See other Toronto properties

Canadiana Backpackers Inn

42 Widmer St., Toronto, Toronto, Canada, Distance from city centre: 2.9km

Rating: 81% from 43 reviews

  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 76%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • LaughableStaff,FakelyConcernedAboutYourStay,OftenTooStiff,ButAlsoUnwittinglyUnfair,whenApplyingSomeSenselessRulesAtTheExpensesOfUrComfort.UCanBeRudelyKickedOutOfKitchen&CmonRooms when its cleaning time(even in lunch time if Mr. Flying Fakku is in bad mood).Since these robotic hypocrites allow check-in 24 h.,noise at night is rife(HardlySleptWell InAWeek).Kitchen:unsafe w/utterly inadequateOldFacilities.LaundryIneffective.It'sA bit of a nice n clean MilitaryBarrackW/boring&conventional atmosphere
  • 49%
  • 03 Jan 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • I appreciate the free breakfast and understand that were getting a good price but maybe a larger selection or quantity of what is free? Other than that extremelty helpful and friendly staff.
  • 91%
  • 30 Nov 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • Good Location and Breakfast included makes it well worth the price.
  • 91%
  • 24 Nov 2013 Anonymous Pakistan
  • Wonderful, perfectly placed Hostel. The private rooms are great.
  • 83%
  • 15 Nov 2013 Joseph Canada
  • Positive: location (easy access to waterfront & downtown; restaurants, cafés and convenience stores nearby), frugal breakfast included, great shower and in-room, renovated bathroom (not available in all rooms). Negative: kitchen and laundry facilities in separate building, thin mattress and stained linen, incredibly noisy heating (like having a hairdryer going on and off inside the room all night long), no coat hangers.
  • 66%
  • 14 Nov 2013 Priscila and Henrique Brazil
  • Great hostel, really enjoyed my stay.
  • 100%
  • 18 Oct 2013 David England
  • Nice hostel but one of the worst beds I've ever slept in.
  • 66%
  • 14 Oct 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • Great atmosphere and location. There was only one shower in my hall, so there was a bit of a backup. Good overall though.
  • 71%
  • 13 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Stayed here for one night back in October after a night out, great location in Downtown Toronto, rooms are clean and staff are great. Despite only staying one night I can see this place is well geared up for a fuyn and lively atmosphere as there are plenty of events posters and a big communal space. The room I stayed in was a couple of buildings down from Reception and its basically like having your own little apartment which I believe contains only 2 other bedrooms. All in all Very good. Thanks
  • 91%
  • 12 Oct 2013 James England
  • Didn't feel a good atmosphere in my stay, the hostel could provide more integration activities. The room was clean, but the private shower didn't have hot water. The lack of individuals lights near the beds bothered me a lot as well, since you can't do much when people start to sleep. Excelent location though, near the main streets in downtown.
  • 71%
  • 05 Sep 2013 Anonymous Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »