See other Washington DC properties

Canal Inn Georgetown

1061 31st Street NW, Washington DC, USA, Distance from city centre: 2.4km

Rating: 72% from 12 reviews

  • 61%Atmosphere
  • 63%Staff
  • 65%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 75%Value for money
  • 66%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Stayed here for 3 nights whilst travelling - in a great location and really easy to find from the bus routes. Beds were super comfy and the staff were really helpful. Breakfast is basic but enough to satisfy you first thing in the morning. Had a really enjoyable stay here.
  • 86%
  • 23 Aug 2015 Sarah England
  • Not good. There's rarely anyone at reception, so good luck getting into the building when you first arrive! At one point they erroneously cut off my key card, and I would have been stuck on the street at night if another guest hadn't come by. A small tray of white bread and mini-bagels is not a "continental breakfast." Maria, one of the main staff, doesn't know the meaning of the word "hospitality." Enjoy!
  • 43%
  • 05 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I thought the Canal Inn was a convenient place to stay. It was well located for me with what I was there to do and each day my towels were replaced and room was clean. I was pleased with the service. The breakfast was small with some fruit, small bagels, toast, and juice but it was good and got me started on my day. Wish it would've been a little bit cheaper but I'd be willing to stay there again based on the location and my experience there my first time staying. I would recommend it to others.
  • 83%
  • 06 May 2015 Jeffrey USA
  • I didn't like having two women knock on my door at midnight. They wanted to come into my room without a key. I called the owner who told me to let them in. I very reluctantly opened the door. They had no reservation and just came in when someone was going outside the sidewalk door. This is poor management. If no one is at the desk, they shouldn't rent a room. They had no idea who the women were and neither did I. I don't think I want to be put at risk like this again. That was dangerous.
  • 66%
  • 16 Apr 2015 Marvella USA
  • Lots of trouble checking in. No one was there and then there was a scheduling issue. A long-time guest even told me it's a weird place, the staff is hardly there. Still, I felt fairly safe. The bathroom had towels, soap, shampoo, and conditioner. The bed was comfy and appeared clean. Free breakfast was mini bagels, tea, coffee, juice, and apples. There was a microwave, toaster, and cream cheese, jam, and butter. I felt I was in good company w/ the other guests, mostly women. Pretty nice area.
  • 66%
  • 22 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The Canal Inn refused to honor my reservation, said they did not receive a confirmation mail (whatever that means). They were completely awful; disorganized, unapologetic, and unhelpful; offered no alternatives. I ended up at the HI DC hostel, who were incredibly kind when an exhausted, teary traveller walked through their doors. Tldr: DO NOT STAY HERE, unless you want to end up homeless and stranded in DC.
  • 20%
  • 18 Mar 2015 Michaela USA
  • Well-run, clean small budget hotel. Cramped spaces used very well. Staff not overly friendly. Had a lot of difficulty getting hot water from the taps. However, the location is excellent for what you pay.
  • 80%
  • 12 Mar 2015 Thor USA
  • Very clean and quiet hostel. More like a hotel than a youth hostel, so great if you're just looking for an affordable place to stay for a night or two.
  • 86%
  • 02 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Clean and I liked the panoramic view from the shower in the room I stayed in. Stayed there for 4 nights and only had a room mate for 1. Nicely positioned downtown and walking distance from many attractions such as White House and museums. wi-fi signal was bad in my room and had always to go downstairs for good signal, thats the only thing I found irritating.
  • 80%
  • 13 Sep 2014 Melusi South Africa
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »