See other Washington DC properties

Capital View

301 i street NW, Washington DC, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 77% from 37 reviews

  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 75%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 82%Location
  • 81%Value for money
  • 76%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Awesome place to stay really convenient location walking distance of everything you need + monuments museums ect, staff were incredible good facility's with roof top pattio and great social atmosphere
  • 89%
  • 09 Aug 2014 Alexander Australia
  • Though the hostel was very concerned about street shoes not being worn to keep the floor clean, my room (a 6-bed female dorm) was very dusty on all surfaces. It wasn't clear how to make the free pancakes that are offered (no signage that I could see). The shower had almost no water pressure, and sink was so small I could barely wash my face. The only time I saw a staff member was when I checked in.
  • 63%
  • 28 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The first staff person was a bit off-hand, treating me like an unwanted interruption to his day! Surely it isn't very hard to smile and make your guests feel welcomed. Just because it's a hostel doesn't mean you have to behave like prison guards! However, the hostel was far better than most. Clean, with fresh slippers and real coffee. My dorm room mates were delightful, and other staff smiled and were pleasant.
  • 80%
  • 16 Jun 2014 jillian Australia
  • Walking distance from the sights and in a quieter part of town but close enough if you're looking to go out. Staff was very nice and laidback plus the door is code locked so definitely felt safe. Patio on the roof was nice to relax on and rooms were nice for the money. Definitely recommended and I would stay here again.
  • 100%
  • 10 Jun 2014 Bryan USA
  • Loved! Everybody was nice and trying to help on every detail! Friendly staff! Would recomend that you would have a mirror in each room! Cause on the 3rd floor the only mirror is in the bathroom and really small!!
  • 91%
  • 03 Jun 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Decent location close to all the big Washington sights. A short 3 or 4 block to the metro which connects directly to the airport. Staff and atmosphere were a bit lackluster but a good hostel nonetheless. Security was a bit odd. Rooms and building were secured by number code which was fine. (Actually great as it meant check out was just a matter of leaving. No keys or anything to sign back in). But "bag check" before rooms were ready was just an unsecured hallway full access for all residents.
  • 69%
  • 04 May 2014 Joel Australia
  • Staff was nonexistent after check-in. Came in one afternoon and one of the doors was standing wide open (defeats the purpose of security on other doors) with no one in sight. Restrooms were disgusting and water pressure was equal to that of a leaking faucet. Location is not as great as advertised, as we were out late every night and felt uncomfortable walking back at night and I'm pretty sure there was a prostitution ring on the same road. Would not recommend to anyone.
  • 46%
  • 10 Apr 2014 Cameron USA
  • Coming from a two week stay in a suite in a large hotel chain your hostel was such a refreshing change. Friendly atmosphere and cosy room, I felt much more at home and relaxed. As a Kiwi, best of all I could walk everywhere . Thanks, Narelle
  • 83%
  • 28 Mar 2014 Narelle New Zealand
  • I stayed in the all female 6 room. For the most part when I was here people seem to be at this hostel for one reason to sleep and rest. Nobody seemed like they wanted to engage and talk with one another, which is fine, but makes this hostel a little bit unwelcoming. I did feel safe inside the hostel but outside is another story. Let's just say Walking back couldn't wait to get into the door. Lots of sirens, but you hear it all around DC. Beds could be better, lots of rules, I would come back.
  • 83%
  • 27 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Hostel with good rooms. It is paid attention to security as you get key cards for your room. Facilities were also clean. Staff were friendly but the atmosphere was average. But i stayed just a single night there, so i did not get a deep insight.
  • 71%
  • 20 Feb 2014 Raphael Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »