See other Washington DC properties

Capital View

301 i street NW, Washington DC, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 81% from 42 reviews

  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 77%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Staff was nonexistent after check-in. Came in one afternoon and one of the doors was standing wide open (defeats the purpose of security on other doors) with no one in sight. Restrooms were disgusting and water pressure was equal to that of a leaking faucet. Location is not as great as advertised, as we were out late every night and felt uncomfortable walking back at night and I'm pretty sure there was a prostitution ring on the same road. Would not recommend to anyone.
  • 46%
  • 10 Apr 2014 Cameron USA
  • Coming from a two week stay in a suite in a large hotel chain your hostel was such a refreshing change. Friendly atmosphere and cosy room, I felt much more at home and relaxed. As a Kiwi, best of all I could walk everywhere . Thanks, Narelle
  • 83%
  • 28 Mar 2014 Narelle New Zealand
  • I stayed in the all female 6 room. For the most part when I was here people seem to be at this hostel for one reason to sleep and rest. Nobody seemed like they wanted to engage and talk with one another, which is fine, but makes this hostel a little bit unwelcoming. I did feel safe inside the hostel but outside is another story. Let's just say Walking back couldn't wait to get into the door. Lots of sirens, but you hear it all around DC. Beds could be better, lots of rules, I would come back.
  • 83%
  • 27 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Hostel with good rooms. It is paid attention to security as you get key cards for your room. Facilities were also clean. Staff were friendly but the atmosphere was average. But i stayed just a single night there, so i did not get a deep insight.
  • 71%
  • 20 Feb 2014 Raphael Germany
  • Capital View is a perfectly fine place to stay for a traveler on a budget. I was in town for an interview and just needed a quiet place to sleep for a few nights and Capital View was perfect. The location is good with plenty of food options nearby and within walking distance to the National Mall for the tourist stuff.
  • 74%
  • 20 Feb 2014 Chris USA
  • Staff needs to be careful about sharing information about resident issues in private. Discussions about residents were done in the office; however, the office does not offer the privacy needed to keep information confidential.
  • 83%
  • 18 Feb 2014 Danel USA
  • Comfy cozy small hostel. Great staff, good location, quiet.
  • 83%
  • 02 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great. I will introduce my friend to live there
  • 97%
  • 31 Jan 2014 Anonymous China
  • The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They even had an iron so that I could iron my shirts for a meeting. The wifi was good. The kitchen was spacious and well stocked. The bedroom on the 4th floor had a busted window and the air leaked in but the central heat worked well so it turned out to be ok.
  • 86%
  • 26 Jan 2014 Yuka Canada
  • It is a really nice hostel: comfortable and well-located! All you need to spend couple of days in Washington DC.
  • 86%
  • 14 Dec 2013 Anastasia Russia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »