See other Washington DC properties

Capitol City Hostel

2411 Benning Road NE, Washington DC, USA, Distance from city centre: 5.4km

Rating: 74% from 29 reviews

  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 81%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 66%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Really cheap accomodation option in DC, but with not best location and little dirt and chaos inside. But if you are just wild traveler with backpack - it will good for you.
  • 54%
  • 04 Aug 2015 Anonymous Russia
  • It's better if it's more cleaning.
  • 51%
  • 01 Aug 2015 Anonymous China
  • Very friendly staff. Warm service. You pay just a little amount but receive way more than what you expect.
  • 94%
  • 19 Jul 2015 Anonymous Taiwan
  • The staff was so rude, and disrespectful. Won't ever recommend to anyone.
  • 31%
  • 22 Jun 2015 Anonymous India
  • Tatty, grubby, everything was worn out
  • 43%
  • 09 Jun 2015 Anonymous England
  • I am from Thailand. I really enjoy my stay here. The manager, Peter, is awesome. He really cares about you. He makes sure you have everything you need. He brought new towels, blankets, pillow cases, etc to me every time he noticed they were dirty. Atmosphere is also the best. It is almost like a family. We have dinner together almost every night. My big thank you definitely go to Walter, Barbara, and Alan because they are kind to share their food with me. In addition, I made ton of memories. :)
  • 100%
  • 07 Jun 2015 Anonymous Thailand
  • Great spot No complaints Thanks for doing my washing wish I could have stayed longer
  • 86%
  • 29 May 2015 Anonymous Australia
  • Thanks to Bill, my experiance in this hostel was so amazing. The people are so friendly and the beds are really comftable. I enjoyed my stay really much.
  • 89%
  • 21 May 2015 Ilan
  • I had a wonderful time at Capitol City Hostel. It's an easy walk to Capitol hill, but it's far enough away to have a very residential, "real city" feel. The bed was comfortable and clean, the wireless internet worked well, and all the amenities you would expect were high quality (kitchenette, bathrooms, computers, living room area). More than anything, Bill, the owner, is an amazing guy--he even drove me to the airport at 4:30 AM when I had a last minute change in plans.
  • 100%
  • 06 May 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Staying here for 5 nights, I arrived and was greeted by Bill. This guy is the friendliest host I've encountered and, having guided me round the two houses between which I was given a choice, i decided to stay at one of. The houses, right next door to the main one and met a great group of fellow travellers and also Peter, the Bill of house 2. The whole stay was lovely and it was nice to feel some legitimate carpet after 3 months away from home.
  • 100%
  • 17 Apr 2015 Gregory England
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »