See other Washington DC properties

Capitol City Hostel

2411 Benning Road NE, Washington DC, USA, Distance from city centre: 5.4km

Rating: 78% from 16 reviews

  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 68%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 82%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The landlord is pretty nice! You would want to try this hostel.
  • 80%
  • 03 Jan 2014 Anonymous Vietnam
  • Accommodations were very inexpensive, however, there was no locker so you could safeguard valuables. Also, the washrooms were not clean and there was visible mold in areas like the mirror (probably due to the lack of exhaust fan in the washroom).
  • 60%
  • 10 Oct 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • Bill is soul of this hostel, very helpful and informative.
  • 83%
  • 28 Jul 2013 Vico Germany
  • Incredible hostel, location, staff, and value. Stayed for 3 days and couldn't have asked for more. Read a review when checking it out that said bathrooms smelt bad, but didn't find any problems in either of the two bathrooms. Everyone there was amazing. Very diverse, from Asia, Europe, Canada and more. 711 convenience store next to the hostel was perfect for all food, and open around the clock (which was good, as I came back from downtown late at night). Metro and bus were VERY convenient.
  • 97%
  • 20 Jul 2013 Nils USA
  • I really liked the hostel. It has a great atmosfere and nice people. Bill, the manager is very kind and knows Washington well. He gives great advice on where to go and even knows non tourist neighbourhoods (i had to do some interviews). The bus is near the hostel and very convenient, and you are in no time in the downtown.
  • 100%
  • 09 Jul 2013 Anne Netherlands
  • The only thing is that it's a little far and a bit messy, but for the price it was fine.
  • 74%
  • 27 May 2013 Anonymous Brazil
  • Bill! It's late to write review but I haven't forget your help and kindness. Can't believe to meet hostel owner like you. I'm sure everyone will be satisfied for staying in your hostel. Thanks for your consideration. Hope you are going to be well =)
  • 100%
  • 08 May 2013 hyuna South Korea
  • Bill is amazing. Well-informed, kind and helpful. Cleanliness of a place depends on the attitude of the tourists. I had no reason to complaint.
  • 80%
  • 06 May 2013 Anonymous Germany
  • Very friendly environment, the staff was very polite and willing to share information about the city. We had a great time there. Thanks.
  • 86%
  • 27 Apr 2013 Miha Slovenia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »