See other Washington DC properties

Capital View

301 i street NW, Washington DC, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 78% from 41 reviews

  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 76%Staff
  • 79%Security
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 82%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 77%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Really nice. Good space. Two good bedrooms. Nice bathroom. Big TVs. Great location. 3/4 block to the subway. 20 min walking to the train/bus station.
  • 94%
  • 16 Oct 2014 Bruno Jose Brazil
  • The staff was nice, the hostel was at a 20 mn walk from the Capitole. It rained so we did not really enjoy the rooftop. The idea of the pancake mix is good but the pans are old and your pancakes often finish fried in oil or burnt :/ The beds were good.
  • 77%
  • 11 Oct 2014 Anonymous France
  • No mirror, no table, no chair, no private locker in the room. The bed was old, not springy anymore and the spring touched my backbone when I slept. The doors were creaky. The nearest bathroom was not tidy and no mirror. The kitchen was OK. The storage "room" after checking out is not a room, but just a space, where everyone can freely see/touch the luggages there. The location was not bad.
  • 49%
  • 07 Oct 2014 Eriko
  • Nice, clean place to stay. Located extremely close to main areas of DC.
  • 89%
  • 01 Oct 2014 James USA
  • Sarah was amazing, so accomodating, helpful, friendly and hospitable! She gave me tons of advice on how to enjoy my short trip. Each room has a lock with a code you need to know, same for the entrance door, so it felt pretty safe. My female dorm was very clean and well maintained, with lockers, enough space and a window. I saw the housekeeping taking good care of the bathrooms cleaning, and in general I felt it was cleaner than your average hostel. Cool rooftop patio and convenient location.
  • 94%
  • 23 Sep 2014 Anonymous Russia
  • Awesome place to stay really convenient location walking distance of everything you need + monuments museums ect, staff were incredible good facility's with roof top pattio and great social atmosphere
  • 89%
  • 09 Aug 2014 Alexander Australia
  • Though the hostel was very concerned about street shoes not being worn to keep the floor clean, my room (a 6-bed female dorm) was very dusty on all surfaces. It wasn't clear how to make the free pancakes that are offered (no signage that I could see). The shower had almost no water pressure, and sink was so small I could barely wash my face. The only time I saw a staff member was when I checked in.
  • 63%
  • 28 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The first staff person was a bit off-hand, treating me like an unwanted interruption to his day! Surely it isn't very hard to smile and make your guests feel welcomed. Just because it's a hostel doesn't mean you have to behave like prison guards! However, the hostel was far better than most. Clean, with fresh slippers and real coffee. My dorm room mates were delightful, and other staff smiled and were pleasant.
  • 80%
  • 16 Jun 2014 jillian Australia
  • Walking distance from the sights and in a quieter part of town but close enough if you're looking to go out. Staff was very nice and laidback plus the door is code locked so definitely felt safe. Patio on the roof was nice to relax on and rooms were nice for the money. Definitely recommended and I would stay here again.
  • 100%
  • 10 Jun 2014 Bryan USA
  • Loved! Everybody was nice and trying to help on every detail! Friendly staff! Would recomend that you would have a mirror in each room! Cause on the 3rd floor the only mirror is in the bathroom and really small!!
  • 91%
  • 03 Jun 2014 Anonymous Brazil
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

No need to wait until the summer to take a holiday. Avoid the crowds and sweltering temperatures by choosing a trip in the winter months. Although you might have to pack some warmer clothes, there's a handful of benefits for traveling at this time: you'll either be rewarded with lower prices, clearer skies or festive entertainment.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »