See other Washington DC properties

Capitol City Hostel

2411 Benning Road NE, Washington DC, USA, Distance from city centre: 5.4km

Rating: 70% from 29 reviews

  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 76%Staff
  • 73%Security
  • 63%Cleanliness
  • 66%Location
  • 76%Value for money
  • 66%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The hostel is nice and quiet, not that far from the Capitol if you take the bus. At first it seem very unsafe but in the end it turned out to be a good place to stay. Bill is a very nice guy, he showed us places to visit and things to do and at the end of the stay he even offered to give us a ride to the metro station.
  • 86%
  • 02 Sep 2015 Anonymous Romania
  • this place was quite far away from the city and it was filthy! the beds themselves were ok but the rest of the house was just so dirty. It is also two seperate houses for living and cooking which is just awkward and a pain.
  • 29%
  • 23 Aug 2015 Bronagh Ireland
  • This 7/11 next door is a big bonus and there is also a bus into down town from a block away, otherwise this as a hostel is very average. However it is probably the the cheapest option in DC. The main owner was ill during our stay which meant the running of the hostel was very disjointed. They have lockers and secure locks on the door which helps you feel relatively safe in an otherwise sketchy neighbourhood.
  • 51%
  • 20 Aug 2015 Charles England
  • Really cheap accomodation option in DC, but with not best location and little dirt and chaos inside. But if you are just wild traveler with backpack - it will good for you.
  • 54%
  • 04 Aug 2015 Anonymous Russia
  • It's better if it's more cleaning.
  • 51%
  • 01 Aug 2015 Anonymous China
  • Very friendly staff. Warm service. You pay just a little amount but receive way more than what you expect.
  • 94%
  • 19 Jul 2015 Anonymous Taiwan
  • The staff was so rude, and disrespectful. Won't ever recommend to anyone.
  • 31%
  • 22 Jun 2015 Anonymous India
  • Tatty, grubby, everything was worn out
  • 43%
  • 09 Jun 2015 Anonymous England
  • I am from Thailand. I really enjoy my stay here. The manager, Peter, is awesome. He really cares about you. He makes sure you have everything you need. He brought new towels, blankets, pillow cases, etc to me every time he noticed they were dirty. Atmosphere is also the best. It is almost like a family. We have dinner together almost every night. My big thank you definitely go to Walter, Barbara, and Alan because they are kind to share their food with me. In addition, I made ton of memories. :)
  • 100%
  • 07 Jun 2015 Anonymous Thailand
  • Great spot No complaints Thanks for doing my washing wish I could have stayed longer
  • 86%
  • 29 May 2015 Anonymous Australia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »