See other Washington DC properties

Capital Comfort Hostel

1610 7th street NW, Washington DC, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.4km

Rating: 63% from 41 reviews

  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 64%Staff
  • 64%Security
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 76%Location
  • 67%Value for money
  • 53%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • If you're travelling to explore city and spend as less money as you can for the transportation and accomodation - this is the best choice! Hostel just in 7-10 min from subway and 5 min from 7/11 so you can buy some food and cook in hostel - that's no problem! Just 2 metro stops from the center, very convenient! This hostel just perfect for it's price! I also was completely satisfied about conditions, comfortable beds, neat rooms and kitchen.
  • 100%
  • 22 Jul 2014 Anonymous Ukraine
  • The kitchen was basic, not much in terms of crockery etc, in the bathroom one toiletseat was loose. Nice accommodating staff however, we had a good time.
  • 69%
  • 17 Jul 2014 Anemone Germany
  • If the bed have cover that will be great. Also, arranging the hosters should be flaxabal. The attendant could leave his mobile number so if anyone need anything to contact him.
  • 83%
  • 17 Jul 2014 Anonymous Saudi Arabia
  • It's easy walking distance from the metro (and literally next to a bus stop). The area is safe. The staff is generally friendly; however, when I was there, one of the members snapped at someone and almost hit him (I don't know who was right of wrong, but it was disturbing). The downstairs bathroom is poorly maintained, as one of the toilets' doors doesn't shut properly. They don't seem to be cleaning the fridge often, and the pans are all stratched.
  • 80%
  • 04 May 2014 Pierre-Guy Canada
  • Horrible! There was one pretty young lady at the front desk who tried her best at customer service but the rest of the staff was horrible. This is by far the worse hostel I have ever stayed at. The kitchen is as small as the kitchen of a one bedroom apartment and it is meant to serve many people. ALL bathrooms are coed, even if you have a room with all females you will have to share the bathroom with strange men. There was a man sleeping in the hallway outside of your room. We felt unsafe.
  • 40%
  • 02 May 2014 LaTina USA
  • Only one bathroom for more than 20 people. It was disappointing... I have to WAKE UP VERY EARLY to take a shower and go out properly. In addition, I went here at Cherry Blossom festival season, so hostel was crowd. It make matters worse. I advice you that do not go here in crowd season. Except this point, it was totally nice.
  • 63%
  • 11 Apr 2014 Su Hwan South Korea
  • Great staff really friendly and accommodating! Bar and Chinese takeaway located down the street serve good food and drink! Hostel was clean and tidy with kitchen and washing facilities available! Only 10-15 min walk to Whitehouse and on metro and bus routes
  • 94%
  • 11 Apr 2014 Anonymous England
  • My room was a dirty one . Obviously no cleaning , a used & shabby bed sheet given, no curtain in my dorm room. Only one toilet & shower place & wash basin for people of at least 3 dorms. I was not sure if this caused by peak period or not.
  • 43%
  • 11 Apr 2014 Anonymous Thailand
  • I enjoyed my stay at this hostel. Facilities are basic, but served my purpose. 20 minutes bus ride from main attractions in DC. Manager Bill is very knowledgeable and helpful. Bed was comfortable.
  • 83%
  • 10 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Receptionist barely speaks any English. She wanted to take my credit card and put it on file. I didn't want this, so I had to pay with cash. If I've left my credit card with this hostel, I would have lost my card. I payed for my room 1:30pm, but didn't receive the key. I was told that I can come any time and they will give me my assigned bed. That was a lie -- I wasn't able to get to my bed at all. I waited in the morning until 10am, but there was nobody at the reception.
  • 31%
  • 05 Apr 2014 Yuriy Ukraine
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »