean and staff are great. Despite only staying one night I can see this place is well geared up for a fuyn and lively atmosphere as there are plenty of events posters and a big communal space. The room I stayed in was a couple of buildings down from Reception and its basically like having your own little apartment which I believe contains only 2 other bedrooms. All in all Very good. Thanks
  • 91%
  • 12 Oct 2013 James England
  • Didn't feel a good atmosphere in my stay, the hostel could provide more integration activities. The room was clean, but the private shower didn't have hot water. The lack of individuals lights near the beds bothered me a lot as well, since you can't do much when people start to sleep. Excelent location though, near the main streets in downtown.
  • 71%
  • 05 Sep 2013 Anonymous Brazil
  • Canadiana Backpackers Inn is by far the best hostel I've stayed in. From the moment you walk in: to the day you check out; the staff are very welcoming. The atmosphere in the hostel is great. If you are social enough to get involved with people then it has a big family atmosphere. Make the most of it! The facilities are clean and well kept. The only complaint I have is the lack of sleep I got some nights due to the heat; even with air conditioning... But that is hardly the fault of the hostel!
  • 91%
  • 26 Aug 2013 Steven Scotland
  • I stayed at Female Dorm, but a girl came back at 3 a.m. and bring her boy friend to sleep on her bed. Oh, No. And someone open washroom with key, even I locked. I felt totally unsafe, when I stay there.
  • 51%
  • 01 Aug 2013 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • A hostel I defenetly would stay at again! The lookers in the rooms could have been more safe and a better ac.
  • 74%
  • 19 Jul 2013 Anonymous Sweden
  • Our time at Canadiana was terrific - great atmosphere, very clean, helpful staff, and excellent location.
  • 100%
  • 17 Jul 2013 Nicole Canada
  • I was in building 52. Hallway smelled like someone had urinated on the carpet. My room, however, was very clean and pleasant smelling.
  • 80%
  • 17 Jul 2013 Barbara Canada
  • Typical hostel. Had good atmosphere; however, room was incredibly hot during my visit.
  • 74%
  • 07 Jul 2013 Nicholas USA
  • this was my first Hostel, and I was so happy to have been to this one as my first. the staff was so friendly, and the facilities were really nice. above all, the people you meet there are so friendly, open and sociable. it's been a great experience, and the free breakfasts, just made it close to perfect.
  • 100%
  • 29 Jun 2013 Anonymous France
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »